We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit, this place is consistently great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Troutville

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn Troutville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Troutville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2545 Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Troutville, VA 24175   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Troutville
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Third visit, this place is consistently great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We just got back from our third stay at this Comfort Inn. It is a halfway point on the long car trip between our home in the Philadelphia area and our daughter's home in Nashville, TN. We have been very pleased each of the three times we have stayed here. First of all, you would be hard pressed to find a speck of dirt anywhere in this hotel. Although it is not a brand new hotel it is completely updated inside with new tile and newer decor and fittings, bedding, etc. The breakfast includes a lot of healthier items some hotels do not include, like regular, unflavored oatmeal, yogurt, and fresh fruit, along with all the usual favorites like waffles, bagels, juices, coffee, etc. The staff are always friendly and helpful and the rooms clean and updated. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable stay. Dog friendly which is always a plus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garyDLIvp, VP of Operations at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thanks so much for being a returning guest. We appreciate your business and look forward to serving your lodging needs.
Thanks also for the kind review and your comments of our hotel. I am pleased you have enjoyed all of your visits and we look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Gary Purvis
VP of Operations
Dominion Lodging, Inc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
39
38
11
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We were driving home from Florida and pulled into this hotel without a reservation around 7 PM. The woman at the desk was very nice and we had a room in minutes. She asked if either of us were over 62 (my husband) and if we had a Choice Privileges number (we do). We got a senior citizens rate.

The room had two double beds, microwave, fridge, safe, huge vanity in the bathroom and tub/shower. It was clean and comfortable.

The breakfast bar the following morning was the best I've seen. The "cold" items were in a small cooler with a glass door on the counter. They had a waffle maker and two kinds of batter - regular and buckwheat. Beverages were four kinds of juice, regular and decaf coffee, hot water for tea, and cappuccino machine.

I had the pineapple-orange juice and regular coffee. Both were excellent. I had the regular waffle and my husband had the buckwheat and both were good. They also had sausage patties, scrambled eggs and little omelets - also delicious. They had yogurts in the cooler and bagels, donuts and muffins.

The person responsible for the breakfast bar was present the whole time and on top of things.

Check-out was quick and efficient.

Just off I-81 at exit 150B.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for the review. It's a great one. I am so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and the breakfast. We aim to please. We are so very glad that everyone from the desk clerk, housekeeping and breakfast attendant too care of you. Hope to see you again if you are traveling this way. Take care. Happy travels.

Melinda Shelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A wonderful oasis and a very clean motel with new bedcovers, refrigerator & micro in room. The price was reasonable and a friendly staff. Driving with a U-Haul trailer there was a truck parking area on one side of the motel under good light and restaurants within walking distance close by. The breakfast room was clean & had adequate fare to start the day...good coffee also. Very satisfied with this stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you Sonja for the wonderful review of our hotel. We do have a great staff here, and they care about the hotel and it shows throughout. I am glad you could take advantage of the truck parking lot. Glad to see too that you could find something to eat. May you stay safe on the road my friend and if you are ever in the area again, please stop by and see us.

Melinda Shelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were there for one night due to a softball tournament. Arriving late, the hotel was quick to check us in, and within minutes we were in our room. Room was super clean, fresh--the beds were wonderful. Small refrig and microwave. The breakfast the next morning was your typical hotel breakfast but served us well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you Cyndi for the wonderful comments. I am glad that the staff took good care of you. We try to get you in your room as quick as possible. Glad to see you liked our new bedding. I must say that my desk clerk informed me that the ballteams in while you were here were some of the best that we have ever had. A BIG THANK YOU. If you are ever in our area again hope you will stop back by.

Thanks again.
Melinda Shelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALMA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were tired and not in the best of moods from hours of driving in heavy truck traffic. The reception we received was very pleasant and a "glad to see you" feeling. The price was an unexpected treat also. Very nice hotel at a very welcome price. Great breakfast selection of hot and cold foods. Good coffee. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thomas thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am glad that we took such good care of you (as we do all of our guest) while you were here. We try and give our best southern hospitality. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. Hope you got to make one of the waffles for yourself, they are very good. Hope to see you again if you are traveling this way again. Until then my friend Happy Travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Everything about this Comfort Inn was perfect. The staff (front desk & breakfast attendant) were very friendly, the size of the room was great & had 2 queen beds, and breakfast was the best hotel breakfast we had on our 8 day trip in 4 different hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. The staff here does it's very best to accomodate our guests in every way. I am glad to see that we hit the mark with you. I hope that if you are ever in our area again that you will stop by and see us. Happy travels to you. Again thank you from the entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was a very nice property, pleasant staff, comfortable, if small, room. But the smell of smoke permeated the entire non smoking floor and into our room as well, so I unfortunately cannot recommend this hotel to any non-smokers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate comments. I will pass them along to my wonderful staff. We do try our best to keep down the smell of smoke in the hallways sometime we just have to work double duty on this. Once again thank you for your feedback. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Troutville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Troutville

Address: 2545 Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Troutville, VA 24175
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Troutville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Troutville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Troutville 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn Troutville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troutville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Troutville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.