We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for the USMC Ball” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Tysons Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Tysons Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Tysons Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8661 Leesburg Pike, Tysons Corner, VA 22182 (Formerly Sheraton Premiere at Tysons Corner)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Stayed for the USMC Ball”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

First I will like to say that the catering free for the ball was great and pulled off another great ball. Now for the room, I'm glad it was at a discount because the rooms could really use some work. Trash cans were not emptied the shower had mold in the grout, tiles in the shower were busted and not flat, electrical outlet was hanging from one screw and the recycle bin was full and not emptied. Overall good for a nights sleep and glad it was discounted. Could not see paying full price for this. Bed was comfortable, pillows were good, towels are a bit rough, and there is no refrigerator.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Sheraton Tysons Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Gaddkk,
Thank you so much for taking a moment to write a review, feedback is a gift and we thank you for that! We are thrilled that you enjoyed the Ball, we did as well! We apologize for the issues you raised about the condition of your room but we are very surprised to read that. Would you be so kind and call the hotel and let us know the room number? Thank you again for your business and the review.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    70
    39
    19
    8
See reviews for
34
26
10
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed on business for just one night. Picked it up for USDninety-five / night using PriceLine.
I had previously reviewed this hotel in June 2013, and panned their bar prices. Decided to have dinner there, choosing the night's "special", which was blackened salmon for eighteen dollars. Pleasantly surprised with the dish, and that a generous glass of house Chardonnay was seven dollars. Reasonable all around. Service was acceptable, and not over- attentive.
Parking was free if using the outside front lot. Covered parking is USDsix/night, but not really necessary.
Large, expansive lobby area with lots of airline crews arriving and departing. Indicates at least they think the place is OK.
Room was very nice, with what appeared to be new carpet. Bed was very comfortable, linens were fresh and crisp.
Bath was a bit cramped, and would be difficult sharing the mirror if not traveling alone :) Water pressure in the shower was fairly low, but I understand this is the new "Eco friendly" way, and not an issue.
Anyway, back to my perpetual gripe: WiFi should be gratis at any hotel of this stature, at least for spg guests. USD13 is just a bit much for in-room internet access. Most salespeople traveling do not want to spend their evenings in the hotel lobby or bar. I want to kick back in my room, maybe kill a few emails and fire up NetFlix perhaps. I would suggest Sheraton re- think this policy and at least offer free WiFi to their loyalty members.

Otherwise no complaints. Clean, comfortable. Access is better now that construction is easing on Route VA7.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Sheraton Tysons Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Bizz-Traveller987,
Thank you very much for this review; it was a pleasure reading all of your positive comments. We do pride ourselves on exceeding our guest’s expectations and it seems that the staff was able to do that on a number of occasions during your visit. We are also pleased to hear from you about the cleanliness and the comfort of our Sweet Sleeper Bed and that you enjoyed our popular dinner special as many of our guests do. We definitely understand the convenience of having the internet charges complimentary however; we are competitively setup the charges with other area hotels in the Tysons corner. The good news is that weekends and holidays are “free Internet charge”. Thank you again and we look forward for your next visit.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed here for one night . Check in and out was simple and easy! The rooms were nice and clean, and the bed was comfortable! internet is not free , i had to pay for 24 hours twice the price because i used my laptop and my smart phone

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Sheraton Tysons Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear aljabdri2013,
We are delighted to have had the pleasure of hosting you. Thank you for your review and for praising our staff, our comfortable sweet sleepers beds, our fast check- in and check-out process and the cleanliness of our rooms. We assure you that our Internet rates are competitive to other full service hotels in our area but we also would love to let you know that the internet charges are complimentary on the weekends and holidays here at the Sheraton Tysons Corner. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights for both business and recreation of seeing Washington D.C. . Because of some construction the place was a little hard to find and get to. We were pleasantly surprised that we were next door to a mini Walmart and across the street from a handful of restaurants. Staff was super friendly and attentive. You are about a twenty to thirty minute drive from the monuments. Decor was nice and updated. One morning the hot water was closer to luke warm but not a huge deal. Conference rooms were nice. The mattress was so so for how nice the hotel was; the model of Beautyrest they used was kind of cheap. I am a mattress snob so I am probably more picky than most. I would stay again. Best feature was friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Sheraton Tysons Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dear TheReturnOfTheMack,
We are grateful for your support and praise of our friendly staff. As you mentioned our location is convenient to go downtown DC and other attractions. Also starting February 2014, our guests will be able to take the Metro that is located right around the corner. We are glad to hear that we will have the pleasure again of your company at the Sheraton Tysons Corner in the near future.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed here for a full week for work. Check in and out was simple and easy! The rooms were nice and clean, and the bed was comfortable! The only two complaints; one, was the walls are awfully thin. You can hear plumbing from other rooms. But the biggest complaint I have is I was told there was a shuttle to any where within a couple mile radius and yet they didn't provide it. I was told by the staff working that night they only shuttled to the malls. Would still stay here again, and plan on doing so in about 7 weeks!

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Sheraton Tysons Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Dear pabernathy,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your comments. The amount of detail that you shared is very valuable as we strive to improve. We apologize about the shuttle schedule that was miscommunicated to you as we do provide shuttle service within the three miles radius. Thank you for recognizing the other staff and for mentioning the cleanliness of our rooms, It sounds like you will be returning and I welcome you to reach out to me prior to your next stay. I certainly would like to look after your accommodations and hope that we might have an opportunity to meet at that time. Thanks again.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel needs renovation. The bed is itchy and icky, it felt like a 2 stars hotel, the people is cold an anoyed by your requests.The internet is horrible. At the check in, they requested the credit card I used to prepaid the room and the clerk said it was declined (eembarrassing) I did not make a fuss, I was checking in at the same time than lots of colleagues, I was attending to a convention so I just handed the guy a second card. BOTH were charged. I am a starwood preferred guest and I said so to the clerk and she said that I had booked with a low rate, what? Very disappointed, I will be sure to suggest that we don't go back there next year.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Sheraton Tysons Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear monicainjax,
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to the Tysons Corner area and thank you also for having taken the time to complete this on line guest satisfaction review. We are sorry to learn that we have missed our opportunity to impress you while we had a chance to do so, especially the unfortunate incident with the credit card. Please accept our most sincere apologies for this unacceptable experience and we do hope that we will have a chance to redeem ourselves at some stage when visit the Tysons Corner again.
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Spent the last three days at this hotel. Well worth the upgrade to club level for the free wifi and access to the club level for breakfast and snacks in the evening. Three elevators get up to your room fast. Wonky pool schedule but great pool area. Easy check in and out. Rooms very roomy with comfortable beds. In room safe and coffee maker. Adequate parking with garage and lot parking. Rooms are dark near the doorway but does have bedside lamps, floor lamp near chair and desk lamp. Curtains block light, however rooms are a little noisy with plumping noises and water pressure a little lacking and hot water difficult to regulate. Overall a nice place to stay for families and business.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike C, General Manager at Sheraton Tysons Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear meh7976,
We appreciate all of the wonderful comments about our hotel. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Sheraton Premiere in Tysons Corner during your most recent visit. Our hotel's vision is to become the landmark hotel of Tysons / McLain area. We know we can achieve this vision by creating a memorable experience for our guests and "wowing" them with guest service that exceeds expectations. We look forward to your repeat visit, see you soon!
Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Tysons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tysons Hotel

Address: 8661 Leesburg Pike, Tysons Corner, VA 22182 (Formerly Sheraton Premiere at Tysons Corner)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Tysons Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 437
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Tysons Hotel is a great choice for traveling to the Washington, D.C. area. Our hotel is just moments away from Washington, D.C. and from many local corporate offices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, Priceline, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Tysons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Premiere At Tysons Corner Hotel Tysons Corner
Sheraton Hotel Vienna
Sheraton Tysons Corner
Sheraton Vienna
Vienna Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Tysons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.