We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business Traveler” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton McLean Tysons Corner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton McLean Tysons Corner to your Saves list
Hilton McLean Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7920 Jones Branch Drive, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $89!
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Melville, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Business Traveler”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Hotel is very clean and has a welcoming lobby. Rooms are nicely decorated and contain all the amenities, i.e. Coffee, water, hairdryer...Close to restaurants and shops. Outdoor patio is very nice...great for a drink before dinner. Definitely would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! I hope to see you back at the hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    365
    157
    40
    17
    12
See reviews for
148
103
40
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I vacated to the hotel for one night last weekend while our floors were being refinished and had a very pleasant stay. The room was a corner room, quite large and well appointed, very quiet at night, nice modern bathroom. This hotel has been a Hiton for a long time, within the past few years Hilton corporate headquarters moved right next door to the hotel, so they upgraded the facility and really play an A game. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Terrific lobby area.

Two negatives, first, on a Sunday morning they do not put coffee out in the lobby before the restaurant opens at 7; there is a coffee maker in the room but I rise early and try not to wake my wife who does not, so I was stuck coffeeless. Second, the Sunday morning breakfast in the restaurant was awful. Buffet only and a poor one at that, no omelette station or eggs to order and no ala carte breakfast menu available. The waiter told us that they have no one in the kitchen at Sunday breakfast, all the food is brought in from the outside. This is simply unacceptable for a hotel of this quality.

These are small items for an otherwise very good hotel.

Room Tip: Larger corner room is a worthwhile investment. This is a weekday business hotel and they seem o disc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you so much for taking to provide us with your feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with us while your floors were being refinished! First, I am so happy that you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel. I would like to offer my sincere apologies for your experience in the restaurant. I assure you that I will follow up with this personally. Although we do not have an a la carte menu on Sundays for breakfast, we do have a hot buffet with eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes, etc. All of your feedback is taken into consideration to help us improve on our service. I greatly appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The McLean Hilton has recently completely refurbished all its rooms and restaurant. The rooms are well appointed and have a sense of fashion uniquely placed. I especially liked the installed power brick that can power two usb divices simultaneously. The bathroom sports a unique mirror with built-in lighting. Smart lighting controls gives full room control from bedside switches.

A dissapointment for Hilton Honors members is the elimination of any special space or services usually allocated to members. Also a dissapointment is the lack of soundproofing around room doors. The facility has a great central first floor lounge area that can be seen from all floors, but this open architecture allows evening bar and social area noise to intrude into rooms.

Also a welcomed improvement was the elimination of steps from the rear entrance where a majority of the self-parking resides.

I found the wireless internet connectivity in my 9th floor room sporadic and problematic for any of my three wireless appliances. Business travelers should seek rooms closer to the first floor.

Room Tip: Higher floors seem to lack adequate internet connectivity, but lower floors place you close to the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the review! I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed our newly renovated guest rooms during your stay. I apologize for the noise issues you experienced from our lobby bar. It is very important to myself and our staff that all of our guests have an excellent and relaxing stay with us and it seems that we have fallen short. I assure you, I will follow up with the noise and make sure that it remains under control in the evening hours. Also, I apologize for your internet connectivity issues. Again, I will follow up with this personally. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, it greatly helps us improve for your next visit.

Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I loved this hotel. The beds are comfy and the staff is warm and welcoming. They have a free shuttle service and will drive you all around the surrounding area which includes the mall and all of the offices nearby. I ordered room service one night and my salad was really good - far above typical room service food. They also have a lap pool in the basement so bring your swimsuit and get some exercise.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I really appreciate the comment in regards to our room service menu. I'm glad that the food was up to the standards that we always strive to give our guests. It is also great to hear you enjoyed our all weather pool! With the warmer weather just around the corner we will be putting our patio furnature out for our guests to enjoy some sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Ceck in was painless and smooth after driving over 6 hours there was no waiting or drama. Everyone of the hotel staff made us fell valued. The amenities are many. Special note the Lobby and Bar combination made it both relaxing and entertaining. Making it easy to meet new and interesting people on my visit to the Dc. area. I left feeling more refreshed than before stayed here.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for western view of tysons corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. Our mission here at Hilton McLean is to ensure our guests feel cared for, valued, and respected. I am so glad to hear that we accomplished this during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whirled
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very classy updates at the Hilton McLean Tyson's Corner. Rooms look very modern and very clean. Bathrooms also clean and fairly spacious. Very relaxing space, very nice staff. Very close to Tyson's mall, if you're so inclined to go. (there are actually two malls, Tyson's I and Tyson's II).

Now for why this is not a place for people who hate or have a fear of snakes (though maybe snakeskin won't bother you).

Wallpaper is done in faux-snake skin. Headboard on the bed also in faux snake/croc skin.I actually liked it very much, but I have a co-worker who has a snake phobia and that room would probably freak her out.

The Harth restaurant was descent. I had the fig, proscuitto and cheese flatbread. It was good but a bit too salty (proscuitto to fig proportion was off, I think).

Overall, great place to stay, especially for business travelers. It's not too far from the Dulles international airport (about a 20 minute ride).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for your unbiased feedback! I greatly appreciate the comment in regards to our guest rooms. I enjoyed your comment about the wallpaper. I am a big fan of the snakeskin myself, but I never thought of it that way! I apologize that your flatbread was a bit too salty. Our signature item are our flatbreads and it seems that this time we fell short. I will follow up with this myself. A note to add on your comment about the airport - one great thing that will be new to the area is the Silver Line Metro. The metro will travel to Dulles airport and will be another great way in and out of the city. Thank you again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a wedding, which was actually at the Ritz Carlton. The Hilton offered an amazing wedding rate of $89 per night plus taxes. There was also free parking. The hotel was very modern with beautifully appointed fixtures and furniture. The room was very large and quite comfortable. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The on-site restaurant had a limited menu, but there were many moderately priced items on the menu. Unfortunately, on the weekends, the only breakfast offered was a $24 per person buffet.

When I came to the hotel, I expected a run-of-the-mill business hotel. I was surprised and pleased with this Hilton, especially at the low rate offered to the wedding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian K, General Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your wedding weekend! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I apologize for the limited menu on the weekends for breakfast, this is feedback that I will take into consideration when looking at how we can improve our overall guest experience. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton McLean Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton McLean Tysons Corner

Address: 7920 Jones Branch Drive, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#2 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton McLean Tysons Corner 4*
Number of rooms: 458
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want it all, come to the Hilton McLean Tysons Corner. The Hilton McLean Tysons Corner has recently completed a top-to-bottom transformation featuring the latest and most contemporary design in our guest rooms, härth Restaurant and Lounge. Our McLean, Virginia Hotel is adjacent to Hilton Worldwide’s headquarters, so we are always in the forefront of hospitality. This provides us with opportunities to test and unveil the newest concepts and technologies, all in McLean Virginia’s Technology Corridor.Of course, location is everything. The Hilton Mclean sits just minutes from downtown Washington, DC , and conveniently located between Ronald Reagan National Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport . We are minutes from the Metro, and one mile from world class shopping at Tysons Corner Mall, The American Girl store and the Galleria. Our guests enjoy easy access to major corporate headquarters, the lush landscapes of Virginia to the history and intrigue of downtown DC, Our guests are in the middle of it all at the Hilton McLean Tysons Corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hilton McLean Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Mclean Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Hilton Hotel Mclean
Hilton Tysons Corner
Mclean Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.