We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall to your Saves list
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8400 Old Courthouse Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22182   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed for one night. Checking in was quick and easy. Room has good size with a newer kitchen. The sheet on the pull out sofa bed was not very clean, with a few color mark. The breakfast room was too small and very crowed. Other than these, a good place for a short stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afiya M, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for feedback! I will be addressing these issues with the appropriate departments to use as a training guide for our staff. Our goal here at the Residence Inn is to have all of our guest have an exceptional stay. We appreciate your business and hope that when you are in the area again you will stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    37
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
26
12
14
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mcdonald, ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This is a great location, close enough to the mall, but away from the traffic! Rooms were clean and comfortable. We were traveling with our dogs, and the staff were very accommodating in placing us in a room close to an exit. The breakfast area was clean and the food was fresh. I really can't say anything bad about our stay. We come to the area about 6 time a year, and this will definitely be our hotel from now on.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The room was a typical Residence layout which is nice. The staff was pleasant. It is great that the food is included for some meals, but to me it was unappetizing and I went elsewhere. The equipment in the Fitness Center was older and not in great working condition. It was hard to get into the hotel during rush hour traffic. I had to go past the hotel and u-turn . I thought the internet was slow.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Typically American in their attitude to service, nothing is too much trouble.

An excellent sized room, with bed a decent sized couch and a small, fully equipped kitchen.

Free WiFi, as much free coffee as you can consume. Breakfast and dinner (Monday to Thursday) included in the room rate.

A little further out than some hotels in the area, but price and quality more than make up for this small shortcoming.

I Highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afiya M, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Cisspuk

Thank you for your feedback!

I am happy to hear that you were provided excellent customer service from the staff . We take pride in our property and our Brand. Visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I would really give this hotel 4.5 stars but didn't have any major complaints to warrant knocking a star off.

Breakfast was well-stocked and there were plenty of options: eggs (with sides of salsa, cheddar cheese, tabasco sauce), sausage patties, potatoes, orange juice, frozen blueberries, granola, oatmeal, bagels, toast, muffins, coffee, yogurt, and probably a few other items that I'm forgetting. Breakfast was crowded on both nights of our stay but there was always one open table for the grabbing.

The rooms were beautiful and while not overly spacious for an extended stay hotel (Homewood Suites seems to have an edge on square footage), it was large enough to feel like an apartment studio. I was impressed with the decor. Our rooms had some nice pictures on the wall and the furniture and color tones were stylish and bright but not to the point of being garish.

The two individuals at the front desk that we interacted with were not the most hospitable that we've encountered but certainly pleasant. Parking was never a problem and while the hotel is not within walking distance of Tysons 1 or 2, my phone GPS estimates only a 3-4 min drive to either location.

I never got the impression that the hotel was trying to skimp on costs. They provide Paul Mitchell toiletries for one.

Only real complaint is the loud heating/cooling unit in our room. It was quiet at some points but then revved up every once awhile in the middle of the night (to the point that it woke me up around 5-6am). It's likely that this problem isn't present in every room so no real harm done there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afiya M, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Luke P

Thank you taking the time to review our property! I am glad that we had a chance to WOW you on your stay with us. We take pride in our property and I will be sure to share your feedback with the staff!

Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saudi arabia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is an excellent hotel. All staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The breakfast and evening meals which are complimentary were really excellent.

Negatives:
Although most area hotels have a shuttle to local venues within 2-3 miles, this hotel only had it during morning hours and afternoon hours and Monday through Thursday. So how about the rest of the time?

Although it's name implies proximity to the Tysons Corner Mall, it is about an 8 block walk, part of which is very pleasant through back streets, but there is a really busy highway which must be crossed, and the Tyson's Galleria is even farther. This would be too much in the heat of the summer or the cold of the winter.

There limited eating and shopping choices closeby, so one really needs to have their own car.

The swimming pool has restricted hours, probably due to the requirement for a lifeguard being on duty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afiya M, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Kursan

Thank you for your feedback! I happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I noticed your concerns about the distance to the mall. Even though we are about a mile away from the mall is not easy to walk. We do provide a shuttle that we are looking to extend the hours during the summer months and winter months so that our leisure guests have a chance to enjoy this amenity that we offer.
Thank you again for your feed back!
Afiya Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manassas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I have stayed at this location several times now and have had a nice experience each time. It was at a convenient location from my work and Wolf Trap Performance Arts Center. During the summer concert season, it has become my home away from home. If there was something I could think of that could have made it better, it would have to be that there were more than just one bath towel in my suite. Other than, it was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afiya M, General Manager at Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Lisa T

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your continued business. I'm happy to hear that we continue to provide great customer service on each of your visits with us. We have taken action on your comment about the extra bath towels. You are correct with the suites being a large size we have increased the number of towels to 3 each of the guest suites. Thank you for your feedback
Afiya Miles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall

Address: 8400 Old Courthouse Road, Tysons Corner, VA 22182
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn by Marriott® Tysons Corner Mall hotel is ideally located in Northern Virginia's fastest growing corporate market. Both Reagan National and Dulles International airports are easily accessible. The Dunn Loring METRO station is just minutes from the hotel, giving easy access to Washington DC & its many attractions and government offices. Our beautiful Tysons Corner hotel boasts comfortable spacious suites offering a fully equipped kitchen; plenty of space to relax; and a space to set up an office while you're on the road. Guests are minutes from Kennedy Center, Smithsonian, Arlington National Cemetery, Mount Vernon, the Pentagon and Washington National Cathedral. Shopping near the Residence Inn Tysons Corner includes Tysons Corner Shopping Center and Tysons Galleria. The hotel offers guests a complimentary dinner which is served Mon-Thurs with beer/wine and a complimentary full hot breakfast buffet is served daily. We are waiting for you at the Residence Inn by Marriott® Tysons Corner Mall hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall Hotel Vienna
Residence Inn Vienna
Vienna Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Tysons Corner Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.