We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Tysons Blvd, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit + More
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is a business hotel, not a luxury hotel, despite what it looks like and that it is a Ritz. It is very commonly booked by international travelers, which lends an unusual tone and drive up the prices in the public spaces, even beyond normal DC prices.

I stayed here about 17-20 percent of all the work-week nights of the year for a couple of years, and have very mixed feelings about it. As a woman traveling alone, there was a high comfort level. Being able to walk from the hotel public spaces right into the Galleria was a real plus, but there were other restaurants nearby that I ventured out to on foot (The Palm, an outstanding seafood restaurant, and a few others.)

While it is very close to the more standard "mall" nearby, it is largely inaccessible without a car. The hotel driver was always helpful getting me to the office, our headquarters, and even picking me up at the end of the day, but mall runs weren't part of the program : )

Overall, it was sterile. I eventually discovered the Westin across the highway and spent most of my time there. It was just more "homey" if not really cheaper. Plus you just need a change of scenery now and then. And, frankly, if I had realized how many "points" i could earn over at the Westin, I would have bailed out of the Ritz much earlier. Might as well get something out of all those business trips! (All I ever got at the Ritz was little concierge gifts, like two gourmet chocolates in a wrapped box or an executive pen in a box, as a frequent guest.)

Go for the points.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    138
    60
    29
    18
See reviews for
81
97
27
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This is a very nice hotel attached to a very nice mall called Tyson’s Galleria. They are finishing the “Mono-Rail” train that will connect this mall to the other mall (Tyson’s Corner Center) about a 4 Minute drive away(approx.).
While staying at the Ritz we took advantage of the free shuttle to this 2nd mall which had many nice stores that were.... a "little less high end” than the Galleria. Many nice restaurants and cafes at both Malls.

We also took the free hotel shuttle to the Metro train/Subway to be able to visit Wash DC City Centre. Had no issues whatsoever and the shuttle will come back for you when you want to be picked up at the Metro. They ask that you avoid between 4 to 7pm as this is “rush hour”.

Our main Driver “David” was a pleasure as was Mustafa on one occasion.

The Concierge “Baris” was a huge help with assisting on plans for visiting the Capitol, Smithsonian, etc. He even booked our tickets for the “Olde Town Trolley Tour” which we took at night. See other reviews for info on this tour as well as other Washington area places.

The Ritz has wonderful service. I arrived early(my wife arrived later in the day) and Erica at the front desk managed to find me a room hours before the normal “noon” check in. She was very pleasant.

The pool, steam room, sauna and whirlpool were excellent. A little dated but still wonderful. The service at these areas was also top notch.

The room service was a little pricy of course but it was excellent(see pic). It was fast, hot and delicious! I also ate at the Entyse Bar/Resto which was very nice.

The room was a little small but had a wonderful view (see pics)

Overall would recommend this hotel for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Our room on the 10th floor had a wonderful view. We faced the entrance/courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on business occasionally for a week. The hotel is conveniently connected to the Galleria Mall which has a number of nice restaurants. The staff is friendly, the in room dining is very good (a bit expensive though), the gym is better than expected and the downstairs bar is convenient. I recommend this hotel for all business visits to the area. I don't recommend this as a vacation hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

While I'm used to the impeccable service the Ritz Carlton chain traditionally offers, I tend to stay with Ritz other locations when on vacation and usually stay in another hotel (different chain) when visiting this area for business.
I have to say, once again Ritz Carlton lived up to its reputation for outstanding service. Every step of the way, the staff was amazing and accommodations perfect. Also helpful is the fact that the hotel is attached to the Galleria Mall.
Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This Ritz has always provided great service and great food. They have personel that have been with this ritz for many years. They have one of the best club lounges in the ritz collection and being connected to a shopping mall always makes and enjoyble getaway

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

A little underwhelmed by this property. No real complaints (other than the charges being incorrect). The standard King room is a little smaller than most and room was a little dark. Love the fact that the shopping mall is attached to the hotel. Probably not a repeat stay at this location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baltimore, md
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Got a great deal and loved it. Nicely appointed rooms, good breakfast food. Gym is not nearly as nice as other Ritz Carltons we've stayed at but it was ok. The location is great--attached to high end mall with numerous restaurants. Shuttle service within a 3 mile radius is free and convenient.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner

Address: 1700 Tysons Blvd, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tysons Corner
#4 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#5 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in elegant hotel accommodations and superior personal service at The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner. Spend the day shopping at the adjoining Tysons Galleria, or luxuriate at the Tysons Corner hotel’s Day Spa. Located in Northern Virginia's most exclusive business and shopping district, our luxury hotel was named one of the top 50 hotels in the United States by the Condé Naste Traveler Reader’s Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Ritz Carlton Mclean
Ritz Mclean
Mclean Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.