We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect VIP romantic weekend, even with hurricane Irene.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 Tysons Blvd, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit + More
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Charlottesville, VA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The perfect VIP romantic weekend, even with hurricane Irene.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

This is my second stay here at the hotel. My last visit was two years ago. Some differences, but much remained the same. We were promptly greeted at the port cochere and our bags and the two of us were escorted to the lobby. Despite the obvious group reception abuzz in the lobby, we were greeted by Ms. Sandia Cornell who welcomed us back and showed us to the check-in desk. Ms. Cornell's professionalism, unhurried and personal attention had completely took our minds off of the other guests milling about, mindfully setting us up for a relaxing weekend. Check-in by Michelle was quick and efficient and we were swiftly whisked to the sanctuary of our Club Level Executive Suite.

The room's temperature was perfectly set. Shades of gold, red and green decorated both the living room and separate bedroom area. The spacious and generously sized marble master bathroom had the convenience of dual sinks, as well as a separate WC and shower room. While we were putting our belongings away, we received an abundant fruit presentation with our booking from Maria at Whatahotel, as well as a handwritten letter from Ms. Cornell once again welcoming us to the hotel.

Before and after dinner at Entyse, we enjoyed a couple of cocktails and dessert in the Club Lounge. Both Wassim and Shima made sure we were both well taken care of. Never was there a need to ask or want for anything.

Returning to our rooms after our night caps, we found our room turned down. With the anticipation of hurricane Irene, we had also received a letter from Mark Sherwin, General Manager, ensuring us that all were prepared. Emergency flashlights were available in our rooms if needed. The hotel had also turned two ballrooms into movie theatres for their guests.

The following morning, we awoke to a downpour from Irene. Fortunately, the power had not gone out at all. If it had, it was never evident. A bountiful spread of fruits, meats, cheeses, yoghurts, pastries, salmon, and egg and bacon croissants were available for breakfast in the Club Lounge.

With the convenience of the Ritz-Carlton Tysons Corner being attached to The Galleria mall, we never had to worry about getting our vehicle or getting out in the wind and rain.

Overall, we had a wonderful time. The Ladies and Gentlemen at the Ritz-Carlton certainly go out of their way, with a smile and without hesitation, to ensure your utmost comfort and relaxation. I am looking forward again to returning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    138
    60
    29
    18
See reviews for
83
99
27
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Bend, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed here for three nights, coming to town for a family wedding. This was the first time any of us had stayed in a Ritz Carlton Hotel, and we were not disappointed. We booked three rooms and all were exceptionally clean. The hotel is a little older, but it has been kept up nicely. We needed to cool some food and drinks, so we asked about a refrigerator, the next thing you know, they brought one up. Service was outstanding from the front desk to the chamber maids. There was always a very pleasant attitude with the employees, as well.
The wedding reception was helg right at the facility and it was beautifully done.
We liked how it is attached to the shopping mall next door. There were plenty of eateries there if you don't want to stay in the hotel itself for meals.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The hotel is just like any other hotel you would be in. I mean except for the fact that it is convineintly located at Tysons corner; which is one of the poshest shopping malls around it has nothing to it.

Fors shoppers - I think this place is convinient and comfortable. Even though you can find cheaper hotels within a mile.

For Travellers - Choose something close to Vienna ( its a small town)

For business travelers - All the amenities are conveniently placed but you can get something more economical for change. Right next to the beltway, 495

For Lovers - Well, I think you ought to shop and get out towards Vienna /Old Town Alexandria / Georgetown

Room Tip: Surrounded by the city from all sides. Choose the one towards 495
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I've stayed at other Ritz Carlton hotels before and this one was the worst of them. The decor is ok, the service is poor, the rooms could very well be in a hilton or a nice holiday inn. The food is ok, and over its a poor value. The location is also rather lacking.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swarthmore, PA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have stayed here at least twenty times. This hotel never disappoints us. Friendly staff, great location, excelent food and comfortable rooms. The hotel shutle will take you to places that are close by but there is plenty of shopping in the mall where the hotel is located. There are also many dining options in the mall as well. The spa services are excellent especially the manicures and pedicures. If you are coming on a weekend, you should book your spa appointments ahead of time as the spa is small and appointments go fast. If you have an American Express card, the best deal at this hotel is through American Express flne hotels and resorts booking. However, the hotel offers some excellent package deals as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011 via mobile

Came here for a business trip and was impressed. Room was good sized, very clean and comfortable. Not luxurious like a Ritz resort but exceptional for a hotel. The bathroom was a little small, great gym and perfect location. Easy access to DC, mall access was great for dining options. Did some shopping at each mall and used the hotel shuttle to the trains and mall. Service was superb.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Stayed here overnight while on a business trip to Northern Virginia. Customer service and hospitality were top notch. The double bed was very comfortable, with four big, fluffy pillows on each bed. My room service ordered breakfast arrived piping hot and on time.
As a buisness traveler, my one complaint is that the hotel does not offer wi-fi service. I spent almost a half hour on the phone with guest services to get the internet connected via an ethernet type service was not successful.
Overall, the other ammenities and opportunities outweighed that glitch. We will be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner

Address: 1700 Tysons Blvd, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Tysons Corner
#4 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#5 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner 4.5*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in elegant hotel accommodations and superior personal service at The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner. Spend the day shopping at the adjoining Tysons Galleria, or luxuriate at the Tysons Corner hotel’s Day Spa. Located in Northern Virginia's most exclusive business and shopping district, our luxury hotel was named one of the top 50 hotels in the United States by the Condé Naste Traveler Reader’s Choice Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Ritz Carlton Mclean
Ritz Mclean
Mclean Ritz-Carlton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.