We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to shopping, offices and the Beltway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton McLean Tysons Corner

Save Saved
You added Hilton McLean Tysons Corner to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton McLean Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7920 Jones Branch Drive, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $89!
Ranked #1 of 14 hotels in Tysons Corner
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Close to shopping, offices and the Beltway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at the Tysons Corner Hilton for a weekend program that I was attending. Immediately I noticed they had a large parking area behind the hotel where I could park my own car and not have a valet. The best part - parking was free! When you walk in the hotel you notice how open the lobby is, all the way to the roof! Lots of small group seating which made it feel more intimate to me. There was a long bar there as well as two taller tables for about8-10 per table served by the bar. Very good bar food in their menu. The downside to a bar in the open lobby is that they have to stop serving at 11:00 which is a real downer on weekends when there are lots of groups having conversations in the lobby. Apparently this is a Virginia law that if the bar is in an open area, then they have to stop serving at 11:00. Off to the side is a restaurant that I only went to for breakfast. For breakfast it is buffet only and it is $25 so you might want to upgrade your room to include breakfast. If you have a car, you can go elsewhere (Corner Bakery, Dunkin Donuts, etc) but the buffet is really nice.

My first room was on the second floor and it overlooked the roof below - I could just about walk out the window onto the roof and the exhaust pipe - not a pretty view. I went back down and asked the person who checked me in - Tim (from the Netherlands) to move my room. That was not a problem. He did say that we were in a high density commercial area and that there wouldn't be views. I understood that, I just didn't want a full window view of a room and exhaust pipe. Since I was not in an executive room, wifi was $13 per day. I chose instead to go to the lobby and use it for free there. Make sure you ask for the "coupon code" from the front desk. There are some outlets by the couches in the the lobby.

The room was very nicely appointed with 2 double beds and a couch. For me it was a little difficult to get in the room as it is a touch of the key (not inserted) and it seemed at times for me, a little finicky to get it just right so I would get the green light to enter the room.

I would recommend staying here for either business or for a function. There would be nothing else to bring me to this area. The rooms were nice, clean and everything worked. Parking was free and lots of room for cars. I will say one last thing about Tim - he was great to work with. Several times I had to go down and ask a question or get direction and he was always pleasant, personable and very helpful.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a higher room and get an Executive room that includes breakfast. Wifi is free in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    283
    114
    26
    12
    8
See reviews for
108
78
32
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, NH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What an amazing display of exactly what customer service should look like. My only complaint was the extra "delivery charge" for room service- ew. I'd say just jack up the prices, instead of tacking on an extra charge, but believe me- they've got jacked up breakfast prices on lock! That aside, it was amazing. The lady who brought my breakfast was SO cute and sweet; she was in my room for a few minutes, setting me up, opening the shades, turning on the lights- I felt very taken care of. Then Von (or Von something?- my bad) at the front desk was a PEACH- that right there is someone who was born for customer service. I told my boyfriend after-- it's like he anticipated what I needed before I knew I needed it. I called about an ironing board (there wasn't one in my closet), and he happily said he'd send one up right away, then he called afterwards to make sure I'd received it. He had me all set up with a shuttle to go to an appointment right away, he was very attentive, and he even remembered that I had an interview and wished me luck... I am all around impressed. If I'm ever in MacLean again, I'll be staying at this hotel, and I'll be recommending it to everyone I know who travels through there. PS- The breakfast was AMAZING, and the little man who drove the shuttle bus was a total nugget, I loved him.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed here recently because we attended a family event that was booked in this hotel. The room was exceptional - there was one small problem with the bathroom cleanliness, but it was quickly taken care of as soon as we called. The event in the ballroom was also top notch. The food was very good and the staff was efficient.

My only complaint would be that the only choice on weekends is a buffet breakfast. It was nothing special and we didn't want to eat that much so it was a waste of money. Definitely not up to the standards of the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Hilton McLean and your experience. I appreciate every guest comment because it helps me know what our guests are feeling during their experience and how we can improve for next time. Thank you for the comment about the buffet breakfast, this is something that I will look into, as we want our guests to be satisfied with the meal options that we offer. I am so glad to hear that the event you were a part of went well, and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Not worth the money. The price is too expensive for the rooms and breakfast was not included. Rooms and bathroom are very small and the lobby is very noisy and crowded all the time. we checked out the next day and went to Staybridge suites in McLean which was excellent.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay, I appreciate you taking the time to let us know your feedback. At Hilton McLean we strive for personalized experiences for each of our guests, actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience. I appreciate your review as it provides feedback that I need to re-evaluate guest needs and make the necessary adjustments to our offerings. Thanks again for your comments and I hope that we have another opportunity to offer our services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a business trip. Hotel is upscale; the room had a very nice desk to work at, plenty of very accessible outlets to plug in computer, phone and other electronic gadgets, flat screen TV, in-room coffee maker with actual half and half, etc. Mattress was firm, but very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review! I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I haven't been to the DMV area in forever, and I wanted to just vist family and friends. This hotel was the greatest place I've ever stayed. The lobby area was beautiful, I could help but take pictures and act like a real tourist. My family and I stayed in one of there newly renovated rooms, which was absolute breath taking. They were able to supply us with connecting rooms and refreshed our rooms daily. My best friend was celebrating her 25th birthday and she was amazed at our hotel room. It was close to all the great shopping centers and the atmosphere of the hotel was upbeat and pleasant. The front desk ageants were speedy, and great. The bellmen were all wonderful and pleasant. If I ever come back to the DMV, I would always stay at this property. Believe me when I say it was a great experience.

Room Tip: Always make you reservation in advance. Ask if there are any children groups staying at the hotel, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
WOW! Thank you so much for this excellent review. I'm so glad that you chose to stay with us during your trip back to the DMV area and to celebrate your friends 25th birthday! This area has gone through many changes just in the last several months, and will continue to change over the next several years. I'm happy to hear you took advantage of the great shopping just around the corner as well. Thank you for staying with us and on your next visit, I hope to thank you in person for your loyalty to Hilton McLean!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte, nc, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

What a great place! The front desk staff are friendly, helpful and professional. Fitness room is great. Bar staff is friendly, quick and engaging. House keeping respond to all requests and are very discrete and quiet. The rooms are well appointed and comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton McLean Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton McLean Tysons Corner

Address: 7920 Jones Branch Drive, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Tysons Corner
#1 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
#1 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton McLean Tysons Corner 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want it all, come to the Hilton McLean Tysons Corner. The Hilton McLean Tysons Corner has recently completed a top-to-bottom transformation featuring the latest and most contemporary design in our guest rooms, härth Restaurant and Lounge. Our McLean, Virginia Hotel is adjacent to Hilton Worldwide’s headquarters, so we are always in the forefront of hospitality. This provides us with opportunities to test and unveil the newest concepts and technologies, all in McLean Virginia’s Technology Corridor.Of course, location is everything. The Hilton Mclean sits just minutes from downtown Washington, DC , and conveniently located between Ronald Reagan National Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport . We are minutes from the Metro, and one mile from world class shopping at Tysons Corner Mall, The American Girl store and the Galleria. Our guests enjoy easy access to major corporate headquarters, the lush landscapes of Virginia to the history and intrigue of downtown DC, Our guests are in the middle of it all at the Hilton McLean Tysons Corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hilton McLean Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mclean Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Hilton Hotel Mclean
Hilton Tysons Corner
Mclean Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.