We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1960 Chain Bridge Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30% this Summer
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is located near a shopping mall ... That is if you like shopping... Nothing else around it really. Hotel gym is adequate but not well maintained (noisy equipment, deflated balls to do abs crunches). Rooms are ok but if located close to the lobby area they could be noisy as it often hosts groups that congregate in the lobby area... And I could hear people laughing and talking loudly until late hours on one occasion...my shower did not have a shower curtain... When a lady eventually showed up she just handed in a shower curtain saying do you want to put it yourself or shall I do it ? I thought suggesting that I fix a problem that should not have been there in a first place was lacking a spirit of basic customer service... No apology or follow up from Reception... Hotel room did not have a safe deposit box which should be a basic standard... No refrigerator / minibar in the room. But all in all it is ok property ... They can make it better if they actually looked after this hotel ... Lack if strong management

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear “Emil A”;
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay with us. I was disappointed to read the issues you had, as we do make every effort to ensure our guests are 100% satisfied with their stay. We have addressed your concerns regarding the housekeeping situation with our Executive Housekeeper and I do apologize for the lack of customer service. Our Engineering department will be addressing the fitness center issues and we will certainly look at adding safe deposit boxes and refrigerators as we plan for room refreshes in the coming year.

Sincerely,
Sean A. Nunan
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    118
    81
    24
    18
See reviews for
58
49
44
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
256 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Have stayed here a few times. This time was not one of the better ones. The view from my room was of three brick walls and a large metal container. Hence the room was dark and dingy. The AC was noisy. The tap water was hardly warm enough to take a bath and there was no line over the bathtub for hanging washed clothes. Otherwise full marks for good toiletries and a comfortable bed.
The staff on checking-in was excellent. The next morning was a different story, sullen and unhelpful. The shuttle bus is a good service to the local malls and stores. Free wifi is excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear “heb999”;
I was disappointed to read the review of your most recent stay with us. We strive to make every guest experience a great one and it seems as if this time, we did not. Your positive comments are appreciated regarding the amenities and the check-in staff. We look forward to a return visit so we can show you that we can do it right.

Sincerely,
Sean A. Nunan
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

The location: close to two big malls.
The rooms: basic and quite outdated. My ceiling had a few stains on it from a leak from the roof.
Check in: quick but I wasn't impressed with the staff chewing gum.
Nice touch: the Sleep Tight gift: face and foot cream and a pillow spray.
Breakfast: good choice, nice service and good value for money.

Would I stay here again? Probably not but it is not offensive or bad-it's average and doesn't seem to be more than that.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear “bw73”;
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your past stay with us. We do take all guest comments seriously and are working towards a plan to update our rooms. Your comments regarding the staff will be addressed by the department head. I was pleased to see that our amenities were able to be enjoyed during your visit and this will be shared with our housekeeping and restaurant teams. Thank you again.

Sincerely,
Sean A. Nunan
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night to visit DC over Spring Break. The location was great next to the big mall. Check in was quick and the room was good. It was very modern, bed was a little firm but still got a great night's rest.The room was a little small compared to a lot of newer hotels, but we had no issues. We were traveling with a six and three year who both loved the large pool. The hotel also has an awesome gym, with everything you need including some free weights. We ate in the O'Malley's pub which is part of the hotel and the food and service was very good. All in all, a very good hotel to stay at in Tysons Corner.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The Staff at the front desk were incredibly helpful. I dropped in on a Thursday afternoon to check out the rooms prior to making a reservation. Elaine accommodated my request to see a room, then made my reservation for the weekend and secured a very reasonable rate for us. As my stay was coming to an end, again the staff accommodated my late check-out request. As luck wouuld have it, some extenuating circumstances cropped up on my last day, and the staff assisted with special shuttle service, and were very understanding when my departure was delayed beyond the agreed to check-out time. End-to-end, the service at the front desk was exceptional!

Room was clean and comfortable, the courtyard was pleasant, and the pool looked inviting. The wi-fi, however was limited. I was never able to connect more than one device, which seems archaic given most people have multiple net-connected devices like phones, tablets, and laptops. It was very frustrating to never get my laptop connected.

There are a few other issues with the hotel, notably a bad, old, mildew-like smell on the first floor near O'Malley's and the elevators, as well as some of the hallways to guest rooms. The smell was not noticeable in our room.

Hotel location is good, with access to many shopping and dining options. Once the Metro Silver Line opens, access to all DC attractions will be fabulous.

I would consider staying here again given value, location and great service by the desk staff.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a renovated room, and specifically request quiet room, away from elevators, on an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear “donker2014”;
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of the most recent stay at our hotel. Your positive comments regarding our location near all the shopping and dining options, and those regarding the staff are greatly appreciated, especially about Elaine, who is one of our best. I apologize for you not being able to connect more than one device to the Wi-Fi and will certainly check with our service provider to ensure we address this issue. The “odor” you refer to was the fresh mulch that our landscape company put around our plants.
Again, I appreciate your review and look forward to your return visit.

Sincerely,
Sean A. Nunan
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

From the moment I drove up to the Crowne Plaza i got a good feeling. The staff is very friendly & helpful & always greets you with a smile. The restaurant has a very nice selection and the food is delicious. The room was very clean, comfortable and decorated nicely, you get a nice relaxing feeling. Most importantly, the bathroom was clean and well taken care of. This hotel pays a lot of attention to detail. From the moment I checked in to the time I put my head on the most comfortable bed and pillow, I knew this hotel is a hotel I will return to every time I am in tysons corner area.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear “Emily B”;
I was very pleased to read the great review regarding your most recent stay with us. My entire staff will certainly appreciate your kind comments as this shows that our daily training and giving guests what they expect plus a little bit more does work. We look forward to your return to the Tysons Corner area and hope you will be able to enjoy many more of the amenities we have to offer.
Yours in Hospitality,

Trish Drews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I had a 3 day stay at Crowne Plaza-Tyson's, and I was not overwhelmed with pleasant thoughts. The front desk staff was not rude, but not helpful either. They always appeared to be rushed, which didn't make me want to bother them. The hotel is extremely busy and noisy, even on the room floors. The heating/air conditioning system was very loud. In fact, I had to just turn it off to sleep at night because of the racket. There was construction directly across the street from my hotel room, too. The work started early in the morning...7ish, but that was okay as I am generally awake at that time. I ordered room service the 3 nights I was there. The food was not high quality or even good, in my opinion, although the food always arrived to my room hot. Parking and both wifi and wired internet access are free...both good options.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms at the end of the hall!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear “AP W”;
I was disappointed to read your review of your stay with us. Your comments will be shared with the appropriate department heads to ensure we correct our mistakes. The Executive Chef will also be reviewing the food quality with his team to make sure we provide guests with great food and service at all times. We look forward to a return visit so we can show you that we can do it right.

Sincerely,
Sean A. Nunan
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tysons Corner hotels
0.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by HIlton Tysons Corner
0.7 mi away
Hilton McLean Tysons Corner
Hilton McLean Tysons Corner
#1 of 15 in Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
Hilton Garden Inn Tysons Corner
#4 of 15 in Tysons Corner
4.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Tysons Corner Fairfax
0.6 mi away
Tysons Corner Marriott
Tysons Corner Marriott
#8 of 15 in Tysons Corner
4.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tysons Corner Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner

Address: 1960 Chain Bridge Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Tysons Corner
#4 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#9 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner hotel is your ideal choice for hotel accommodations in McLean, Virginia. Located within minutes of 2 world-class shopping centers and many Tysons Corer businesses, our hotel is the perfect spot for business and leisure travelers. The Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner hotel also allows quick access to I-495 Capital Beltway, Rt. 66, Dulles International Airport, Reagan National Airport and Washington DC. We are the closest hotel to the Tysons Corner metro station on the Silver Line and offer complimentary shuttle service to the SpringHill Metro and attractions within 1 mile of the hotel. Take advantage of the many great amenities at the Crowne Plaza Tysosns Corner such as Free Wifi, 24 Hour Fitness Center, and 24 Hour Business Center. This Tysons Corner hotel also offers 2 on-site restaurants and 5,000 square feet of event space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Crowne Plaza Mclean
Crowne Plaza Hotel Mclean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.