We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean rooms...better for business than pleasure” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tysons Corner Marriott

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tysons Corner Marriott to your Saves list
Tysons Corner Marriott
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8028 Leesburg Pike, Tysons Corner, VA 22182   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$25 Daily Credit
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Tysons Corner
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great location, clean rooms...better for business than pleasure”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here this past weekend as part of a wedding. We got an excellent rate on the rooms since we were part of the wedding block. The hotel rooms were clean and modern, and our shower had great water pressure. The rooms include an iPhone dock, so we could charge our phones and listen to music at the same time. The hotel is convenient to several major highways in Northern Virginia, making it easy to get to and from airports. It is also less than a mile from Tyson's Corner Mall.
This Marriott is in the heart of one of the major business hubs in Northern Virginia. That being said, it is a hotel better suited to business travelers than tourists. Everything cost something--nothing was included in the price of the hotel. I tried to connect to wi-fi from my phone, and I was prompted to pay $12.95--no thanks. Also, on Saturday night after the wedding, about 20 of us attempted to go back to Shula's, the hotel bar, to continue the festivities, and we were turned away well before typical closing time in Virginia. Friday night we spent time there after the rehearsal dinner, and they were understaffed, resulting in harried, rude service. Who under-staffs a hotel bar on a holiday weekend? I don't get it...they missed out on making quite a bit of money.
Oh and lastly: their check-in time is 4 PM, which I find to be very late. However, we were able to check in at 1 PM, which was nice. The front desk staff was courteous and gracious. Parking is convenient but costs $6 a day.
Bottom line: nice hotel at a fair price, but best suited for business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    131
    53
    21
    5
See reviews for
78
53
17
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hazleton, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We are here for one night on a weekend using the AAA rate that includes free internet, free parking, and free breakfast. So far our impression is not positive on several items. I will list the pros first and then the cons.

Pros:
Nice Pool Area on the 2nd Floor
Good location close to 495 and the Tyson's Corner Mall

Cons:
Busy and not enough employees or maybe they just move really slow.
Called for the Van to pick us up at mall they told us 10 minutes it took almost 30.
Called for extra towels and pillows since my online request was not honored and it took over 30 minutes.
Bathroom so small and no fan. Very wet and humid after three people took showers.

I think this hotel is perfect for business travels or for a couple. It is not good for families.

We stayed at the Homewood Suites last year for a week in Falls Church and the Suites are huge, the internet, parking, and breakfast are ALWAYS free.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I stopped at the hotel in the middle of a long road trip. I'll begin by mentioning that the location is excellent. The hotel is adjacent to Tysons Corner Center adjacent to the Beltway.

I was greeted by a very courteous front desk clerk. Fortunately there wasn't a conference going on so the hotel appeared to be fairly empty. Unfortunately for me, despite my Marriott Gold Elite status an upgrade was not available.

When I arrived at the room I was shocked at how small it was! In fact, the room was much smaller than most Courtyard rooms that I've stayed in. The bathroom was incredibly small. I could barely stretch out my arms without touching the walls. The room was clean but the furnishings were okay. But again, the room's small size was a big disappointment.

Instead of eating at the hotel I opted for the restaurants next door at the mall. Walking to the small is incredibly easy. One can avoid walking along the highway by taking a shortcut though the office park behind the hotel.

Parking was great. There is a self-park gated parking garage below the hotel.

Finally, the hotel's room rate was a great value. I paid about $80 before taxes which included parking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I've stayed at this Marriott several times now and it's my regular hotel for when I stay in the area. Nice restaurant, Shula's, in the lobby and it's got a very convenient location.

Concierge club is nice too and has a good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Rooms are small but as a Platinum member, I was upgraded to a junior suite that had an alcove sitting area with TV, which was a bit strange as the bedroom's TV could have swiveled to watch in the alcove.

Room was clean and well appointed, A/C blew strong and cold and Concierge Lounge was fine with morning breakfast having rotating main items. Gym was small but had basic equimpment, upgright bicycle did not have straps to keep your feet on the pedal, though. Indoor pool was off of the gym.

Overall fine for a few nights, but I believe that a family would certainly feel cramped in the room.

Overnight parking is $6 but for a suburban location, it should be complimentary.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

The Tyson's Corner Marriott is a fantastic place to stay. The hotel is modern, clean, and up to date. You can get a great steak at Shula's steak house located across the lobby from the registration desk. One negative - they charge $6 per day to park. The staff at the Tyson's Corner Marriott work wonderfully as a team to make you feel welcome and appreciated. The rooms are excellently appointed however, a tad on the small size. One area where Marriott excels is in consistency - you will be pleasantly surprised. Conveniently located near The Tyson's Galleria and The Tyson's Mall this hotel is close to some of the finest shopping locations on the east coast. If you are fortunate enough to have access to the concierge lounge you will appreciate their nicely appointed lounge with breakfast and evening service Sunday evening through Friday morning. The fitness center has new high quality Life Fitness Treadmills, Elliptical trainers, Bikes with minimal dumbbells and universal equipment.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My second time staying here and I absolutely love this hotel! The rooms are very comfortable, and the beds are amazing, you just want to stay in bed! The entire staff delivers optimum service. The engineer, Kho was helpful, and always smiling. Srey, one of the breakfast attendants, was fantastic! After our first day, she remembered the table we liked, and our drink orders. Wish I could start every morning with a warm greeting from her! This hotel is top notch in service, cleanliness, and comfort!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tysons Corner Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tysons Corner Marriott

Address: 8028 Leesburg Pike, Tysons Corner, VA 22182
Location: United States > Virginia > Fairfax County > Tysons Corner
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Tysons Corner
#9 Business Hotel in Tysons Corner
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tysons Corner Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tysons Corner Marriott, where an inviting atmosphere is surrounded by sleek designs, high-tech amenities and attentive service. Conveniently situated near fashionable Tysons Corner shopping, our hotel's location is just minutes from I-495, I-95 and Routes 7 and 123 so guests have easy access to business and leisure destinations including Tysons Corner Center, Tysons Galleria, Wolf Trap, Great Falls Park, Old Town Alexandria, government offices and Washington, D.C. Area monuments and museums. A pristine setting for wedding receptions and business meetings, our Tysons Corner, VA hotel's sophisticated event venues feature innovative spaces and the dedicated services of event professionals and catering staff to set the stage for flawless meetings and memorable celebrations. With our on-site restaurant Shutters Bar & Kitchen, a 24-hour fitness center, indoor pool and business services, guests will find everything needed for a remarkable hotel experience in Tysons Corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Tysons Corner Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tysons Corner Marriott Hotel Vienna
Marriott Tysons Corner
Marriott Hotel Tysons Corner
Marriott Vienna
Vienna Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tysons Corner Marriott, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.