We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort Inn Troutville - Very nice for the money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Troutville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Troutville to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Troutville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2545 Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Troutville, VA 24175   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort Inn Troutville - Very nice for the money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed in the Comfort Inn in Troutville, VA over the weekend for a softball tournament. Our group booked about a dozen rooms so we received the group rate of $90 a night. We checked in 7-19-14 at about 6PM. The process was a little slow and we didn't get the feeling the young lady behind the desk really wanted to be there. Our room was clean and neat upon arrival. After a long day of softball our daughter was ready for bed so we didn't spend much time outside our room that evening. The pool was very small but clean and wet according to some of the other players. Our receipt was placed under our door while we were enjoying a good nights sleep. The double beds were clean and fairly comfortable. Each room has a refrigerator and a microwave. In the morning our daughter went to breakfast and had a waffle she made herself and seemed to enjoy. One suggestion would be that the breakfast time be extended beyond 9AM as some folks like to sleep a little later. We dropped our room key cards at the counter and were on our way Sunday morning. For us it was a very clean, comfortable nights sleep at a reasonable price!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am sorry the check in process was slow and I will speak to the desk clerk that was working that night. I am glad that you found your room to be both clean and neat. We are happy you enjoyed a good nights sleep before the game. Glad breakfast was enjoyed I will see what can be done about the hours. If there is anything I may do to assist you please feel free to contact either by phone 540-992-5600 or email gm.va413@choicehotels.com. Until next time.

Melinda Shelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    48
    12
    5
    1
See reviews for
42
47
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Last minute travel plans led us to require a night's rest in the Roanoke area, so I did some research and found the Comfort Inn of Troutville. It was a very good experience, with only a few minor issues:
Pro - Great rate, easy check-in (though late!), requested extra pillows and got them, king bed super comfortable, as were pillows, great TV and fridge. Late check-out was easy-peasy.
Cons-the bathroom smelled a bit unpleasant when we first came in, it is a handicapped room, so I think it would be sensible for the housekeeper to put the shower head in the lowest position when she is done cleaning (as the wheelchair-bound guest would then be able to reach it), the black-out curtain lets light from parking lot in at the bottom; No freezer in the fridge, which meant I couldn't get my ice paks cold enough for icing my shoulder and back; and the staff were chatting about management within earshot of the guests...not very professonal! The pool looked nice, but was really tiny, just an fyi.

With the exception of these minor issues, however, we enjoyed our (brief) stay and slept very well in the super comfy bed! We missed the free breakfast, but the coffee was good and we made our way across the parking lot to the Waffle House and had a decent breakfast there. Since there was a big back-up on the 81 North when we were getting ready to leave, we decided to go uphill instead and got on the Blue Ridge Parkway....beautiful, peacful drive, no traffic! Then we got back on the 81 further north and avoided the traffic problems. Problem solved!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am glad you had an easy check in and out experience and the you enjoyed the bed and pillows. I will speak to the housekeeping staff about the placement of the shower head and I will look into the curtain. I am sorry there is not freezer in the room but we would have gladly placed your items in the breakfast freezer for you as we have done in the past for other guest. I will also be speaking to the staff concerning their chatting. I hope that if you are ever in the area again you will certainly think of us for your lodging needs. If there is anything I can do to help please feel free to contact me by phone 540-992-5600 or email gm.va413@choicehotels.com. Where ever your travels take you may they always be safe and happy.

Melinda Shelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I recently stayed in the Troutville Comfort Inn for the night to break up my driving. I was told my assigned room was changed because there were a lot of teens at the hotel. I assumed that meant I was given a room in another section. The check in process went smoothly and I was given directions to my room. The room was a good size and I liked that there were firm and soft pillows to choose from. The rubber ducky in the bathroom was a cute touch. The water pressure was aqequate so no complaints with that. The walls are quite thin though as about the point I was trying to fall asleep, is when I figured out my room was near the teens. They were racing in the hallway with the luggage carts. The breakfast room is good sized but my waffle lacked flavor and I didn't finish it. So I'd suggest grabbing a bite elsewhere. Checkout here was slow as the desk clerk had disappeared. When she returned I then had to wait for her to checkout the others before me. Since all of us had already paid I am still puzzled what took so long. I doubt I'd stay here again if I was in the area as there are better options.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your comments, and I will most certainly look into these. I am pleased that your room was alright and that check in went smoothly, sorry about the walls though. I will look at room placement we try and keep team rooms all in one area of the hotel.I am curious to know was the waffle in question of the flavored variety, if so I will have to look into this as well because everything is premeasured so I am at a loss there. I will also have to find out about the clerk they should be at the desk . If there is anything I can do for you, you may contact me by phone 540-992-5600, or email gm.va413@choicehotels.com.
Thank you again for your comments they are always helping us to improve.
Melinda Shelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barneveld, New York
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

This is a very convenient place to spend a peaceful night night when traveling on I-81. It is located on Rt.#11 close to that highway and has a large separate parking area for trucks and vehicles towing a trailer. Our room was near the road but we did not hear much traffic noise. Breakfast was good had numerous selections, which made it nice. Place was very clean. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I must say we are an easy on easy off property to the interstate. The hotel is a very quiet place to rest your head. I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast. We do have a wonderful housekeeping staff here. We look forward to your next visit with us. If I can help in anyway please feel free to contact me by phone 540-992-5600, or email gm.va413@choicehotels.com. Where ever your travels may take you may they always be safe. Until next time.

Melinda Shelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My partner and myself stayed here early may this year.
Room was a good size well furnished clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was reasonably good.
Location was ok for us (we were touring)
Unfortunately the pool was out of order.(disappointing as we like to sit and read around the pool)
All in all could not complain about value for money,but had I known the pool would be unavailable
I would have looked elsewhere.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Thanks for the review and kind words. I'm sorry we disappointed you with not having the pool open. Unfortunately, it doesn't get warm enough in this part of Virginia to have the outdoor pool open before the end of May. I'm pleased we hit the mark with other aspects of your stay. I hope you will visit us again and I would be happy to assist with reservations. Feel free to contact me at cia@rbnet.com or 540-992-4077.
Thanks again for visiting us and sharing your comments for other travelers.
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel staff was very friendly and the bed was comfortable. The shower had excellent water pressure and the tub had a non-slip surface and a safety rail. There's a nice restaurant nearby. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. I am glad that you found our staff to be friendly and the bed to be comfortable. I am also glad you enjoyed the shower. Did you eat at the Italian restaurant. If you are ever in our area again and in need of a room please feel free to contact me either by phone 540-992-5600 or email gm.va413@choicehotels.com. Until then may you have safe and happy travels.
Melinda Shelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

A lot of pluses awaited us at this motel, which we were trying for the first time. For anyone getting on or off I-81, this is an especially good location, as it bypasses downtown Roanoke but is still not too far away if you need access to the city. We liked the wide hallways and generous-sized room, and were able to get a convenient handicap parking spot. The staff was friendly, and the breakfast was good. Minor shortcomings: (1) A surprisingly small bathroom for such a large room, (2) No handicap handle bar at the rear of the shower, (3) No adjustable shower head, and (4) No privacy curtain (i.e.,semi-transparent) at the window. If we need to stop in the Roanoke area again, we will certainly keep this place in mind.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
First let me thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed the room. Unfortunately I can do nothing about the size of the bathroom and I do apologize for that. I am glad that the staff treated you well and you got to enjoy the breakfast. May I ask though if you were indeed in a handicap room because they do infact have the hand held shower head. I am sorry we do not have shears on the windows just the blackout drapes. If there is anything I can help you with please feel free to contact me either by phone at 540-992-5600 or email gm.va413@choicehotels.com and I will do my very best to help you. Until then my you always have safe and happy travels.
Melinda Shelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Troutville
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Troutville-Roanoke North
0.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Roanoke - Troutville
3.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Roanoke
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Roanoke Salem
6.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inn at Valley View
3.5 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Roanoke North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Troutville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Troutville

Address: 2545 Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Troutville, VA 24175
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Troutville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Troutville 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Troutville, VA Comfort Inn® hotel is off Interstate 81, minutes from Roanoke and central to Hollins University, Ashley Plantation public golf course, Botetourt Sports Complex, James I. Moyer Sports Complex, Roanoke Regional Airport and several vineyards. We are also near: National D-Day Memorial museum and education center Blue Ridge Parkway, one of North America's most scenic drives Appalachian Trail Conservancy Several hiking trails, fishing areas and public golf courses Roanoke Civic Center and Salem Civic Center Shop at Valley View Mall, the area’s largest retail center. Fishing, tennis, boating and biking trails are nearby. Several restaurants are nearby. Our pet-friendly hotel provides amenities like: Free high-speed internet access Free local calls Free weekday newspaper Seasonal outdoor pool Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers can access fax and copy machines. All our rooms have flat-screen televisions, refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers, irons and ironing boards. Make the Troutville Comfort Inn your home away from home on your next business trip or vacation to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Troutville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troutville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Troutville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.