We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for business trips” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1960 Chain Bridge Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
GreenLeadersGold level
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect for business trips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the first time and was pleasantly surprised. Good clean room, king size bed, free WiFi, TV, iPod docking station, coffee machine, bath robe, toiletries but no mini bar although there was a fridge. My deal was great although breakfast was an extra $15, but for the average UK citizen you could survive all day on the fresh fruit, variety of hot buffet dishes & pastries. Good friendly & cheerful staff. As they say ' it does what it says on the tin ' and at sensible prices. It's also well situated for the 2 shopping Malls nearby!!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    98
    71
    16
    12
See reviews for
45
40
41
174
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Elaine at the front desk was the most enjoyable and energetic person I've met yet. The room was very elegant and it felt was a vacation getaway. Everyone was willing to go out of their way with any needs that I had.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear “Quang T”;

Thank you very much for the positive review of your most recent stay with us. I appreciate you mentioning that all of our staff went out of their way to make sure you were taken care of. This shows that our training does work and that we are exceeding guest expectations. Elaine is one of our stellar team members at the front desk and we will be sure to give her the recognition she deserves at our next team meeting.

Sincerely,
Trish Drews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lightwater Uk
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The hotel is easy to find not far off the main road, upon arriving the front desk staff are immediately very welcoming. My room was of a good size with a large comfortable bed, the bathroom was stocked with good quality toiletries, everything was very clean. They offer a lovely touch in the room of a sleep pack, by the bed, these little spa products are to help relax and unwind you. I went to O'Malleys pub for the evening, the atmosphere is great, the bar staff help with good service, ordered the chicken wings, excellent value and served really quickly, despite being busy. Breakfast is typical buffet style, all you need but not the best, it's ok. Overall a very pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Be careful about which side of the hotel you are on, easy access from the main road comes withe down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear “garygeorge3”;

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your business trip to our hotel. Your positive comments tell us that you received everything you expected plus a little more. It was great to hear that the room and amenities were relaxing for you and that you had the time to enjoy our O’Malley’s Pub. The staff very much appreciates your kind comments and it shows that our training programs do work. The Executive Chef is also in the process of enhancing our breakfast buffet so that all areas will offer a very pleasant experience for our guests.

Sincerely,
Trish Drews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

IHG Platinum Ambassador. According to the IHG website, it means alot. But not much to this property. From start to finish, the staff were incredible. Professional, friendly and made me feel really welcome. I would come back here in a heart beat... if my girlfriend stayed there... I guess there is no lounge (at least none was mentioned) and its just weathered and tired. the wallpaper in the bathroom (room 252) had coloring all over it, we found hair in the bath tub, the king bed was sagging in the middle, we found a half eaten sandwich under the bed, ..stuff like that. and its just a shame cause everyone there works so hard. The Front Desk staff are awesome and offered me a great rate. Its easy access to the freeways. If my girlfriend didnt stay there for her layovers, I probably wouldnt go out of my way to stay there and probably head back to my platinum status with Hyatt where it means something...

Room Tip: not too sure. the section i was in got a lot of road noise. i was on the ground floor last year an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear “daboogah”;

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay with us. I appreciate your positive remarks regarding our staff and will ensure that the Front Desk staff gets the recognition they deserve. I was disappointed to read of the condition of your sleeping room and apologize as we strive to be the best in our area. Comments such as yours do help us to improve and I personally will review room 252 with our Executive Housekeeper to make sure our standards are well maintained.

Sincerely,
Trish Drews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

I came for a quick getaway and chose to stay here for the convenience of everything. Elaine made sure she anticipated our every need and made our visit even more enjoyable. We ate at O' Malley's and although the food was great and the staff was friendly, service was extremely slow and we got our food arrived and was almost finished before our water came. Overall, I'd still say it was an enjoyable trip. The weatherstrip in our window was hanging down and the ac was making noise but neither of these were hills to die on. Elaine should be the face of the Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed Tues. thru Fri. for a business trip. Company picked up the tab. Just an average stay. Hotel was clean, room was clean. Staff were friendly and accommodating. No complaints. Breakfast buffet in the Tuscan Grill was OK. Personally I thought $15.00 was a bit pricey for what you got. I could have gotten the same breakfast for free at other hotels....plus I don't really care for peppers and onions and they were in everything. (ick!) Eggs, potato's...everything.

The only issue was that the TV kept messing up and would flip back to the "hotel" channel, while you were watching it, not when you turn it back on like they normally do. Got it fixed, but it kept doing it.

Other than that, it was uneventful.

Room Tip: No free breakfast. No Microwave in hotel at all, so don't think you can bring dinner left overs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is quite a noisy hotel (next to a motorway,big A/C turbines in one side,noisy plumbing from the other rooms and bad quality construction: walls,doors and cellings allowing noise to travel).
When asked if another room was available due to the A/C turbines noise I was left talking to myself on the phone by a very arrogant and rude front desk member (Abraham).
Tiered and poor in most areas hotel.

Room Tip: None!All very noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear “LouisVie”;

I was disappointed in reading your recent review of our hotel and apologize for the front desk team member reaction and miscommunication to your request to change rooms. We take all guest comments seriously and will review with the staff the need to ensure we listen completely and follow-up with the guest issue or request. In addition, our chief engineer will also check on the loudness of the AC units you refer to. Thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Sincerely,
Trish Drews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner

Address: 1960 Chain Bridge Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tysons Corner
#6 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#6 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner hotel (formerly the Holiday Inn Tysons Corner) is your ideal choice for Tysons Corner hotel accommodations in McLean, Virginia. The Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner hotel allows quick access to I-495 Capital Beltway, Rt. 66, Dulles International Airport, Reagan National Airport and Washington DC. We are the closest hotel to the Tysons Corner metro station on the Silver Line set to be open July 26th, 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Crowne Plaza Mclean
Crowne Plaza Hotel Mclean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.