We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Renovated Hotel - Must See Loby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton McLean Tysons Corner

Save Saved
You added Hilton McLean Tysons Corner to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 6 more sites!
Hilton McLean Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7920 Jones Branch Drive, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rates from $89!
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Tysons Corner
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
356 reviews 356 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
1,149 helpful votes 1,149 helpful votes
“Excellent Renovated Hotel - Must See Loby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend with a group. During the week, the hotel caters to the business traveler, but the weekend I was here there were four large bus groups. The hotel did a great job of accommodating the various groups. There is much to like about this place, particularly:

1. Recently rennovated; in mid-April, I looked like there was still one floor under repair. Otherwise, eveything was brand-new. The lobby with a nine floor atrium and glass elevators was impressive. The lobby bar area presented a dramatic display; definitely picture-worthy (in fact, Hilton should provide postcards of this area).

2. The tech work area in a corner of the lobby was wonderful! Best ever!

3. My bed room was extremely well-designed, spacious, great desk with plenty of space to spread out and more than adequate electrical outlets conveniently placed, and excellent lighting. The temperature control, TV, etc. were all excellent. My room just had a view of the parking lot, but some rooms (higher up) actually provide good views of DC.

4. My room had one king sized bed; it was truly wonderful -- definitely in my person Top Five of comfortable beds experienced in my life of traveling. Besides a great mattress, the linen and pillows were terrific.

5. Bathroom was OK. Nice high level sink area with plenty of countertops; however bathroom seemed a little crowded and the sliding door into the room was a bit odd. The most signficant negative was that there was only a shower. Shower was very large and had a fancy rain shower head, but after long days of touring DC, I really wanted to soak my weary feet in a bath tub. (I found out later that some rooms do have tubs, so you may want to ask for a room with a tub if that is important to you.)

6. Customre service was very responsive (front desk and lobby bar). Housekeeping was adequate, but could use some improvement. Specifically, the bedroom and bath has a lot of metallic fixtures that need to be wipped down regularly to avoid looking icky.

7. The bus groups all had breakfast in a separate buffet area. Food selection was great, efficient, clean, and well organized.

There are really only a couple of negatives to this hotel:

1. Pool hours (it is an inddor pool) are extremely limited. During the week, the pool is open for a couple of hours early in the morning and then closed until 5 pm. In the evening, the pool is open only from 5 to 9 pm. On the weekend, the pool is open from 9 am to 9 pm (it closes promptly). The pool looked nice, but we could never use it due to the restricted hours. Given that the pool is located far-away from the rooms, the hotel should consider keeping the pool open to 11 pm.

2. Due to the design of an open atrium, there can be some noise seeping into the lower level rooms that directly adjoin the atrium area.

3. Location is reasonably convenient for DC, but is directly in an office park area (the Hilton World HQ office is about a block away). As the hotels are surrounded by office buildings, there is nothing in walking distance as to restaurants, bars, coffee shops, stores, etc.

Room Tip: You must specifically ask if you want a tub instead of a shower. Because of the open atrium, rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephSnap, Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this review, May 3, 2012
Cynthia from Ohio,

Thank you for your very detailed review and we are working on your suggestion now to offer postcards in our 24-hour pantry.

Next time you are with us I do hope you can take advantage of our hotel shuttle that will take you to several area restaurants and bars, all within a 3 mile radius.

Looking forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    95
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
96
65
30
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NE Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend on a trip to DC from OH. My husband is a Diamond Level Hilton Honors member and we were given a bunch of complimentary appetizer and breakfast coupons since the Executive Lounge was under renovation. The food in the restaurant there is DELICOUS!!!! I'm not normally a fan of hotel restaurants, but this one was out of this world! The room, the lobby, the restauarant...basically anything I could see (part of the hotel was cordoned off for renovations) was beautiful. The staff was wonderfully accomodating, and the parking was ample and free. The only negative was getting to and from the hotel onto the nearby expressways. There were a ton of orange barrels when we were there, but that's not the hotel's fault. I would DEFINITELY recommend!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldens Bridge, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We came here for a quick DC getaway, and have stayed here a few times before, because of the location and great weekend deal. The hotel was very recently renovated, and we could not have been more impressed. It has the look and feel of a very high end sophisticated urban hotel. Breakfast, which is complimentary to gold members, was fantastic! Try the chocolate bread, and the juice chasers. Beautiful pool, accommodating staff. Can't ask for any better.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hershey, PA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I am a Hilton Diamond VIP. While the staff was accomodating and friendly, it took 3 "moves" to a room where the AC finally worked! Apparently one side of the hotel is always warm and the HVAC system does not work properly! The rooms are nice but really need a makeover. The price is crazy! For the amount that you spend on these rooms, I was expecting something spectacular. The rooms are so much nicer at the Westin Alexandria, VA. That is where I stay all the time now. I am only Gold with Starwood but am working on Platinum. Sorry Hilton! You need to come up to speed and do some redecorating if you want this business traveler's business!

Room Tip: I've been told they are in the process of renovating! Great news! Wish I had known this. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I get the impression that no expense was spared in the renovation of this hotel. The public areas and rooms are superbly appointed. I reckon this is a better renovation than the flagship Washington Hilton near Dupont Circle where I stayed before coming here. It was nice to see that the investment extended to new equipment in the fitness room: so many decent hotels are let down by having old, inoperable or otherwise inadequate fitness gear. With an evening flight out of Dulles the front desk staff were super helpful in giving me a late checkout. I was only here for one night but I guess for longer stays a car would be useful as there's not much to do within walking distance (except a big shopping mall if that's your thing). Of the many Hiltons in which I stay during the course of a year, this definitely ranks as one of the best in terms of infrastructure and service and is a bargain at weekends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Hilton McLean. It is a very easy cab ride from Dulles Airport. I had a newly renovated room, and it was very nice. The finishes were top-notch. I also had great experiences in the lobby bar during several nights of my stay. The bar tender was extremely professional and even remembered my name from one day to the next. I highly recommend the hand carved turkey sandwich. The bacon jam was a unique and delicious touch. I would definitely return to this hotel and recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in McLean!

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Placid, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

This is a very nice hotel and is situated close to the airport and close to DC. The rooms and facilties could not be nicer plus the restaurant had a wonderful Sunday brunch. There is even a large parking lot in back that is free parking. Called for room service breakfast one morning and it was prompt and good. Nothing not to like and would have given it 5 stars except for problems in reservations even though I had booked three rooms. I resolved the problem on-line and just ignored the hotel reservation people.

Room Tip: I had three different rooms and they all were similar and nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StephSnap, Manager at Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
Thanks for the feedback and I'm so sorry to hear of your reservations issues. If you have more information to share we would love to follow up.

We really appreciate your follow up.

Our shuttle will take you anywhere within a 3 mile radius which will give you access to numerous shops and restaurants.

Looking forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton McLean Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton McLean Tysons Corner

Also Known As:
Hilton Mclean Tysons Corner Hotel
Hilton Mclean Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Hilton Hotel Mclean
Hilton Tysons Corner
Hilton Mclean
Mclean Hilton
Address: 7920 Jones Branch Drive, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#2 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
#2 Romantic Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton McLean Tysons Corner 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want it all, come to the Hilton McLean Tysons Corner. The Hilton McLean Tysons Corner has recently completed a top-to-bottom transformation featuring the latest and most contemporary design in our guest rooms, härth Restaurant and Lounge. Our McLean, Virginia Hotel is adjacent to Hilton Worldwide’s headquarters, so we are always in the forefront of hospitality. This provides us with opportunities to test and unveil the newest concepts and technologies, all in McLean Virginia’s Technology Corridor.Of course, location is everything. The Hilton Mclean sits just minutes from downtown Washington, DC , and conveniently located between Ronald Reagan National Airport and Washington Dulles International Airport . We are minutes from the Metro, and one mile from world class shopping at Tysons Corner Mall, The American Girl store and the Galleria. Our guests enjoy easy access to major corporate headquarters, the lush landscapes of Virginia to the history and intrigue of downtown DC, Our guests are in the middle of it all at the Hilton McLean Tysons Corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hilton McLean Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton McLean Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.