We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“more than sufficient for business travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1960 Chain Bridge Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #6 of 15 hotels in Tysons Corner
GreenLeadersGold level
NYC
1 review
“more than sufficient for business travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Nice business center (open 24 hours)...and asst guest services mgt, Cofield W., saved the day by going through extra hoops to print out my presentation in color.

Note to mgmt: the music in the lobby wafts into the business center...perhaps nix the muzak?

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    91
    62
    15
    12
See reviews for
42
39
39
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I have been a regular guest at this hotel for 2 years now. I won't stay anywhere else when I am in the area. The staff is very attentive and I feel like I'm home when I am here. The shuttle drivers are excellent, very friendly and attentive. The proximity to restaurants and shopping in the area is great. The new room service menu is great too! The Tuscan Grille staff is superb. I love this hotel!

Room Tip: I love the executive wing. Bathroom sinks are much larger. The rooms on the pool side can be a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The staff here was very helpful. Rooms clean, climate controlled and the bed the most comfy , I ever slept in. The pool was warm and clean , the hot tub hot and hygenic.

It you crave silence, ask to be put where all the airline employees are billited, as they tend to just want to sleep , during their shifts.

If you are a 'mall zombie" the CP is conveniently located next to two large malls, as in right next store.

The problem, was finding the hotel. First full disclosure. We come from the hotel from a different direction that we intended. Instead of an interstate ^^, we came down on a local county highway 123. But the the Crowne Plaza is located "BEHIND" a Marriot Courtyard. It was night time and we could not see and or locate the establishment, We drove by it three times.

Room Tip: Ask to be roomed where all the international airplane staff are, if you want an area where there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

The address for this hotel is the same as the Flemings restaurant. The problem is that there is also a Courtyard Marriott in the same parking lot, so you can't see the Crown Plaza from Chain Bridge Rd.
The lobby is nice, and the rooms are clean. The free breakfast was nice as well, and had the typical scrambled eggs, sausage and bacon, and sausage and biscuits.
The O'Malley's pub was a nice place for a drink as well.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed in this hotel multiple times since my firm had a special rate with them. The hotel location is good with shuttle to nearby places. However, the hotel room and lobby upkeep is very average. The beds are very uncomfortable. Considering the high room rates, the facilities and services are very average. The restaurant is average. There is weekly manager's reception but most of the guests are not informed about it. There is no complimentary breakfast - unlike other hotels at a comparable rate in the area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CPTysonsCorner, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear SHM01,

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay at our hotel.

We apologize that it was not up to your expectations in regards to the service and facilities. We have shared your comments with our team members and do review guest service expectations and we try to be the best hotel in our area. We also identify areas in our hotel to improve and within 4 months, we will be redoing our lobby areas and entrance to enhance the guest experience.

Again, we appreciate your review and look forward to showing you we can do it right on your next visit to our area.

Sincerely,
Trish Drews General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I can't complain too much about this hotel. It was my first stay with this hotel. The company I work for has a corporate office nearby so I thought I'd try the Crowne over the Hilton. I'll probably just stick with the Crowne due to the friendly staff. My only complaint is the water pressure is very low. Other than than, I'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My company put us up for a night for our annual holiday party, so we decided to make a weekend of it and stay for an additional night. Check in was almost instantaneous. We loaded up a bellman's cart and headed up to our 2nd floor room. The elevator was very cold and felt as if it was exposed to the outdoors, though it wasn't. On entering the room, we found a very clean, nicely appointed room. The only issue was the cart barely fit into the entry way and there were obstacles blocking it from going further in, but we made due. A failrly small room with two double beds is the only drawback, but given the rate and other services, easy to accept. With kids, the first thing they did was check for internet access and the reported free wireless came up like a dream. An alarm clock with iPod dock was a nice touch. Comfy beds with plenty of pillows, great water pressure on the shower and the aromatherapy products rounded out a very nice accomodation. The shuttle to the Metro station was a very nice addition, however, we were under the impression (based upon what we were told by the desk clerk) that if we were to arrive prior to one of the scheduled pick-up times, to call 30 minutes prior. This was not the case, but they did send the shuttle over a little earlier than the scheduled time after a couple of phone calls. The breakfast buffet had the basics and excellent wait staff and the room service was very speedy and the food was very good. The biggest hit, however, was the indoor, heated pool. After a long day of sightseeing in DC, the jacuzzi for mom and dad and the large pool (with lifeguard) for the kids was a great, relaxing way to end the day.

A bit tricky to get into with construction in the area and if you are driving, be sure and plan on the typical DC suburb back ups. Other than that, would easily choose the Crowne Plaza again for future trips.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner

Address: 1960 Chain Bridge Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Tysons Corner
#6 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
#6 Family Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner hotel (formerly the Holiday Inn Tysons Corner) is your ideal choice for Tysons Corner hotel accommodations in McLean, Virginia. The Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner hotel allows quick access to I-495 Capital Beltway, Rt. 66, Dulles International Airport, Reagan National Airport and Washington DC. We are the closest hotel to the Tysons Corner metro station on the Silver Line set to be open in 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner Hotel Mclean
Crowne Plaza Mclean
Crowne Plaza Hotel Mclean

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Tysons Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.