We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home-style cooking with great taste” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwood Restaurant

Greenwood Restaurant
8176 Lee Hwy, Troutville, VA 24175
(540) 992-3550
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 17 Restaurants in Troutville
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home-style cooking with great taste”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I just discovered this restaurant and have been there twice this week! We had breakfast on our first visit and lunch with friends on our second visit. When I go out to breakfast, I want sausage gravy and biscuits and Greenwood is the best I've found lately in our area. There was plenty of sausage in the gravy which looked like it had started with a properly made roux (as opposed to the basic white flour paste-like substance some restaurants serve). The home fries I must say were a bit greasy and limp for my taste. My husband had eggs, hashbrowns, toast and bacon. The hashbrowns were better than the home fries. The day we had lunch there, all 4 of us had completely different items. The mac & cheese was wonderful as were the cornbread biscuits. Everyone enjoyed their choices. We also indulged in desserts which are daily at the restaurant. Lemon cake, apple pie, pumpkin pie, peach cobbler - we tried them all and were very happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReikiForAllBeings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Country Ham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

They really know how to soak the ham and get the salt level down to an acceptable level. I just went for Breakfast obviously, but would go for any other meal here. Favorite of the locals whom I visit in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TomWhitePelham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunssum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Off the interstate, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were driving north on I-81 and needed something to eat. Jumped off at exit 156 and stopped at the place close to the exit. Didn't like what we saw and followed the signs down to Rt 11 (about 2 miles) to The Greenwood Restaurant. Thank goodness we did. Great little place, full of locals coming for lunch after Sunday service. Old fashion southern menu (you can still get a large (4 choices) or regular (3 choices) vegetable platter. Food was obviously homemade and tasted great. However, don't expect it to shown up immediately. They have to cook it, so you will be waiting a bit. Desserts were even better. Highly recommended

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J&L_US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good Counrty Food and reasonable prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It has been a while since we visited Greenwood Rest., so we took our Daughter, Son-in-law and grandkids for dinner. Good down home food is their specialty. The Kids menu is good and has good variety.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank reolha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Home Cooked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

if you are looking for a home cooked meal then this restaurant would be for you. There service is great and the atmosphere just as good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank petty2bein07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Greenwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing