We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally worth the drive from Maryland!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shamshiry

Shamshiry
8607 Westwood Center Dr, Ste 100A, Tysons Corner, VA 22182-7506
703-448-8883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 82 Restaurants in Tysons Corner
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Totally worth the drive from Maryland!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Best Persian food in the DC area! We brave the traffic congested Beltway just so we can taste the sweet palate pleasing wonderfulness that is Shirin Polo!!!! It is the most truly delicious rice dish that has ever passed my lips! The people who work there are really nice too! If you go on a Saturday night, prepare to wait for a while since its sooooo good!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    32
    5
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Thoroughly enjoyed the delicious food here and the professional, friendly, competent staff. I don't understand the reviews that panned the staff because our experience was only good. We did order our food for take-out, but while we waited we were treated royally. The food is plentiful and outstanding -- we had enough for two meals and enjoyed it just as much the second time around. Be sure to order the yogurt and the chopped salad. Wonderful!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Reliable Persian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

My grandmother, having lived in Iran in the 1950's, loves persian food. This is her favorite place...she's go at least once a week if she could. It has been very reliable, but my last visit not so much. I always get the soltoni kebab with some pilau dish. I got the one with dill and fava beans....maybe it was the choice of rice or an off day for me, but it wasn't as good as I remembered (I have heard from Persian co-workers that the main chef has now left and opened her own place). I was asked to go back again tomorrow evening....sorry Grandma....next weekend? (I have to work tomorrow and it's not near her house or mine....). If you're a fan of Persian food, go and try it. We've gone for years. And by the way, they just got white cotton table cloths! No more plastic covered with glass....did I mention this is VERY casual?

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good Persian food, friendly but unprofessional service. Noisy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I have given this Persian restaurant a four star rating just because of its food quality and taste which is very good. The "kabobs are very tasty, the rice is cooked well and the stews are great. Go to Shamshiry to eat the good food and ignore everything else. Have fun.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food--Rude Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is great Persian food. However the staff is not nice at all. They need to fire the ladies at the front desk. They are beyond rude. However, the best Persian food in town. Get it to go and you will be happy.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamshiry also viewed

Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to Shamshiry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamshiry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.