We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Country Ham” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greenwood Restaurant

Greenwood Restaurant
8176 Lee Hwy, Troutville, VA 24175
(540) 992-3550
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Restaurants in Troutville
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Country Ham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

They really know how to soak the ham and get the salt level down to an acceptable level. I just went for Breakfast obviously, but would go for any other meal here. Favorite of the locals whom I visit in the area.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    5
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brunssum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Off the interstate, but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

We were driving north on I-81 and needed something to eat. Jumped off at exit 156 and stopped at the place close to the exit. Didn't like what we saw and followed the signs down to Rt 11 (about 2 miles) to The Greenwood Restaurant. Thank goodness we did. Great little place, full of locals coming for lunch after Sunday service. Old fashion southern menu (you can still get a large (4 choices) or regular (3 choices) vegetable platter. Food was obviously homemade and tasted great. However, don't expect it to shown up immediately. They have to cook it, so you will be waiting a bit. Desserts were even better. Highly recommended

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville, Virginia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Counrty Food and reasonable prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

It has been a while since we visited Greenwood Rest., so we took our Daughter, Son-in-law and grandkids for dinner. Good down home food is their specialty. The Kids menu is good and has good variety.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buchanan, Virginia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Home Cooked”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

if you are looking for a home cooked meal then this restaurant would be for you. There service is great and the atmosphere just as good.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly folks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

My husband and I just came from Greenwood and it was wonderful. I guess it depends on what you were raised on but the food we had was just like momma made it. The corn fritters were delicious, the pork chops were great..my mother had fried oysters and loved them. The potato salad was yummy. I have nothing but great things to say about the place.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenwood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Greenwood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenwood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.