We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Tysons Blvd, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Shopping Credit
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend in July. Lovely clean hotel and the location can't be beat. Great shopping at Tysons Galleria (attached to the hotel), wonderful fitness center and all the usual perks of staying at The Ritz Carlton. We enjoyed our stay very much

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    162
    71
    32
    22
See reviews for
96
121
31
193
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jmcsetz
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The name Ritz-Carlton exudes opulence, which was what I expected during my stay. The lobby was elegant and the decor was tasteful and high-end. The front desk staff were very pleasant and professional. I was given all of my pre-check in requests, which were high floor, extra feather pillows and a room away from the elevators. Complimentary bottled water and fresh fruit were always available in the lobby. The hotel has a nice gym with several cardio-type machines, medicine balls, dumbells and weight training equipment. Although I didn't eat at the restaurant I did get a snack in the cafe, which had a nice bar and some tables for lighter quicker meals. The Ritz is connected to the Tysons Corner Galleria Mall, which made for convenient shopping and dining (Cheesecake Factory, Maggiano's, P.F. Chang's, etc.).
My problem was with the room itself. It did not have a contemporary high-end feel that I expected, but was instead had an older albeit elegant atmosphere. The bathroom was all white marble, but had the impression of being exquisite a decade ago. I am always unhappy when there is not a vent in the bathroom and this was the case with my room (2120). There were not any electrical outlets near the bedside tables, which forced me to charge my cell phone from across the room. This isn't a bid deal except that I use my cell phone, as many travelers do, as my alarm clock. The room was also inconvenient in that it did not have any lighting control from near the bed. In fact, there were no light switches at all. All lamps had to be turned on from their respective locations. There was a mini fridge in my room, which turned out to be broken. However to their credit the guest services staff replaced it within 15 minutes of being notified.
I paid a government rate for this room of $169/night, which I thought was a good price. The advertised price for my king room was $369/night. This price would be nearing robbery for what one would get. I've stayed in Hiltons that have more modern rooms, exude the same elegance and charge a more reasonable room rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Stayed at the Ritz for an over night to have a belated birthday celebration for a friend. There were three of us checking in. We stayed in a club level room that had a king size bed and a roll away bed. The room wasn't overly large but was comfortable. View from the room was nothing special. It overlooked the rooftops of the many buildings in Tyson's. The bathroom had very nice Bulgari toiletries. The hotel has a spa, indoor pool and whirlpool. The pool area is small but nice. The part that we enjoyed was hanging out in the club lounge. We arrived in the evening and were met by a very accommodating attendant by the name of Shima. She was absolutely wonderful. She was constantly offering to get us a drink or whatever we needed. When she got wind of the fact that we were there to celebrate a big "50" birthday, she arranged for a birthday cake and brought it out to us. I also want to mention that all beverages are inclusive in the club lounge. Considering what they probably charge per glass of wine in the bar downstairs, I think this is a considerable value. The club lounge is a small space but very cozy and we didn't experience loud kids or obnoxious people as some other posts had experienced. This was such a relaxing weekend that the three of us are planning to do it again. The nice thing about doing a weekend get away here is that their rates are considerably lower on the weekend nights vs. the weekday nights. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Club level is so worth it, if you can afford the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Price was good for room size, type and location, but lots of extra charges that neighborhood hotels include in price including the parking and internet access. My room was nice, but needed a little TLC, paint peeling off the wall and ceiling, lots of damage to tub area.

One other point, which is not the hotels fault, but within their control...the club on the top floor has lost its exclusivity. It is small and filled with windows, so sound bouncing all over and make s the small space unruly. Foul language, loud blusterous business meetings enhanced by liquor, lots of kids running unsupervised, bumping into adults and their tables, causing all kinds of mayhem. The top floor club has lost its polish and professional relaxing ambiance --- instead the club is full of ringing cell phones, screaming kids and vulgar language.

The staff was extremely friendly, well prepared to handle any request and on hand at all times. The staff was the saving grace for the stay.

The room is well equipped with a nice coffee service, ice, and tv. Plenty of room for two and plenty of views of DC from the higher floors.

A plus for shoppers - it is connected to the Tyson's Galleria. Lots of good, rather upscale, shopping.

Room Tip: Don't bother with club floor access. Unless you have kids -- and then, it is a great play room.

Room Tip: Skip the club floor access - not worth 100.00
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My wife and 2 1/2 year old stayed here for a night as part of our hotel-hopping experience during the storms in the DC area over the 4th of July.

We stayed in a double on the club level, the room and service as you would expect are outstanding. The club itself feels just a tad small for a hotel of this size. It may have been the fact there were several (local) families staying and the club was getting more use than normal.

The staff were fantastic and really this property would have received an excellent rating except that it does need a little update.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed 1 night here with my mom for some shopping and had a great time. The hotel is beautiful and the location is perfect. You can walk right into Tyson's Galleria from the hotel, which is really convenient. They also have a shuttle to take you to the main Tyson's mall, which is helpful because navigating those intersections can be a big pain.

The beds are extremely comfortable and the rooms are nice and spacious. Only complaint was the temperature. It was too warm in our room and no matter how low we turned the AC it didn't really make a difference. Made for a bit of a restless night.

We had the chance to use the gym and the indoor pool. Both were great and had everything we needed. We didn't eat in the restaurant, however, so I can't really comment on the food. I try to avoid hotel food, even at a place like the Ritz.

As you would expect with the Ritz, the service was wonderful. All of the staff were friendly and helpful when we needed anything.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on business and had a really pleasant stay. Staff were efficient and amenities were as you would expect, nothing more nothing less.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tysons Corner
0.5 mi away
Hilton McLean Tysons Corner
Hilton McLean Tysons Corner
#1 of 15 in Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 stars 747 reviews
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Tysons Corner
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
#3 of 15 in Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
#9 of 15 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 stars 420 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tysons Corner Marriott
Tysons Corner Marriott
#8 of 15 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 stars 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner

Address: 1700 Tysons Blvd, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tysons Corner
#4 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
#6 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in elegant hotel accommodations and superior personal service at The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner. Spend the day shopping at the adjoining Tysons Galleria, or luxuriate at the Tysons Corner hotel’s Day Spa. Located in Northern Virginia's most exclusive business and shopping district, our luxury hotel was named one of the top 50 hotels in the United States by the Condé Naste Traveler Reader’s Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Ritz Carlton Mclean
Ritz Mclean
Mclean Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.