We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Persian food, friendly but unprofessional service. Noisy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shamshiry

Shamshiry
8607 Westwood Center Dr, Ste 100A, Tysons Corner, VA 22182-7506
703-448-8883
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $35
Cuisines: Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good Persian food, friendly but unprofessional service. Noisy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I have given this Persian restaurant a four star rating just because of its food quality and taste which is very good. The "kabobs are very tasty, the rice is cooked well and the stews are great. Go to Shamshiry to eat the good food and ignore everything else. Have fun.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    24
    19
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food--Rude Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This is great Persian food. However the staff is not nice at all. They need to fire the ladies at the front desk. They are beyond rude. However, the best Persian food in town. Get it to go and you will be happy.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Persian Food- endorsed by Persians”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I have been here a few times and was introduced to it by some Persian friends. I think the food is wonderful- the kabobs, all the rice dishes I have had are very good. Thee chicken is done very well and I have tried a few of the rice dishes and they are all very good. They do an amazing business- both in person and take out. I think the service is solid there and the food always comes out hot. Be prepared to wait and come with an appetite, because the portions are huge. I think picking out some different dishes and sharing them is the best way to enjoy this place. It is off the beaten path a little bit (though close to Tysons) but worth the the hunt.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The rudest wait staff I have ever met”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

While the food is good here, the wait staff and the owners are beyond RUDE. I love the food but refuse to go b/c the staff are as rude as it gets. If you aren't Iranian they treat you like dir.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“One of the best Persian restaurants I've ever been to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I must say that every time I go the food never disappoints. The service is always friendly and if slow it is only because they have a full house. It offers excellent value for money and their food is wonderfully authentic with various tastes and textures.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shamshiry also viewed

Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to Shamshiry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shamshiry, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.