We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Wait!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Diner

Silver Diner
8101 Fletcher St., Tysons Corner, VA 22102
703-821-3784
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 80 Restaurants in Tysons Corner
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Vegan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Description: At Silver Diner, we're much more than a diner. Whether you choose a classic dish or a vegetarian, vegan, or gluten-free option, Executive Chef Ype Von Hengst has created a menu of customizable, healthier choices that all share one thing: the highest quality, all-natural ingredients available.Silver Diner is proud to be a key part of the local community, nurturing it's growth, providing food for healthier lifestyles, and supporting local schools and non-profits. With a menu that features more than 15 local farms that support sustainable agriculture, Chef Ype creates seasonal dishes using the freshest ingredients available within our local region.
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth the Wait!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We arrived at the diner around 1030am on a Sunday. There parking lot was packed (always a good sign).

The wait was about 15 minutes. It was awkward because you did not give your name to the person greeter. He asked you how many in your party (multiple times) and then you waited in line. Some people got mad at this system and left. This was the only thing I would change here.

Once we were seated, the service was quick. We had coffee in less than 3 minutes. We ordered our meal and it was out about 15 minutes later. Everything was hot and tasted great.!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    38
    19
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Example of this chain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Not as large as the branch down the road in Merrifield or the one in Rockville NJ. Ate with the family on a Sunday morning. The crowd was doable and the staff handled the pressure well. Prices are getting a little high and the bacon is geting sliced a little thinner. We understand that times are lean but don't go much further before you hurt the concept. Everything was good except for the pancakes were a little doughy

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe H, Manager at Silver Diner, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
SW, thank you for the detailed review. I am glad that you enjoyed the food and service, and I appreciate your feedback on providing consistent value to our guests, will definitely keep this top of mind. We hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Business breakfast with a real breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Most definitely a business crowd for breakfast. This review written with high scores for a 'business breakfast venue.' It is not a 4star busines lunch or dinner venue. Packed house! Some comfortable glances and some uncomfortable stares while passing a packed venue of business conversations. Then once seated, it was all about a real breakfast for a real business discussion. Very good experience compared to years of having a proverbial 'business breakfast' consisting of coffee and an untouched tray of donuts while digging into business matters. Food was breakfast food...prepared and served as breakfast would be expected. Happy to have had that experience. Thoroghly packed house, so I'd return for a business breakfast but probably not for a casual family breakfast.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A diner with fresh and organic options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I had not been a big fan until recently. However, Silver Diner has switched the menu offering lots of healthy opitions to even include several organic selections. The chicken sage sausage should not be missed. The hamburgers and onion rings are great, but the milk shakes should absolutely not be missed.

Overall a great healthy option at a great price point...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
“Good place for kids on Tuesday nights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Every Tuesday night, there is free entertainment in the back room. The food is good, which is a nice plus

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Diner also viewed

Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to Silver Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.