We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1960-A Chain Bridge Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast For Two
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
GreenLeadersGold level
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

My husband and booked 4 nights in the jacuzzi room as a weekend getaway. Staff is fantastic and attentive. Everything was ready when we arrived to check in. Our room reservation included breakfast, which was amazing every morning. Cook to order omelets, eggs, bacon, waffles, oatmeal, coffee, juice and the list goes on. Room service for dinner was also fantastic and arrived within 30 minutes. What really added to the value is free parking and free in room internet which can add $50 per night in most hotels. This hotel is directly across from La Galleria and Tysons Corner Mall. This hotel is a super A+ and we will absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaTC, Owner and Management at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Hello sbsvb,

First and foremost, we just wanted to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on TripAdvisor. All reviews are important to us, so when we receive great feedback and A+, we are ecstatic! We are so glad that you have had a great experience with us and we certainly look forward to seeing you both in many more future stays. If there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable, please don’t hesitate to let any of our staff members know how we can make your stay even better. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you soon!

Sincerely,
Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    66
    29
    14
    14
See reviews for
29
27
19
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shenandoah, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

I love this hotel. The service is wonderful and the view of Tysons Corner is great. It is a super location for business and fun to shop and relax as well. The beds are comfortable. I strongly recommend a jacuzzi room. it feels great after a long day. The front desk staff is so helpful with anything. The shuttle takes you all around area. The only weird thing was the room service menu. It looks like it was taken over by a Leprechaun. They actually sell an item called a banshee club ( thought you used a club to kill a banshee??). It is nice to also have a Flemming's in the hotel as well.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaTC, Owner and Management at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Hi rem061877,

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback about the Courtyard Tysons Corner in your TripAdvisor review. We are so glad you love our hotel and were able to take advantage of our wonderful Jacuzzi Room and the wonderful things Tysons Corner has to offer with business and pleasure!

We hope to have the pleasure of serving you in the near future!

Sincerely,
Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2009

Only stayed in the hotel for 7 hours, but was not impressed. Pipes were very loud, room was warm and was difficult to find a newspaper in the morning. The front desk staff was nice, the restaurant staff coulnd't care less about service.

I always stay at Marriott hotels, but would probably not stay here again..expensive hotel for the quality.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Managment at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Dear PatsDynasty,
Thank you for taking time to post a review about your stay with us last month at the Courtyard Tysons Corner.

We deeply apologize you you did not enjoy your stay! We take our customer service and our hotels upkeep very seriously and have not had these complaints before. However, thank you for bringing them to our attention and we are looking into all matters you mentioned.

We hope that next time you are in Northern Virginia you will give us another chance.

Thank you,
The Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

As a Marriott Platinum member, this hotel is decent but not great. The room was ok style-wise but could use some upgrades in the bathrooms and kitchen areas. The telephones in my room did not work and would not call the automatically programmed numbers for the hotel. Many of the lights in my room did not work. There was no "do not disturb" sign provided in my room. There was some smelly bag of garbage left on my balcony. And, the balcony sliding glass door was busted and did not have a lock on it. I had to prop the luggage rack and a chair up to the door to ensure it was secured at night. And - that was in a suite!

The front desk did upgrade me from a regular room to a suite because of my rewards status. This was appreciated. I would recommend this hotel over both of the Residence Inns in the Mclean, VA area, which were terrible.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dattardi, owner and management group at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, November 13, 2009
Hey, Gtravelgirl -

First and foremost, thank you for your review on TripAdvisor and for taking the time to post your feedback. Hearing candid guest feedback is the only way w are going to get better and improve our hotel, so we take it very seriously.

Having said that, I'm sorry you didn't have a terrific experience at our hotel. We have been in the process of some room and lobby upgrades and I think they have been pretty well-received by most guests, but given your feedback, we will certainly revisit possible improvements to the bathroom and kitchen areas.

Also, I am sorry that your room didn't include several of the items that come standard in all our guest rooms (properly working lights, do not disturb signs, etc.), as well as I apologize about the garbage on the balcony.

Our quality scores are consistently at the top of our the Courtyard brand, so i assure you that this type of mishap is an anomaly.

I regret that you didn't have a better experience, but again, I am confident that our hotel will take your feedback and use it to improve our service moving forward.

We value all our guests, especially our Platinum Rewards members, so I hope that you will give us another stay the next time you are in the Tysons-Corner, Northern VA, DC area.

Thanks again for your feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Best,
Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

The courtyard lives up to the Marriott standard. it is in a great location in Tysons. The staff is very friendly and helpful with all requests. There are a few restaurants within walking distance. Rooms are nice and quiet. Decent work out room and good pool. Will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Dear GabbyCharlotte_NC,
Thank you for taking time to post a review about your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner. We appreciate the time you took to give us your feedback.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to serving you again!

Thank you,
The Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

We live close enough to DC to make pretty regular overnight or weekend trips to DC for all different kinds of activities, and we're constantly searching for the best hotel. We look for something affordable that is close to a metro station. While this Courtyard isn't very close to the metro, it is a very affordable and well furnished hotel that makes up for it's distance to the metro.

The hotel is easy to get to, not far off 495. Check in was easy and the staff at the front dest was very courteous. Our room was clean and comfortable upon entering. We were surprised to find both a flat panel television and a small refrigerator in the room. Internet was wired, and the service was fine. The vanity area of the bathroom was a little on the small side, but that is the only complaint we had with the room. The parking area was large and well lit, and had easy elevator access to the main lobby. Best of all, parking is free, a luxury that is hard to find in a DC area hotel.

You do have to drive a couple of miles to the closest metro station, but the closest stations are also park and rides, so if you're visiting on the weekend, parking is free. We knew that before we booked, so it was no problem for us.

We're headed back to DC soon, and have already booked at this hotel for our next visit. We may have found the best combination of price, location, and convenience with this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, November 10, 2009
Dear jpeace121,
Thank you for giving us your feedback when staying with us at the Courtyard by Marriott in Tysons Corner.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and felt you got a good value with us! We understand that price is always a concern and feel that quality should not be sacrificed in order to get a good deal!

As it seems your only complaint that the metro was a short drive, you will be happy to know that a metro station is being built practically across the street!

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Tysons Corner!

Sincerely,
The Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

I've stayed here numerous times over the last few years. I've had some not so nice visits to this particular Courtyard, but most of my stays here have been very good. This last stay was excellent. The AAA rate was $67 a night (weekends), the room was very clean, the king size bed was comfy, the flat screen television was great and the room had a new feel to it. I suppose this was because the hotel was recently renovated. One positive about this hotel is the location. Tysons Corner Mall and Tysons Galleria are within walking distance. Both malls offer many restaurants and other shopping opportunites. The Dunn Loring metro stop is less than a 5 mile drive away and the hotel will even shuttle you there anytime during the day. I have no complaints whatsoever. The extraordinary changes are obvious here at the Tysons Corner-Fairfax Courtyard and yes, I will be back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kberkhimer, Owner & Management at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, May 12, 2009
Dear ILUVDC,

Thank you for your feedback about the Courtyard at Tysons Corner! We appreciate you taking the time to post this review.

We are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott in Tysons Corner and that you will be back! We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

The Courtyard by Marriott at Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax

Address: 1960-A Chain Bridge Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tysons Corner
#6 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#11 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Hotel is not your typical Courtyard hotel. This new hotel is located in the heart of Tysons Corner, just 11 miles from downtown Washington DC, and is centrally located between Washington Reagan National Airport and Dulles International Airport, each just 15 miles from the hotel. We are the closest hotel to the Tysons Corner Metro Station on the Silver Line making access to the Nation's Capital a breeze. Take advantage of many of the Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner's great amenities such as Free Wifi, State of the Art Fitness Center, and On-Site Restaurant The Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax Hotel Mclean
Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
Courtyard Hotel Mclean
Mclean Marriott
Mclean Courtyard
Courtyard Mclean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.