We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming Staff and Good Shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Tysons Blvd, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit + More
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Tysons Corner
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Welcoming Staff and Good Shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed one night for an "in-town" accommodation as we tried to balance late night and early morning business obligations. I knew that the hotel would be comfortable and good for the opposite directions we needed to go in on day 2.

From pulling up to the front door to do a quick --very quick--- check in and bag drop in my room, to the personable and accommodating server in the restaurant, to the front desk staff, the team here is focused and friendly. I know this is what to expect from the RC brand but this team is very good.

Out room had a nice horizon view, a very comfortable bed, and good amenities. The fitness center was good.

The real drawback to the hotel is the restaurant. It is limited and organized in an informal way that doesn't allow for a private dining experience. I remember it being more upscale in my previous visit to the restaurant. It must have been changed or perhaps I am wrong. Either way we found it coming up short. Now, there are many places to eat around the hotel but if you are looking for a easy, nice, and sufficient dining experience, you might feel underwhelmed as we did.

However, we would go back under the right circumstances as there was nothing wrong with it but it didn't WOW us.

Room Tip: Pick a high room with a westward looking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    123
    55
    27
    17
See reviews for
72
88
23
145
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This Ritz-Carlton meets the expectatoins of its customers, ie great service, comfortable rooms, with staff that go out of their way to meet your every need and request, large or small. Great location for business in the McLean, Virginia area, with the Metro station nearby to open soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We took an anniversary long weekend trip to the Ritz Carlton so we can be close enough to the sites of the area, but far enough away to relax and not get caught up in the traffic, noise and bustle. Best Decision!!! The Ritz, as expected, was beautifully appointed, took great customer care and provided us with luxury and comfort. We stayed at the Club Level, which provided us the use of the Club Level Lounge and that is where the real wonderful takes place. Yes, the food and snacks they provide are delicious and the beverages are free flowing, but it is the staff that made this destination one we can not wait to go back to. Wassim, Shima, Kylie and the other Club Concierge Agents were warm, friendly, helpful and just did everything to make you feel at home and welcome. Shima and Kylie were especially welcoming to us, with hugs, laughs, and superb service and attention. We have stayed at other Ritz-Club Levels and while they all are fantastic, the staff made this one just that much better. They know their job and do it so very well. And if you want to shop, you can shop until you drop at the luxury shops located adjacent to the hotel at the mall. Golf is just a drive away and getting around the area to the sites or into DC is simple (and being made even easier with the construction of a Metro line 2 blocks from the hotel). We were able to see all the things we wanted on this trip, hop a train, and be back in the arms of luxury with barely an effort. Short drives take you to Fairfax, Mt. Vernon, Dulles, the list goes on. But always returning to friendly smiles, warm drinks, sparkling champagne, special club events like oyster shucking and tasting, and don't forget to get your daily supplies of blueberry/white chocolate cookies. I could not get enough of these delicious treats. We are looking forward to getting back there soon. If you go, make sure you tell Shima and Kylie hello and find out if they installed a chocolate fountain to their evening dessert layout.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I visited this hotel a few week ago stayed one night with my family. The hotel was great, and I was very impressed with people who work there. Food at Entyse was also great. I look forward to visit again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoxall
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This is a smart hotel with good facilities. There is a good high end mall next door with a range of restaurants and shops. The gym is good. This is not really a leisure hotel but more for business people. 4 stars is perhaps a little harsh but it is probably not a 5 star.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a business hotel, not a luxury hotel, despite what it looks like and that it is a Ritz. It is very commonly booked by international travelers, which lends an unusual tone and drive up the prices in the public spaces, even beyond normal DC prices.

I stayed here about 17-20 percent of all the work-week nights of the year for a couple of years, and have very mixed feelings about it. As a woman traveling alone, there was a high comfort level. Being able to walk from the hotel public spaces right into the Galleria was a real plus, but there were other restaurants nearby that I ventured out to on foot (The Palm, an outstanding seafood restaurant, and a few others.)

While it is very close to the more standard "mall" nearby, it is largely inaccessible without a car. The hotel driver was always helpful getting me to the office, our headquarters, and even picking me up at the end of the day, but mall runs weren't part of the program : )

Overall, it was sterile. I eventually discovered the Westin across the highway and spent most of my time there. It was just more "homey" if not really cheaper. Plus you just need a change of scenery now and then. And, frankly, if I had realized how many "points" i could earn over at the Westin, I would have bailed out of the Ritz much earlier. Might as well get something out of all those business trips! (All I ever got at the Ritz was little concierge gifts, like two gourmet chocolates in a wrapped box or an executive pen in a box, as a frequent guest.)

Go for the points.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a very nice hotel attached to a very nice mall called Tyson’s Galleria. They are finishing the “Mono-Rail” train that will connect this mall to the other mall (Tyson’s Corner Center) about a 4 Minute drive away(approx.).
While staying at the Ritz we took advantage of the free shuttle to this 2nd mall which had many nice stores that were.... a "little less high end” than the Galleria. Many nice restaurants and cafes at both Malls.

We also took the free hotel shuttle to the Metro train/Subway to be able to visit Wash DC City Centre. Had no issues whatsoever and the shuttle will come back for you when you want to be picked up at the Metro. They ask that you avoid between 4 to 7pm as this is “rush hour”.

Our main Driver “David” was a pleasure as was Mustafa on one occasion.

The Concierge “Baris” was a huge help with assisting on plans for visiting the Capitol, Smithsonian, etc. He even booked our tickets for the “Olde Town Trolley Tour” which we took at night. See other reviews for info on this tour as well as other Washington area places.

The Ritz has wonderful service. I arrived early(my wife arrived later in the day) and Erica at the front desk managed to find me a room hours before the normal “noon” check in. She was very pleasant.

The pool, steam room, sauna and whirlpool were excellent. A little dated but still wonderful. The service at these areas was also top notch.

The room service was a little pricy of course but it was excellent(see pic). It was fast, hot and delicious! I also ate at the Entyse Bar/Resto which was very nice.

The room was a little small but had a wonderful view (see pics)

Overall would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Our room on the 10th floor had a wonderful view. We faced the entrance/courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner

Address: 1700 Tysons Blvd, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tysons Corner
#4 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#6 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in elegant hotel accommodations and superior personal service at The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner. Spend the day shopping at the adjoining Tysons Galleria, or luxuriate at the Tysons Corner hotel’s Day Spa. Located in Northern Virginia's most exclusive business and shopping district, our luxury hotel was named one of the top 50 hotels in the United States by the Condé Naste Traveler Reader’s Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Ritz Carlton Mclean
Ritz Mclean
Mclean Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.