We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was worth the money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Embassy Suites Hotel Tysons Corner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Embassy Suites Hotel Tysons Corner to your Saves list
Embassy Suites Hotel Tysons Corner
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8517 Leesburg Pike, Tysons Corner, VA 22312   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on your stay!
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
GreenLeadersBronze level
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“It was worth the money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

The room was great and I felt very safe. The hot breakfast and the manager's reception were the best I have seen yet. I tried drinks I've never had before. All the kitchen and bar people were very friendly and accommodating. We were very pleased with our overall experience there and will plan to stay there again when in town.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    155
    51
    23
    13
See reviews for
235
95
30
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2010

1. Small mixup in room but really enjoyed the one we ended up in. 2. Service in lobby resturant was quite slow. 3. You should go back to 4 cup coffee pots in the rooms. Individual cup makers aren't good if more that one person in the room. 4. Shuttle drivers do very well considering all the construction that is going on around there.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for a month with my family including small children while moving/waiting for a house to be renovated. I chose it largely because of the breakfast, happy hour, pool, and kitchenette in the room as well as the suite setup. Overall, I was disappointed. While the staff were generally cheerful and helpful, the room was smaller than we were hoping (and, I feel, smaller than other Embassy Suites I've stayed at in the past, perhaps.) The kitchenette is a tiny fridge, tiny sink, and microwave - no dishes, silverware, or anything else. The hotel overall felt a bit run down and could use a facelife. There seemed to be some ongoing maintenance issues. One elevator was broken for over two weeks of our stay, leading to long waits for the remaining elevator at busy times. The air-conditioning in our room was awful: if you set the temperature, to, for example, 72 degree, the AC would blow cold air until the room reached a temperature of 72, then blow hot air. During the 95 degree days of August, to be in a room blowing hot air was unpleasant to say the least. We called and asked for someone to look at the AC or fix it, but it made no difference. One of our TV remotes was not working when we arrived in the room as well. Another day the printers available at the computer/internet station in the lobby were not working, which was problematic when I needed to print something and was in a hurry. These are basic maintenance issues that should be taken care of. The bed in the bedroom area was saggy in the middle and almost too soft to be comfortable. Probably due to age. The breakfast and manager's reception were okay. After a month, the food gets really old, but for a day or two it is probably fine. It would be nice to have a litlte more variety at breakfast.
I have to say, however, that the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. In particular the maid who took care of our room each day was great. We were on a very irregular schedule (compared to most business and leisure travelers who are out of the hotel room for most of the day) and she was great about coming back when we needed her, providing extra towels, and keeping our room in tiptop shape.
Pool and exercise room were fine.
Traffic in the area is awful and the construction is a huge bear. However traffic is *always* awful in this area, so it goes with the location. This hotel will certainly benefit when the construction is completed as the new Metro station will be practically at the front door.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Excellent price and location, included complimentary extras were cook to order breakfast, manager's reception, shuttle service to the Metro, shuttle service to shopping mall and wide range of restaurants.
We parked the car upon arrival, didn't drive until we left.
Desk Personel - recognized and greeted me by name every time we entered or left AND no we didn't do anything out of the ordinary!!
Breakfast cook remembered my allergy and made certain to use a clean utensil
Shuttle drivers were friendly and professional - never had a longer than 15 minute wait!
Only negative, there was road construction in front of the hotel and they started by 6am on Thursday and Friday mornings. On the weekend, it was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed at Embassy Suites in Vienna this past weekend, with our 6 and 10 year olds. Our room was spaceous and clean. The managers reception was yummy, and the kids enjoyed the snacks and soda. The indoor, elegant guarded pool was clean, as was the big whirlpool hot tub. The breakfast was beyond amazing, with cook to order omlets. There are even more food choices here than the best Residence Inn I have been to. We actually stayed at this hotel 13 months ago, and the kids have been begging to go back. So, we took them! The beds are just right, comfortable! Check out time is at noon, so you can even enjoy a leisurely swim in the morning before you check out. The hotel was quiet, and that was a Saturday night! I have no complaints, other than the door to the master bedroom stuck and was a pain to let the kids into our room with all of their questions. We enjoyed an easy drive into the Mall on Sunday. We managed to find a spot to park near the Mall, for free. Then we had a ball at The Museum of American History. It was an easy family trip for us, and inexpensive too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

I am currently staying in the Embassy Suites Hotel Tysons Corner and it is 22:42pm when I am writing this review. If you are traveling with young kids, I strongly recommend avoiding to stay in this hotel. If I could upload some noise to demonstrate what is going on in this hotel you would be shocked. I feel now (on 31-Jul-2010) as would stand in the middle of a noisy bus station. This hotel is perfectly described by EuroWalkers and those who want to sleep during nights I highly recommend to go somewhere else.

Due to the internal architecture of the building (it has an internal atrium inside of the building) teenagers are using to talk with each other from the ground floor to the 4-5 floor and NOBODY from the hotel management does stop this.

I am a frequent traveler in Europe and in the US, but I have never experienced any similar chaos like here. I am even thinking to send a report about my personal experience to Hilton itself about this improper operation of its "Embassy Suites" brand.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

My wife and I recently spent a late July weekend at the the Embassy Suites. We booked a king bed suite for $89 on the hotel's website -- not a bad price for Tysons. We had planned to go to the nearby Wolf Trap Farm Park for a concert on Friday night and Metro into DC and take in a couple of museums. (We lived in Northern VA for almost 20 years, but like many residents, we failed to take advantage of all the free attractions.)

Unfortunately, that weekend was one of the hottest on record, with temps over 100 degrees. Needless to say, we limited our outdoor time, which wasn't a problem. We're flexible enough to improvise when we have to.

If you're planning to visit Northern Virginia (NOVA), be prepared for horrendous traffic jams, due to construction on both the Dulles Toll Road and Route 7. Having lived in the area for many years, I knew several back roads to help avoid the traffic, but it was still a hassle and added stress to what was supposed to be a relaxing weekend. There was only one way to access the hotel parking lot -- off Route 7 east. It was poorly marked and easy to miss.

As for the Embassy Suites, it was just "okay." The room (715) on the Hilton Honors floor was nothing special. It really needed a serious makeover. The bathroom was clean, but again, it really needed a facelift. Moldy tile grouting really turns me off. The furniture was dated and showed signs of wear, as did the carpeting. The bed was very good and provided a restful sleep.

The room had a small fridge, microwave and single-cup coffee pot. There was a 32" flat screen TV in the living room area and conventional analog TV in the bedroom. A Sony clock radio (with ipod interface cable) was also provided.

Our discount room rate also included a free breakfast and the manager's cocktail hour.
Once again, it was nothing special. The cook at the omelet station was downright surly.
The rest of the breakfast offerings were fair - sausage links, bacon, potatoes, scrambled eggs (powdered) and dry pancakes. The cocktail hour was fair. They offered house wines, lower shelf booze mixed drinks and a choice of three beers on tap. The munchies consisted of veggies and dip, nachos, goldfish and deep fried jalapeno poppers.

My biggest complaint was all the kids running around, mostly unsupervised. I know that it's summer and families are on vacation, but come on! My parents taught me how to behave in public!

The hotel's pool was small and only 4 feet deep, so you forget about doing any serious swimming. We enjoyed cooling off in the shallow water, however.

For the business traveler, the Embassy Suites is probably a good choice. For the leisure traveler, not so much.

Would we return to the Embassy Suites? Probably not. There are plenty of other choices in the area.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Embassy Suites Hotel Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites Hotel Tysons Corner

Address: 8517 Leesburg Pike, Tysons Corner, VA 22312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#3 Green Hotel in Tysons Corner
#4 Romantic Hotel in Tysons Corner
#5 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites Hotel Tysons Corner 3.5*
Number of rooms: 234
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Embassy Suites Tysons Corner hotel is beautifully situated one block from the Silver Line Metro Station and only 20 minutes from the Dulles International Airport and Downtown Washington DC, and provides stunning accommodations in a relaxed and friendly environment. Our suburban Washington DC area hotel offers guests convenient location for exploring some of the area's most desirable tourist attractions, including: Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts, Tysons Corner Shopping, Smithsonian's Air and Space Museum, Lincoln Memorial, and The White House. Our guests may also enjoy:•Spacious two room suites•Complimentary Cooked-to-order Breakfast every morning•Complimentary Evening Reception every evening with free drinks and snacks•Business Center and a variety of Business Amenities•Complimentary transportation to local businesses within 3 mile radius of hotel. Corporate travelers will also find that our Vienna hotel is located within close proximity to a wide selection of local businesses and corporations, such as:•NADA•Capital One•SAIC•Northrop Grumman•Freddie MacOur spacious hotel suites are perfect for either work or leisure. Stay in one of our beautifully designed guest rooms and discover amenities to suit even the most discerning hotel guest, including: spacious work area, television with cable and pay-per-view movies, high-speed Internet access, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, hairdryer, iron and ironing board.Whether you prefer to dine in-room or to discover local restaurants, you'll find your dining needs perfectly catered to at our hotel. Not only are all guests invited to enjoy our superb and nutritious cooked-to-order breakfast in the morning, you'll also find our hotel restaurant, The Atrium Cafe, serving an excellent selection of contemporary American cuisine daily. Unwind over breakfast, lunch, or dinner in the welcoming atmosphere of our stunning hotel atriums and recharge your batteries for an exciting stay in the Washington DC area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Embassy Suites Hotel Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Tysons Corner
Embassy Suites Vienna
Vienna Embassy Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Embassy Suites Hotel Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.