We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Place To Stay if Mall Shopping at Tyson's Corner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1960-A Chain Bridge Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
GreenLeadersGold level
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
488 reviews 488 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
702 helpful votes 702 helpful votes
“A Good Place To Stay if Mall Shopping at Tyson's Corner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have stayed here 3 times with the last being a few days ago.

It is conveniently located near Tyson's 2 major malls with their good restaurants. They have a shuttle that is free to the malls as well. It is located in a business park. Free parking, outside or underground. Reception has always been friendly. Hotel has always been clean. Free newspapers at the front desk. 2 computers in the lobby for usage as well(free). There is a fireplace with couches/chairs in the lobby. Fleming's Restaurant is just down a hallway(there is the regular main entrance as well)and we always go there when we are in town.That is a real plus for us.

This time the hotel dining room and bar/lounge were closed for renovations. We were not informed of that(we booked on website). We used points for this stay and gave the full amount. But, when facilities are closed, we believe the points should be reduced.

The room was very HOT even though we had the window cracked. It was very dry in the room as well. Neither of us got a good nights sleep. The room was quiet, which is important to us. Typical Marriott amenties. You seem to always know what you get with this brand...which we believe is good. Checkout was accurate.

We enjoy staying here and will do so in the future. I can easily recommend this hotel to you.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are suites with a separate living and kitchen area. They always put us in one...ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear OahuHawaii,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experiences staying at our hotel. We always love to hear from our guests.

It is great that you have enjoyed all of your stays so far at our hotel. We try to provide consistently excellent service for all of our guests. It is great that you have been able to take full advantage of the great amenities at the hotel and our fantastic location in the heart of Tysons Corner.

We hope to have another opportunity to serve you again the next time you are in the area again.

Sincerely,
The Courtyard Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    62
    27
    14
    14
See reviews for
29
26
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011 via mobile

This is a pretty standard Courtyard, but it is extremely well located for the Tyson's Corner area. There is a fairly tight underground parking garage, but it sure beats parking in the elements. I was very happy with the staff, with the exception that if you stay over the weekend the housekeeping staff seemed to not replace items like shampoo and towels. The room service menu is above-average and actually very good, but there are many good places to eat very close to the hotel as well.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Constat,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel!

We are very happy to hear that you had a great stay and were able to relax. We are sorry for the lacking housekeeping on the weekends, this is certainly not to our standards and will be addressed immediately. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your room service and were able to take full advantage of our great location.

It will be great to have another opportunity to serve you the next time you are in the Tysons Corner area again.

Sincerely,
The Courtyard Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We usually stay at this Marriot Courtyard every year when we visit Tysons Corner to go Christmas shopping. The location is centrally located near both large shopping centers and there are a number of good resturants nearby. The hotel service is good, the hotel is always clean, the beds are extremely comfortable and the heating and cooling sytem for each room keeps the temperature just the way I like it. Whenever we stay we usually pay a few dollars more to get the breakfast buffet. The resturant is never crowded, the selection is good, not great, but the cook will make your eggs the way you want and they have a nice selction of ingredients if you want an omlet.

The hotel has free underground parking which is quite large; I have always found a spot to park. They have a small indoor pool and fitness center. The LCD TV in the room has a good selection of channels but no pay per view channels. They do have a good steakhouse inside the hotel called Flemings, there is also a Mortons and Palms steakhosues nearby. The metro station is only a couple of miles away if you want to visit Washington DC.

For a reasonably priced hotel you cannot beat this one, I have stayed at some of the others in the area, but this is my favorite one.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear NNWSLARRY,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your stays at our hotel! We always love hearing from our guests.

It is great to hear you have been able to take advantage of our ideal location across the street from both Tysons Corner Malls for your holiday shopping needs! It is great to hear our team has always made you feel welcomed and comfortable during your stays. We do our best to take care of all our guests’ needs.

We are looking forward to having the continued opportunity to serve you during your trips to Tysons Corner.

Sincerely,
The Courtyard Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Loved the ambiance, hospitality and yes coffee too.. Fantastic rooms, and walking distance from Tysons mall. Shuttle was friendly enough to pick and drop as per schedule.
Overall excellent hotel and value for each buck they charge.

Room Tip: higher you go better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, December 28, 2011
Dear Ashoksuyal,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience staying with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the rooms were to your liking. It’s also great to hear you were able to take advantage of our complementary local area shuttle.

We are looking forward to the next time you are in the area and we have another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,
The Courtyard Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narberth, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I like this Courtyard because of its location, the free wifi, and general cleanliness. Unfortunately, they are renovating their cafe area on the 2nd floor, and the jackhammer noise resonates through the whole building, including my room on the 4th floor. Why they are rehabbing the cafe instead of the rooms is beyond me. (And why on a Sunday afternoon?) I would not pay rack rate for this room. Thank goodness for Hotwire.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Dear ECexpat,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We take all of our guests’ feedback very seriously so we can always improve your experience.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time and that you could take advantage of the great amenities that we have to offer like WiFi and our location. We hope that you weren’t inconvenienced too much with the work we are doing. We are very excited because very shortly we will be complete with our refreshing service project that will completely update the look, feel, and capabilities of our café and all of the public space at the hotel.

We hope that you will give us a second chance when the work is completed so you can experience the great changes we are making to the hotel.

Sincerely,
The Courtyard Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Finding a good hotel, in a decent neighborhood, without paying ridiculous prices is always a challenge when staying in Washington, DC. Fortunately, we stumbled upon the Courtyard by Marriott in Tysons Corner since it was near a golf tournament we were attending. What a great find! Easy to find (even with the entire interstate under construction), parking was included (self-park), as was a nice buffet breakfast (complete with eggs-to-order station).

So, why not five stars? On the weekend we stayed (October 8-9), their bar did not open until 9:00 p.m. so we ended up at Fleming's Steakhouse at their hotel. The bar was small and catered to those waiting to dine, so it was not intimate and again, pricey. The next night the hotel bar opened at a more reasonable hour, and we enjoyed the drinks at a leisurely pace.

Room Tip: Use the self-park garage under the hotel. Super easy with the elevator near your auto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Hello Muskellonge,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your experience staying at our hotel. We love to hear from our guests.

We are glad to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of our great location. It is also great to hear that you also were able to enjoy the many amenities we have to offer our guests and start off the day right with our great breakfast buffet. We are sorry for any inconvenience regarding the hours the bar was open. We will be making some changes to the entire food and beverage service at the hotel in the upcoming months that we know will solve your issue.

We are looking forward to being able to serve you again during your next trip to the area. We’d love to hear what you think of the bar after we are done.

Sincerely,
The Courtyard Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

I was charged twice at this hotel for the same stay. I have called and spoken with the manager who refused to believe me. I have gone back to the hotel and spoken with the front desk with the two credit card receipts. It has been over 4 days and no one has gotten back to me. The hotel is clean. The service leaves a lot to be desired.

Room Tip: go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrankOhara, Owner and Management Representative at Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Dear ann m,

Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We take all of our guest’s feedback seriously so we can address any issues our guests might have.

We are very sorry for the issues that you had and we are talking steps to assure that it never happens again. The reason that you were charged twice was a mistake made by us and we apologize for that. We are also sorry for not following up with you as diligently as we should have. We would like to assure you that the second charge was reversed as soon as the error was brought to our attention but can take several days for the bank to process. We are working with the entire team to make sure that our guests aren’t accidentally charged and that we make sure to follow up better.

We hope that you will give us a second chance to prove that we take serving our guests seriously the next time you are in the Tysons Corner area.

Sincerely,
The Courtyard Tysons Corner Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax

Address: 1960-A Chain Bridge Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tysons Corner
#5 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax 3*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Hotel is not your typical Courtyard hotel. This new hotel is located in the heart of Tysons Corner, just 11 miles from downtown Washington DC, and is centrally located between Washington Reagan National Airport and Dulles International Airport, each just 15 miles from the hotel. We are the closest hotel to the Tysons Corner Metro Station on the Silver Line making access to the Nation's Capital a breeze. Take advantage of many of the Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner's great amenities such as Free Wifi, State of the Art Fitness Center, and On-Site Restaurant The Terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax Hotel Mclean
Courtyard Tysons Corner Fairfax
Courtyard Hotel Mclean
Mclean Marriott
Mclean Courtyard
Courtyard Mclean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.