We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guest rooms but will pass on the Executive suite for a special occasion” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tysons Corner Marriott

Save Saved
You added Tysons Corner Marriott to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Tysons Corner Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8028 Leesburg Pike, Tysons Corner, VA 22182   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Savings - 20% Off
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Tysons Corner
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great guest rooms but will pass on the Executive suite for a special occasion”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

When we got married recently, our wedding party and guests stayed here. I had the opportunity to stay in 3 different rooms. I will say I loved the junior suite, it was my favorite. It was cozy with enough room for all our needs and the shower head was awesome, providing just the right amount of power and warmth. When I moved with my new hubby to the presidential suite, I felt a bit let down. This room was much less romantic, better suited for a business luncheon than a wedding night. For the price, I wasn't feeling the value. :-(. Also, i got the impression that this room had yet to be renovated at the level o the others i have the opportunity to experience. This room's shower head was different than the other 2 and definitely mow of the se caliber. I found the staff friendly and accommodating, helping out where requested and we liked the shuttle service that would take you places within a 2 mile radius. The bar was open for my guests when we returned from our reception and Eve was great at helping my friends find wine on the menu that they found both enjoyable and affordable. The breakfast serving team was especially astute and diligent; remembering our juice and coffee preferences from day to day as we enjoyed a nice buffet complete with fruit and an omelet and waffle station. According to one of the shuttle drivers, The hotel was unusually full over the weekend, and as we left, I wondered if our party had strained some of the staff's capacity.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    99
    41
    19
    3
See reviews for
58
40
16
61
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Allen, Virginia
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
188 helpful votes 188 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Why do people say it isn't that good? I stayed here for a night, and it's not that bad. Really close to on the border (made me happy) and Tyson corner mall. Pool wasn't bad, not very deep, the whirlpool was really cool when it started to make bubbles. The people at the front desk was nice. Even though we were next to the pool, there wasn't much sound. Room was a decent size, bathrooms were a bit tiny but okay overall. Near a metro so you can go to D.C.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The good - it is in a great location adjacent to the Tysons Corner mall, great restaurants and easy freeway access next to the beltway (and soon, the Metro direct to DC). The bad - overpriced, mediocre rooms and exercise facilities that are too small. The ugly - poor service. When I alerted the front desk of a foul smell in my bathroom and asked to be relocated, they declined and only sent up a handyman with a spray bottle of Simple Green to mask the odor. Clearly the bathroom wasn't clean. The management only seems to cater to large corporate accounts (MicroStrategy and Emirates Air). Our small company has been booking rooms here for our out-of-town guests (~200 nights/year) and I've personally stayed here over 75 nights last year. Surprisingly we can't seem to get lower than rack rates (now over $300/night) , free parking or any attention. Don't let the new lobby fool you, the property is in decline and the management is only focused on revenues. You're better off at the Ritz Carlton (for the same rate) or the McLean Hilton if you want to be in a good hotel in Tysons Corner

Room Tip: If you want a good room, stay somewhere else. If you must stay here, get a room away from the eleva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley K, Public Relations at Tysons Corner Marriott, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay. I understand you have met with our Director of Hotel Operations and are happy with the response and will continue to choose the Tysons Corner Marriott.

Please let us know if we may assist further. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,
Ashley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is in a great location within walking distance (~10 minutes) to shopping. They offer a free shuttle to shopping that worked great to get us there, but never showed back up to get us. Luckily it was not a bad walk. The rooms were TINY and the walls were fairly thin, so it was very loud and cramped. They did have complimentary iPads in the lobby to use, and a pool. The service was not great on Friday, but excellent on Sat. when they learned that we had had issues with noise, the shuttle and our cable had not worked.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for one night to shop and dine in the Tysons area. It is conveniently located on Rt. 7 right off of the 495. The outside looked a little dated but the lobby and the rooms seemed to be renovated. We wanted to stay here to get a shuttle to the mall so we could eat and drink without having to drive back. The van is on a first come first serve basis so when we saw it waiting outside we thought we were in luck but the driver was no where to be found. After waiting about 10 mins I asked the front desk to look into the location of the driver and they told us he was on his break and we had to wait another 20 mins. We didn't want to wait and ended up driving to the mall. The room was nice, it had a mini fridge and a decent view of the mall. We had a standard room with a king bed. We ate breakfast at the buffet located near the lobby which was convenient. They had a good selection and freshly made omelet. Overall, I would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I've become a fairly regular visitor to DC these days and have tried several hotels in Tysons Corner since it is a great place to shop and an upscale part of our nations capital. This hotel treated me like a King on my first stay at this property. Thomas, the front desk manager displayed excellent customer service skills by calling me two nights before my stay to confirm the pool hours for the 4th of July and appreciate how he took time out of his schedule to make the call. It goes a long way in my book! He also upgraded me into a room that met my fickle parameters and the executive lounge surpassed my expectations with hors d'oeuvres, drinks and offers some wonderful views of the DC skyline and it's open everyday which surprised me because most of these executive lounges are closed on weekends or offer just snacks and water. Thomas also went out of his way to get me a shuttle to and from the Metro Stop because I was going to a baseball game on the 4th and he coordinated the timing with the driver both ways and made sure that my stay went well. The rooms are nicely appointed and enjoyed the comfy bed and flat screen TV and the housekeeping was inpeccable.

My only flaw with the hotel is that the pool and hot tub are in dire need of a touchup. Paint is peeling around the hot tub, jets were not pumping out water all the time and the pool area is peeling on the edges. However, I am avid swimmer and always stay at a hotel with a pool and it sufficiently met my needs. Location is a huge asset with the hotel because it is located off the Beltway and within walking distance of the largest shopping center in the DC Metro Area.

On my next visit to DC, I will make this #1 location to stay as long as the rates are favorable and they have some great rates and when I found out about the executive lounge, I thought this surpasses the Westin and Hilton in the area!

Room Tip: I enjoyed facing the Beltway but if you want a quieter location and view, stay on the side facing Ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for four nights during the July 4th weekend. The staff was very friendly both at the front desk and in the restaurant area. Our rate included the breakfast buffet which was very good although the selection was the same on all four days. Lola makes very good omelets and she is very friendly. As for the room it was comfortable although very small. It could use a few more drawers to put your things in and a bit of room to cross behind if somebody is sitting in the chair at the desk . The bed had plenty of pillows and the mattress was very comfortable which we appreciated after a long day walking in DC. The bathroom was very clean, the only thing was that we didn't get the same amount of toiletries or towels every day. One day we were left without bath soap and another day only two bath towels and no tissue box, other than that service was good. Room was a little noisier than I had hoped but that was because we were too close to the elevator. If I stay here again I would request a room further away from the elevator. Parking was ample and convenient. There area has a lot of places to eat at as well as the mall across the street. We were able to walk to eat on the first night we got there, area feels very safe. It is roughly a 5 minute ride to the Metro station which was very convenient for us since we wanted to take the train into the city. Overall a very pleasant weekend stay, I would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants to stay outside of the DC area but still have the convenience of getting into the city.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the elevators, the "ding" is annoying at times as well as the cons...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tysons Corner Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tysons Corner Marriott

Also Known As:
Tysons Corner Marriott Hotel Vienna
Tysons Corner Marriott Hotel
Marriott Tysons Corner
Marriott Hotel Tysons Corner
Marriott Vienna
Vienna Marriott
Address: 8028 Leesburg Pike, Tysons Corner, VA 22182
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 hotels in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tysons Corner Marriott 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tysons Corner Marriott, where our newly renovated hotel will delight your senses and inspire creativity. Minutes from I-495, I-95 and Routes 7 and 123, this Vienna, VA hotel is near fashionable shopping and vibrant business communities. Located near Tysons Corner Center and Tysons Galleria, our hotel is within reach of government offices and attractions such as Wolf Trap Center for Performing Arts, Great Falls Park, Washington DC monuments and museums, and Old Town Alexandria. The ideal setting for a wedding reception or business meeting in the DC area, our hotel's glittering event spaces and dedicated event professionals set the stage for flawless meetings and celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Tysons Corner Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tysons Corner Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.