We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good solid food at reasonble prices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Cookin'

Country Cookin'
2775 Lee Hwy, Troutville, VA 24175-6325
540-992-5512
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Troutville
Dining options: Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Christiansburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
402 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Good solid food at reasonble prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My wife and dropped in about 1 pm on a Sunday for lunch. We have not eaten in a Country Cookin restaurant for nearly 20 years, so we were kind of testing the waters.

We were quickly seated and given a menu. The menu features a variety of main courses ranging in price from $7 - $15. After selecting you main course, you are invited to gorge on their salad/vegetable/dessert bar. Our total tab came to $23 including tax.

Other than ordering you main dish, it's basically self service. The restaurant was clean, there were plenty of items to select from from the salad/vegetable bar. We could have made a meal of it alone.

The basic style of the restaurant has not changed in 20 years, but we were pleasantly surprised with the large offerings of food, cleanliness, and attention of the staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    16
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
104 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“great food for a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We had supper here on a Saturday evening. Busy, but not too crowded. Most food is served buffet style, so you can pick and try any of MANY foods (too many to try). I had chopped sirloin at $8.49, with an unlimited soup, salad, and desert bar. Delicious choices. Yes, I am so full. This was an excellent restaurant for us, on our trip through Virginia. I wish this restaurant was duplicated all over the U.S.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

For one price you got a regular meal with hot bar/salad bar. The food was served quickly and it was very good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island
Level Contributor
80 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“This is the best counrty cookin ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I have read some reviews that were good and some bad all over Va. Coming back to the highway I spotted the sign. It was the best choice ever. Not only are the waitress(Taylor) helpful but very pleasant. The food was filling with many salad bar choices, both hot and cold. This was an excellent choice. We were so full we skipped dessert.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dont Waste Your Time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I walked into this location for breakfast. We say the remains of the previous nights dinner on the floor. The buffet did not look good at all. We walked out without ordering. Use your own judgement. We did.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Country Cookin' also viewed

 

Been to Country Cookin'? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Cookin', register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.