We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful upscale Greek gem in N. VA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nostos

Nostos
8100 Boone Blvd., Tysons Corner, VA 22182
7037600690
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Nostos is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Leesburg pike
Description: .
Sterling, VA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful upscale Greek gem in N. VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had to circle around a few times before I found the restaurant (the sign was not lighted and it's set back from Leesburg Pike in an office building). Once inside, we were greeted warmly by the hostess and the service continued to be professional and gracious throughout our meal. We shared several appetizers (fried greek cheese, zucchini with tzatziki and an eggplant spread with pita). All were delicious. Everyone had a cocktail and agreed that their bartender knows how to make a good drink. For entrees, there were a few whole branzinos and several lamb dishes, all of which were superb...simple marinades which enhanced the flavors of the meat or fish rather than hiding them. We even shared a few desserts which were typical but yummy. One word of warning on the greek coffee...it comes in tiny cups and is quite grainy. If you don't drink it all quickly, it becomes congealed and looks like a lump of chocolate pudding.
We arrived on the early side and were the 2nd ones in the dining room so noise wasn't an issue but by the time we left, the dining room was full and more "lively." I wouldn't say the noise was a problem for us.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    59
    37
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Best Greek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Excellant service. Excellant food. Great fish whole or portioned all done simply as I like it with salt and lemon. Extensive Greek wine list with good advice on translatting types. Service will debone for you if needed. Nice atmosphere. A hidden gem. Great for amorous couples or business. Try the fish roe mouse and other mezze options. Better than Alexandria option. Highly recommend.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
“a note on noise and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We have eaten here numerous times, which is the best indication we like the food. And I have written a favorable review some time ago. I continue to rate the food somewhere between very good and excellent. The major problem the customers have complained about here is the noise. In August the restaurant took steps to absorb the din. Our visit confirmed that progress had been made, although we have not visited on a weekend when the noise is typically at its highest. However, this time it was not the noise but the service that was the major concern. Our server was Savvas. Our party of 4 ordered 9 middle-sized dishes; he brought 8 of them out and dumped them on us simultaneously. Unfortunately, we did not think to ask that the dishes be staggered so that we could enjoy them hot and with some time to savor and digest. Other waiters have asked us about this issue so that the dishes could be served in some reasonable manner. But not Savvas.
Since this is a problem that could repeat itself, as it is common for customers to order these Greek "tapas" and share them, I encourage patrons to be alert and take steps against getting overwhelmed with everything served at once. The experience is similar to having all your courses at a regular restaurant served simultaneously. Not a good experience, in my opinion. Also, I assume that if one ordered one appetizer and one main entree, they would not be served together. But if you order everything from one section of the menu, that's fine; but be sure to structure how the dishes are to be served.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful lamb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We happened upon this restaurant and it was a great find! The leg of lamb was tender and perfectly cooked. My salad was fresh and delicious. as you approach the restaurant there are great garden containers full of fresh herbs, peppers and tomatoes. I don't know if that is what was actually used but it tasted like it could have been fresh picked.

Service was spot on.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere, just a little slow”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My family and I all enjoyed our birthday outing to Nostos. The atmosphere was lovely - airy and serene and the staff were charming. The food was terrific - wider selection than your typical Greek restaurant, and all of it delicious. My branzino was outstanding (and the accompanying potatoes were a dream.) I heard good things about the boneless lamb. will definitely go back, but hope the kitchen will have speeded things up a little. We were there on a Tuesday night and, while there were a good number of customers, there were not so many to justify the long waits for the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nostos also viewed

Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County
 
Tysons Corner, Fairfax County

Been to Nostos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nostos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.