We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Welcome home"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Tysons Blvd, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit + More
Ranked #4 of 14 hotels in Tysons Corner
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“"Welcome home"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Ritz Carlton in Tysons Corner is one of the friendliest hotels you could want to stay in. The service is second to none. The hotel is connected to a shopping mall with hi-end shops and a few restaurants. The hotel currently does not have a "name" restaurant on the property but does offer very good food and drinks from a limited menu in Entyse Bistro. Tysons Corner is 15-20 minutes by car from DC, or a short ride on the free shuttle service will get you to the metro station.
Weekend packages are a real deal too!

Room Tip: Weekend Packages offer good value for a upscale hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    131
    55
    29
    17
See reviews for
75
91
27
151
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel several years ago and felt it was trying too hard to be something more grand than it was. My stay over the weekend felt like the hotel had grown up! It was less pretentious and thoroughly dedicated to providing outstanding, comfortable service with grace and dignity. My dietary needs have changed over the years and the hotel came through with whatever I wanted...anyway I wanted...even in the middle of a banquet where they had 200 other people to serve. There were drivers available to do pick up and delivery to the metro station and even to provide transportation to a mall located in the middle of nearby construction site. The rooms remain well appointed with an outstanding tea/coffee set up, a strong hot shower and a bed that is perfect. The needed improvement can't be improved as the windows do not open. Also, on day two of my visit someone set my alarm clock for a 6:30 wake up. It did not happen on day one and my husband had his own room, so I am not sure what happened. But check your clock...daily! Other than those items...enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a restful and perfectly supported weekend in one of their two room suites. Great price, professional staff, impeccable facility and a great location off the Tyson's Galleria. There are a handful of nice restaurants to choose from.

We will definitely be back soon.

Room Tip: A room facing the main entrance will be fine. All are quiet and clean and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We went there for just a day. My husband changed the room 3 times because he smelt the cigarette smoke when he stepped inside the rooms. They are supposed to be smoked free.

We got a suite and the room was big. Clean sheets clean room. The staff are also very helpful and friendly. We got access to the club floor which has food stocked all the time.

The hotel is connected to the mall and tons of shops which is great because you don't need to go outside and just do the shopping right away.

Otherwise it is most like a standard Ritz and you can expect more or less similar things in there.

The room service was great too, we ordered from the middle-eastern section and it tasted quite authentic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff by the sea, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

One reason we booked this hotel was the free parking that came with our AAA package. However, strolling through the parking garage and then having to use the rather grim elevator detracts considerably from the expected RC experience. Once we entered the hotel, the doormen were unlike the usual friendly, even effusive staff. At the desk, Ali was pleasant and businesslike, and gave us a room on the 14th floor. We hadn’t been in the room for more than two minutes before we heard slamming doors and shouting children: “Where’s my backpack?” “Under the chair, I think, where you left it?” We heard every word this family uttered for the next ten minutes or so, accompanied by repeated slamming of doors.
It wasn’t that they were so rude. They were just talking (and inexplicably going in and out of their room repeatedly, but children will do that sort of thing). It was that the walls were thin in adjoining rooms. It seemed that the hotel wasn’t that full. I was surprised to have been placed so close to a family when presumably there were other rooms available. We requested a different room, and Ali gave us one on a higher floor, 2202. His claim that the elevator noise shouldn’t be a problem was correct—I never heard a thing. The view is not fabulous on the mall side of the hotel, but higher rooms see less of the roof of the structure and more of the horizon. The room was smaller than most RCs that we have been to, but was nicely appointed. The in-room coffee service had the RC style to it, and there was plenty of marble in the bathroom. I know this sounds petty, but I really miss the Bvlgari toiletries. I’ve always associated that scent with this hotel group.

We had lunch at the restaurant, which is pleasant. The waiter, Adel, was fun, and suggested some excellent dishes. The fitness room is large. I can’t help but compare it to the Laguna Niguel RC fitness room, which overlooks the ocean, but even without windows this one was perfectly good. I guess it’s my imagination, because I don’t think the beds have changed, but it seems that there used to be more of a feather bed in addition to the comforter. The beds were comfortable, though, and we slept well.

We came here seeking the Ritz-Carlton experience (on a budget, getting the weekend AAA package rate). This hotel is very nice, but seems more like an upscale Marriott than a true Ritz-Carlton. Clearly they are serving a specific business clientele at Tysons Corner. I would be happy staying here for business purposes, but it’s certainly not in the realm of the Pasadena property (no longer an RC, sadly), the Laguna Niguel, or San Francisco. (But maybe it’s comparable to Scottsdale). It’s certainly more affordable than some of the others, so perhaps that’s enough to make us return.

Room Tip: Higher floors, not on the mall side, avoiding adjoining rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We spent a weekend at the Ritz while visiting the area for a friend’s show. It is a top notch hotel as you would expect from the Ritz Carlton chain. We had a room with a lovely view on the concierge level. The room was not large, but well-appointed and meticulously clean. The concierge lounge was very nice with nice food offerings and awesome cookies! The pool is also very nice. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return to this hotel when we travel to the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed recently for a two day meeting held at the hotel over a weekend. Weekend rates were reasonable for the area, room was CLEAN and well appointed. I appreciated being adjacent to the Galleria shop for convenience. Breakfast buffet was $28 plus tax/tip but the convenience of leaving our room, enjoying a quick breakfast before our early morning meetings held at the hotel made it worth the money for this trip. Our meeting rooms were well serviced by hotel staff with coffee, tea, water, juices, etc. and snacks which made the very long day meetings much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner

Address: 1700 Tysons Blvd, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tysons Corner
#5 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#6 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in elegant hotel accommodations and superior personal service at The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner. Spend the day shopping at the adjoining Tysons Galleria, or luxuriate at the Tysons Corner hotel’s Day Spa. Located in Northern Virginia's most exclusive business and shopping district, our luxury hotel was named one of the top 50 hotels in the United States by the Condé Naste Traveler Reader’s Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Ritz Carlton Mclean
Ritz Mclean
Mclean Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.