We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for room quality” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1960 Chain Bridge Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 14 hotels in Tysons Corner
GreenLeadersGold level
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced for room quality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The location is convenient to Tyson's Corner, McLean and DC, though difficult to get into because of road design. The rooms are adequate but small, as are the bathrooms. This was an old Holiday Inn that was redecorated and renamed. There is a musty odor in the hallways and the rooms, though it appears to be clean. New carpet might improve this issue. The air-conditioning produces a blast of cold air when it comes on, but the room alternates between stuffy and freezing. There is an in-room one cup coffeemaker, but no mini-frig or microwave. It does have a good wi-fi connection. We were told that breakfast was included when we booked but found out the next morning that our booking did not include breakfast as expected. We went elsewhere. The fitness center is very nice, well-equipped and was much appreciated. The pool was a highlight--the one advantage of an old facility is an enormous indoor pool that ranges from 3-8.5 feet, as well as super powerful jets in the hot tub. This made up for the musty smell elsewhere! However, it is only open during limited hours when a lifeguard is on duty. O'Malley's, the restaurant and sports bar, had fairly slow service but good food and beer. The staff in O'Malley's was much friendlier than the staff at the desk or in the Tuscan Grille, where we were turned away for breakfast after the front desk telling us that it was included. Know what you are getting, enjoy the pool and know that you are getting an average room in an older building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Liz8910,

Thank you for your honest feedback. I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience as this will help us to improve future guest stays. I am sorry that your time with us did not meet the standards we strive to achieve. I certainly appreciate your comments about your guestroom and experience in our restaurant and was very happy to hear that you enjoyed our state of the art fitness center and indoor pool.
I hope you will give us another opportunity to show you we value your business and that we can do it right.

Sincerely,
Trish Drews
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    91
    62
    15
    12
See reviews for
42
39
39
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

So many changes have taken place in the past two months. I have been staying at the Crown Plaza Tysons Corner for the past 4 years on business for Hair Club. We have one more stay scheduled in two weeks and that will be the last. I will miss my Crown Plaza (Tysons Corner) family (Cofield, Sue, both Meenas, Abraham, Akrim, and Keith). If i left anyone out please forgive me. I am terrible at remembering names. Personally, I think all of you made my stay there feel like home away from home. I will miss all of you. We love you guys. Alright, enough of the mushy stuff...hehehe. The only hotel amenity missing are microwaves in each room. Other than that i have no complaints. Peace.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for two nights for a business trip. Very good hotel with reseanble price.Everything is bove the avrege, staff are very nice and riendly. Rooms are clean and nicely decoratred. sleeping and bed were comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

No privacy in this hotel, I sit in the lobby playing Ipad while waiting for my friends to pick me up. The front desk STOP most of the person that walk in to hotel lobby and ask them where he or she is going? What room number and what is the last name the person in that room? WHAT??? Really??? I never heard such thing like that but I heard it with my own ears while I'm sitting there.

If this is a cheap MOTEL, I can understand that. But Crowne Plaza is one of the Major Hotel in US. Anyone have the same issue with this hotel? Post it or write a review about that. I think Crowne Plaza Tysons Corners, VA Violated Hotel's Guest Privacy policy by doing that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Thomas W,

I appreciate you reviewing our hotel and we are sorry to give you the impression you spoke about. Our intent is to ensure that the safety and security of our guests is of the utmost importance and this is one of the ways we strive to make sure that our guests are taken care of as many do appreciate our concern.
Sincerely,

Trish Drews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtabula
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Crowne Plaza is a great hotel. Close to great shopping and attractions. We just enjoyed the HUGE indoor pool and the Irish pub. The staff was very friendly and we really enjoyed the weekend. We enjoyed the pub in the hotel as well. The in room coffee was not great and we would have enjoyed better coffee service, but there was a starbucks across the street,

Room Tip: We had a king size bed and it made the room seem a little small. The bathroom had a very small count...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip for a couple of nights. Everything average, except the staff, who are very friendly and helpful. A bit of a motel feel about it, but the rooms are functional and clean and have everything you need. The gym is ok but could do with some new equipment.
The bed was definately comfortable and I had a fantastic night sleep, which after all, is what a hotel is for! The bar is lively most evenings and again the staff are cheery and friendly.

Good location across from the Tyson's one & two malls.

Green Features: They do have a seperate recycling bin in the rooms and public areas, which demonstrates at least of an effort towards environment friendly
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear MD,
Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review of your most recent stay. I was pleased to read that our staff is very friendly and that you were able to enjoy a great nights sleep. We take great pride in ensuring that our guests get what they expect plus a little bit more and your comments regarding our staff show that our training and commitment to excellence are working well.
Again, we sincerely appreciate your comments and look forward to meeting you on your next visit to our area.

Yours in Hospitality,

Trish Drews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico, Indiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our granddaughter left our family mascot at the motel and was so upset. The staff went to great links to find Oscar and return him to Indiana. This wasn't and easy task as he was well hidden, but the staff took the time and effort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner

Address: 1960 Chain Bridge Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tysons Corner
#6 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
#7 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner hotel (formerly the Holiday Inn Tysons Corner) is your ideal choice for Tysons Corner hotel accommodations in McLean, Virginia. The Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner hotel allows quick access to I-495 Capital Beltway, Rt. 66, Dulles International Airport, Reagan National Airport and Washington DC. We are the closest hotel to the Tysons Corner metro station on the Silver Line set to be open July 26th, 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Crowne Plaza Mclean
Crowne Plaza Hotel Mclean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.