We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great stay. Service however quite dissapointing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tysons Corner

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Tysons Corner to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Tysons Corner
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8616 Westwood Center Drive, Tysons Corner, VA 22182   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 15 hotels in Tysons Corner
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Overall great stay. Service however quite dissapointing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Booked this hotel for two nights while visiting the D.C. area. Loved the location of the hotel; quiet cul-de-sac surrounded by local commerce and nice tree lined streets. The area of Tysons Corner and Vienna itself is first class and a wonderful place to stay. The rooms at this hotel are tastefully decorated and well appointed. However, the one thing that put a damper on our stay was the service from the front desk clerk. At check in, we were told that our two bedroom suite that we had booked was "not available" and that we would be assigned two studio rooms instead. Funny considering this was a guaranteed reservation. The two rooms were promised to be beside each other, but when we arrived at the building assigned to us, the rooms were on opposite sides of the building. We tried again in another building assigned to us, and once again the clerk had given us rooms on opposite sides. After having to explain our request to the clerk for the third time, this time with actually "drawing a picture", proper rooms were assigned beside each other. All in all, this hotel is one of the best Residence Inn properties I have ever stayed in, however the service I received at this location was subpar........

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    34
    10
    10
    2
See reviews for
36
14
3
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel over Memorial Day weekend. Overall, it was a nice stay. The main issues I had were with the housekeeping. I booked the room for 4 people. We got there and the room was supplied with only 2 washcloths and 2 towels. I called for more. She brought 2 more towels, no washcloths. By the next call, she got it right. Not a huge deal, but if the room was booked for 4, it should be supplied for 4. Most hotels in this chain replace the bathroom amenities regardless of how much is left. We never got lotion and she only replaced the conditioner (the little bottles for 4 people). And we had 1 washcloth after she cleaned the room! Is there a shortage of washcloths at this hotel?

The room was fine. We got one of the accessible rooms. The furniture was clean and in decent condition. The bed was comfortable. The sofabed was good for a sofabed. We had a family with small children on the floor above us. We heard their footsteps very clearly. There did not seem to be a problem with noise from the other rooms next to us. The kitchen area was clean. Everything seemed to work.

Breakfast - The serving area is too small. There are not enough tables. The food items are placed too close together, so trying to get anything is difficult. The employees working in this area were very good. I don't know their names, but it was the same two people all weekend. Very nice and quick to replace anything that ran out.

We were going to see a performance at Wolftrap. This hotel is perfectly situated for that. Easy access to the interstates. Close to a metro station, within 5 miles. There are several restaurants near the hotel, but delivery is somewhat limited. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

This is an old-school Residence Inn, and is frayed along the edges. The buildings are older and things in the room are slightly rundown. The breakfast is OK - nothing special for a RI, and the eating area is too small for the number of guests. The good side: great location, friendly staff, large fitness room (eliptical still in need of repair since my last visit there in May 2008!), and nice, large rooms. One word of caution - the 2-bedroom suites are NOT SAFE for small children. The furniture is arranged so that a child can climb onto the loft ledge and fall about 15 feet. If you reserve a 2BR, do not bring any children below the age of 8. We had to enforce a "No Upstairs" policy with our kids to keep them safe.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2008

My family and I stayed here in June 2008 for a family trip to Washington DC. The drive into the city wasn't bad, depending on the traffic and time of day you were driving. When we booked the room, we requested a rollaway bed. We had reserved the double bedroom, which was more then enough room, we just needed the extra bed. At checkin, when we arrived at the room it wasn't there so we called the front desk and asked for one. They said then that it would be $15 a night to keep one when they told us before that it would be free. They ended up bringing us one free of charge. The breakfast they had was pretty good, nice selection. Sometimes the dining room was a little crowded and they didn't seem to mind some unruly teenagers causing trouble in there but all in all it was a nice stay and I would stay there again.

  • Disliked — No restaraunts nearby!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2008

This hotel was beautiful. The lobby, room, breakfast area and pool were all clean and of great qualtiy. The breakfast had a great variety. The rooms were spacious and much nicer than I expected for the price. The pool was nice, and it was different to see an 'on duty lifeguard'. I am very pleased with my stay and would reccommend it again.

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2008

We recently completed a stay at this hotel over Spring Break, 2008. We wanted to tour Washington DC and found this hotel to be within 4 miles of the Metro station and close to food and shopping. The 2 bedroom suite was spacious and clean. The dining area was large and offered a variety of food in the evenings and in the mornings. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for families with children who may want to do the same type of trip to Wash DC, it was a great place to unwind in the evenings.

  • Liked — Loved the off the beaten path location, very quiet busy easy to get to other places
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2007

I recently spent five nights at the Residence Inn, Tyson's Corner and was very pleased with the entire stay.

The hotel is much more like an outdoor apartment building complex and is located off of route 7 in Vienna. It is situated quite a ways back from the main road so there is no noise from traffic.

I had a room in the 300 building, ground floor studio. It really reminded me much more an apartment than your typical hotel, particularly because it had outdoor entrances, rather than any indoor corridors. The room featured a fullsize kitchen complete with refrigerator, dishwasher, stove, oven, and kitchen wares + a microwave (with popcorn!) & a coffeemaker. There was a small sitting area with a couch and chair and working fireplace (during the fall/winter, they apparently they give out a log on your first night although i did not receive one) plus a desk/table.

The room also had a full closet along with a queensize bed and tv (studio room, so all in one open area). The bathroom area was tucked away a bit but had a large vanity and a tub/shower & toilet area. Everything was incredibly clean, the air conditioning was very cold and the only complaint I had was that the pillows were too soft! Other than that, everything was very nicely appointed for a single business traveller spending a week.

The "gate house" was the center of operations - for check-in, working out, laundry and breakfast/reception. The breakfast was very abundant: waffle maker, eggs, breakfast meat/potatoes, bagels/toast/muffins/biscuits, hot oatmeal with toppings, fresh fruit, apples, granola, yogurt, cereals. A small sitting area to enjoy breakfast, read the newspaper (complimentary during the week) or watch some tv. I did not partake of the manager's reception, except for one night and was a little disappointed in the generic diet soda (petty, I know!) offered. The exercise room was on the small side, on the second floor and had no A/C when I visited (prompted me to go outside and find a nicely paved exercise path very close by).

All in all, I would highly recommend the Residence Inn Tyson's Corner for a single business traveller. It's a great location if you have business in the Westwood Pkwy Center area OR even by Tyson's Corner. You really do need a car around this area though as it's mostly highways and a pretty good distance to the mall (on very busy roads, definitely not walkable).

  • Liked — location, apartment style
  • Disliked — the pillows
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tysons Corner

Address: 8616 Westwood Center Drive, Tysons Corner, VA 22182
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Tysons Corner
#7 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#10 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tysons Corner 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Hotel Vienna
Residence Inn Vienna
Vienna Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.