We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our Expectations!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Troutville

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Troutville to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Troutville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2545 Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Troutville, VA 24175   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Troutville
Dunkirk, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded our Expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2010

We have been selecting Comfort Inn as our first choice when travelling on the road because of the value, the breakfast and the aesthetics as compared to, say Super 8 or Motel 6, which are OK for economy accommodations, but we found Comfort Inn to be a few cuts above in many respects - for an affordable price. The Troutville Comfort Inn, however, provided us an exceedingly delightful stay, offering newly decorated and beautifully appointed rooms, comfortable beds (which is important to people like us with bad backs) and a breakfast selection I just can't say enough about. This is NOT your typical complimentary "motel Continental Breakfast" which often consists of coffee, tea, instant cocoa and a few things to dunk! The assortment of hot and cold options was appetizing and delicious. The fresh Belgian Waffles are, of course, an absolute treat but there were: French Toast, pancakes, the fixin's for hot Sausage & Egg Muffins, hot & cold cereals, fresh fruit, bagels & muffins, Danish pastries, juices and hot beverages. The staff was polite, friendly, and accommodating in directing guests to local restaurants, etc. We feltt the very pleasant sense of people intent on providing "good service" - a commodity very hard to come by these days. We would definitely look for this hotel again when we travel south. Thank you, CI - you're doing it right!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    41
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
41
42
12
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010 via mobile

I just happened to stop here driving through to Texas from Washington DC. Normally I'd check out on trip adviser any hotel I'm going to but we were driving late at night I just picked this off my GPS. It was a awesome hotel Brandy at the front desk was a sweetheart very friendly and effecient. All of our room were brand new. From top to bottom all new decor beds furniture. As a matter of fact there were huge rolls of new carpet in the hallway as they were totally remoledling this comfort. I have to say they did a outstanding job.

Then there was a awesome breakfast eggs bacon sausage waffles potatoes fresh fruit and the guys really liked the sausage pancakes on a stick.

I'm so glad I stoped without reading reviews or I would have passed this gem by. It may have been bad in the past bit it is all brand new now.

Also like to add they have great parking for my truck and trailer

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP Of Operations at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Thank you for your positive comments concerning your recent stay at the Comfort Inn in Troutville, VA. The hotel recently completed a full renovation of all guest rooms and public spaces. A new elevator has been installed and a large breakfast room has been added to the front lobby. All rooms come complete with 32" televisions, microwaves, refrigerators and coffee makers, just to mention a few of the amenities. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving your lodging needs in the future.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, VA
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

I stayed one night at this motel. The staff was friendly and the room was OK except for the damp, musty smell. The included breakfast was OK, but do not expect much.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hudson valley, new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2008

We stayed here on the way to the beach. It was pretty clean, but the bathroom was very tired looking and a little dingy. The pool was tiny and the location is far from scenic. Breakfast left a lot to be desired. However, it was quiet. If you are just looking for a very basic place to stay for not too much money, this is an OK choice.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2008

Very quick to get to off the highway, but not sure you would want to. Don't let the new front desk fool you, behind it, where you stay, needs a total upgrade. I had a dingy, smelly room that was located in between two rooms that had dogs in them...barking dogs.

Free internet that was easy to use, lots of quick places to eat nearby.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

I stayed there after a long day of driving and fighting NYC traffic. Found this place in a coupon book and decided to stay there since breakfast was included. Here are the pros and cons:

Pros:
clean comfortable beds with 4 pillows each ( maybe feather)
TVs with extensive cable channels
easy to operate clock radios
fridge and microwave in room
climate control unit very uniform with temperature despite it cycling on and off frequently( it was 10 degrees outdoors)
night light integrated with entry light with separate switch
extensive breakfast bar selections( had microwavable omelets, eggs, sausage patties, burritos and hash brown patties.) also biscuits and gravy and of course the cereals and donuts and ltd fresh fruit items.
Easy off and on to interstate 81
interior corridors
There is a computer in lobby for checking emails for those who don't have lap top or blackberry

Cons:
curtain would barely get to wall and letting in glaring outdoor lights( had to use a large book to hold curtain next to wall )
smoking rooms need to be in a total separate area.(some choice hotels are going smokefree)
had to plunge toilet (problem solved)
window not very airtight

This hotel has appeared to have had some renovations. There is a second floor without an elevator and there is a separate truck parking lot. My room did not smell of any smoke despite the smoking rooms down the hall from where I was staying. The owner should consider relocating the smoking rooms to the back of the hotel. This is an overall decent hotel for a quick off the road break. would come again.

  • Liked — breakfast bar
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

Stayed one night on 1/24/07. Cancelled stay at same motel on return trip due to dissatisfaction.

Motel in need of refurbishment, is dingy in inside areas although outside appeared attractive. Carpets are worn in places.

Corridors smelled strongly of smoking even in non-smoking areas, although our non-smoking room did not have the odor.

Room floor appeared to have not been vacuumed and bedding was questionable, did not look crisp and clean. Electrical cover plate was missing off frequently used receptable.

  • Liked — It was where I needed to stop.
  • Disliked — Terrible smoking odor.
  • Stayed January 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Troutville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Troutville

Address: 2545 Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Troutville, VA 24175
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Troutville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Troutville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Troutville 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn Troutville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troutville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Troutville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.