We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“where do I start...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tysons Corner

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Tysons Corner to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Tysons Corner
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8616 Westwood Center Drive, Tysons Corner, VA 22182   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 14 hotels in Tysons Corner
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“where do I start...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

- First ANTS... do you like ants all over the place... well I dont... and I changed rooms only to find more ants...
- Free Brakefast... wow, sounds great! Well thrust me it was not! everything was cold... and I am talking about, eggs, meat, patatos... it was really bad... the bagels were great (thank god!)
- Pool... ah the Pool well actually the pool guy... you see every time the sun went away, he looked up and smiled! locked up the pool and went inside on the internet!
- and the keys! well the keys... they just kept on getting deproogrammed, all 3 keys 3 days in a row...

the room is very nice and good size (If you like ANTS!) but they really need to get a couple of things fixed up in this hotel, this is NOT what I would expect about a Marriot residence inn...

And just to help the whole area around Tyson Corner is under so mutch repairs it crasy around here... so mutch traffic... and if you did get out of Tyson corner then you probably end up on 495 to get anywhere and thats even worse... so mutch traffic it was not even funny...

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    35
    11
    10
    3
See reviews for
36
15
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beltsville, Maryland
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Just wanted to get away for the weekend with my husband and child, we arrived and the customer service was excellent but the room needs an up grade, tv, kitchen appliances, head board, mattress was very hard and the towels had stains on a few of them. I woke up with a back ache, then decided to cut our trip short.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

We traveled to Washington, DC for our daughters college graduation. We chose to stay in Tysons Corner instead of the District to save money. We got a great weekend rate for a 2 bedroom unit that was near the Mall and close to the freeway. The room was clean and worked well for the 4 of us in the room. We even had a small reception for family to celebrate the graduation. A trip to the local Trader Joe's and use of the rooms full kitchen saved us lots of money. The only caveat: the weekday commute into DC is horrendous! Allow lots of extra time. Weekends were a breeze.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

I truly cannot believe the reviews for this hotel. As a Marriott Platinum member, this hotel does not meet the Marriott standard. First, and this is a personal opinion, the rooms are garden-style with doors to the exterior. I find this to be insecure, especially with the location of this hotel down a cul-de-sac and secluded. D.C. has crime, and I didn't feel safe at this hotel staying by myself. Secondly, the main lobby is very tired and needs updating. It also smelled. The room was mediocre but in need of updates. The appliances are old, and because there are several windows/doors to outside, you can hear people walking around outside. The Internet service was difficult for me to connect to as they only had wireless and no plug-in connectivity. I left this hotel 20 minutes after checking-in and went to the Courtyard near the mall, which was more convenient and nicer. I would not recommend this Residence Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RILeadership, Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner, responded to this review, March 23, 2010
GTravelgirl,

We sincerely apologize for your feelings about our room style not being to Marriott standards. We feel that our garden style rooms are a feature that makes us unique for this area. We wish that you would have stayed and allowed us the opportunity to make up for your disapointment with the quality and friendliness of service staff. When you are back in the area we would be honored to have you as our guest so we may demonstrate our ability to exceed your expectations. We hope to see you soon! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Booked this hotel for two nights while visiting the D.C. area. Loved the location of the hotel; quiet cul-de-sac surrounded by local commerce and nice tree lined streets. The area of Tysons Corner and Vienna itself is first class and a wonderful place to stay. The rooms at this hotel are tastefully decorated and well appointed. However, the one thing that put a damper on our stay was the service from the front desk clerk. At check in, we were told that our two bedroom suite that we had booked was "not available" and that we would be assigned two studio rooms instead. Funny considering this was a guaranteed reservation. The two rooms were promised to be beside each other, but when we arrived at the building assigned to us, the rooms were on opposite sides of the building. We tried again in another building assigned to us, and once again the clerk had given us rooms on opposite sides. After having to explain our request to the clerk for the third time, this time with actually "drawing a picture", proper rooms were assigned beside each other. All in all, this hotel is one of the best Residence Inn properties I have ever stayed in, however the service I received at this location was subpar........

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend. Overall, it was a nice stay. The main issues I had were with the housekeeping. I booked the room for 4 people. We got there and the room was supplied with only 2 washcloths and 2 towels. I called for more. She brought 2 more towels, no washcloths. By the next call, she got it right. Not a huge deal, but if the room was booked for 4, it should be supplied for 4. Most hotels in this chain replace the bathroom amenities regardless of how much is left. We never got lotion and she only replaced the conditioner (the little bottles for 4 people). And we had 1 washcloth after she cleaned the room! Is there a shortage of washcloths at this hotel?

The room was fine. We got one of the accessible rooms. The furniture was clean and in decent condition. The bed was comfortable. The sofabed was good for a sofabed. We had a family with small children on the floor above us. We heard their footsteps very clearly. There did not seem to be a problem with noise from the other rooms next to us. The kitchen area was clean. Everything seemed to work.

Breakfast - The serving area is too small. There are not enough tables. The food items are placed too close together, so trying to get anything is difficult. The employees working in this area were very good. I don't know their names, but it was the same two people all weekend. Very nice and quick to replace anything that ran out.

We were going to see a performance at Wolftrap. This hotel is perfectly situated for that. Easy access to the interstates. Close to a metro station, within 5 miles. There are several restaurants near the hotel, but delivery is somewhat limited. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

This is an old-school Residence Inn, and is frayed along the edges. The buildings are older and things in the room are slightly rundown. The breakfast is OK - nothing special for a RI, and the eating area is too small for the number of guests. The good side: great location, friendly staff, large fitness room (eliptical still in need of repair since my last visit there in May 2008!), and nice, large rooms. One word of caution - the 2-bedroom suites are NOT SAFE for small children. The furniture is arranged so that a child can climb onto the loft ledge and fall about 15 feet. If you reserve a 2BR, do not bring any children below the age of 8. We had to enforce a "No Upstairs" policy with our kids to keep them safe.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tysons Corner

Address: 8616 Westwood Center Drive, Tysons Corner, VA 22182
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#10 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tysons Corner 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Hotel Vienna
Residence Inn Vienna
Vienna Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.