We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a deal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Country Cookin'

Country Cookin'
2775 Lee Hwy, Troutville, VA 24175-6325
540-992-5512
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 17 Restaurants in Troutville
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We ate here 2 times. You can have the salad bar, which offers salads, soup, and desserts, all for $6.99. For $1.50 more, you can get an entree with the salad, soup, and dessert bar. I had a lovely piece of grilled salmon both nights,

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hil47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Opp, Alabama
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“A small chain, but an interesting one”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

What a great, FAST meal! Order anything on the diverse but not overwhelming menu and the salad/side dish bar comes with it. They had pink lemonade, loved it! Easy, yummy, and filling, a wonderful travel meal stop. Calming, relaxing decor helps soothe freeway-frazzled nerves. Our server was so friendly, personable, we really enjoyed her. Ladies room was very clean.

DH said the country fried steak was good, I enjoyed my shrimp, fish and onion rings. I also made a salad that had all of the things I like, and tasted most of the sides. All very tasty, and nothing looked or tasted old or leftover from a previous day, and definitely as hot or cold as it should be. Prices a little under the chain-type all-you-can-eat places, bonus.

We try to not patronize chain stores but a small local one like this is fun, especially when done so uniquely and and pleasantly. This is NOT the kind of restaurant that makes it hard to determine if indeed one is on a vacation or business trip in a different place than they've been before. This restaurant doesn't necessarily embody Virginia, that I'm aware, but absolutely not a ubiquitously boring entity.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank purpleinopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Bush, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Hard to figure out how to get in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Could see the sign from the highway but all the entrance signs were unlit. Drove around in circles trying to figure out how to get to the place!!! Trusted the Trip Advisor reviews and they were spot on. Nice hot and cold salad bar...not the Golden Corral variety but enough comfort food for a weary traveler.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Old2DieYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie C, Public Relations Manager at Country Cookin', responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for your visit and taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. We value guest feedback, both positive and negative.

We apologize for your difficulty finding your way into our parking lot. The sign with an arrow indicating the entrance road is usually lit at night. We are sorry that it was malfunctioning the night you visited, but we do appreciate you sticking it out to figure out where the turn was and are delighted that you enjoyed your meal.

We hope too see you again soon! Thanks for your review!

Angie Covington
Marketing Director, Country Cookin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Sunday Brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Was in the area and need a place for breakfast. Country Cookin' filled the bill with a nice breakfast buffet. All the standards were available and were fresh. There was someone making omelettes to order as well as a station where you could make your own waffles.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MusiclKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
469 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Good solid food at reasonble prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and dropped in about 1 pm on a Sunday for lunch. We have not eaten in a Country Cookin restaurant for nearly 20 years, so we were kind of testing the waters.

We were quickly seated and given a menu. The menu features a variety of main courses ranging in price from $7 - $15. After selecting you main course, you are invited to gorge on their salad/vegetable/dessert bar. Our total tab came to $23 including tax.

Other than ordering you main dish, it's basically self service. The restaurant was clean, there were plenty of items to select from from the salad/vegetable bar. We could have made a meal of it alone.

The basic style of the restaurant has not changed in 20 years, but we were pleasantly surprised with the large offerings of food, cleanliness, and attention of the staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ernie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Cookin' also viewed

 

Been to Country Cookin'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing