We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On the Border

On the Border
8053 Leesburg Pike, Tysons Corner, VA 22182-2709
703-893-4395
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 84 Restaurants in Tysons Corner
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Just what we expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We went with another couple for good Tex-Mex and margaritas and this is exactly what we got. Big portions, honest service and reasonable pricing. Great for groups or families.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    7
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Do not recommend it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

I have been eating at on the border restaurants over the past 20 years -- mostly in Texas but also this one in Tyson's corner for 10 years or so. We went for lunch here today and were very disappointed. Food was BLAND, service was pretty poor and margaritas aweful. We jad the skinny margaritas and they had a fake sweet flavor that dominated. Must be some artificial sweet era added to the lime juice. What is the point of that? If you order a skinny margarita, you expect less sweet and more lime flavor, not fake sweet. The food was so bland-- how can nachoes with fajita steak taste bland? Somehow they managed...our fighter was happy to play on the tablet, and the guy who made gresh tortillas in the back was great with my daughter and made her an oversized one which she loved.

There are much better tex mex places to eat in the DC area-- Guapos, Austin grill and Lauriel plaza. Even cactus cantina is better.

On the border used to be good standard tex- mex fare, but has clearly sunk to mediocrity.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“I love the chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This place is good overall. Me and another member of my party were really addicted to the chips, we ate three entire bowls. I went to on the border once before, in aurora, Illinois, and there was a vegetarian menu there. Here however, there wasn't. The service was VERY slow too. Took a long time to get food. They have mini tablets you can use. It's 99 cents to get all the games and stuff, the only free things was USA today (enough for me!) You could also order dessert on the tablet. At the end, everything we ordered would show up on the tablet and we would have to pay there. We had to sign with our hand in the tablet, and it asked if we wanted our receipt emailed, printed, or no receipt. we did printed, but all that came out was a bunch of black squiggly lines. Probably would come here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Pick a better place. Chevys or Anita's. Or anywhere. Gupos”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

There are far better choices.
Chips are bland. Strike one

Salsa is bland strike 2

Every thing else is run of the mill which means average food at best.

Service is a bunch of teenagers who all fall short. Not exactly a trip to Mexico.

Pick a better spot. This isn't in the top 5 in nova.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“Nicely done middle end chain restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

On The Border delivers what it promises. It's very Americanized tex-mex food, nicely put together, tasty, and well-presented. Nothing too edgy here, but you don't come here for something on the ....border. The Tysons location is pretty much the same as the others. We have found the service here to be excellent, and the food is pretty much the same at all locations. We don't come here often because we usually like a much more authentic ethnic experience. But if you want safe, good, easy tex-mex, this is the place for you. The little tablet computers on the table were new this time. It's just another way to extract money. Any real usage costs. If you have kids who will be desperate to play with it, remove it from the table. On the other hand, if you want to distract them, it might be 99 cents well spent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed On the Border also viewed

 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 

Been to On the Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Border, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.