We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sonja R” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Troutville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn Troutville to your Saves list
Comfort Inn Troutville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2545 Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Troutville, VA 24175   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Clyde, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Sonja R”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A wonderful oasis and a very clean motel with new bedcovers, refrigerator & micro in room. The price was reasonable and a friendly staff. Driving with a U-Haul trailer there was a truck parking area on one side of the motel under good light and restaurants within walking distance close by. The breakfast room was clean & had adequate fare to start the day...good coffee also. Very satisfied with this stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you Sonja for the wonderful review of our hotel. We do have a great staff here, and they care about the hotel and it shows throughout. I am glad you could take advantage of the truck parking lot. Glad to see too that you could find something to eat. May you stay safe on the road my friend and if you are ever in the area again, please stop by and see us.

Melinda Shelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    42
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
41
42
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were there for one night due to a softball tournament. Arriving late, the hotel was quick to check us in, and within minutes we were in our room. Room was super clean, fresh--the beds were wonderful. Small refrig and microwave. The breakfast the next morning was your typical hotel breakfast but served us well. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you Cyndi for the wonderful comments. I am glad that the staff took good care of you. We try to get you in your room as quick as possible. Glad to see you liked our new bedding. I must say that my desk clerk informed me that the ballteams in while you were here were some of the best that we have ever had. A BIG THANK YOU. If you are ever in our area again hope you will stop back by.

Thanks again.
Melinda Shelton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALMA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We were tired and not in the best of moods from hours of driving in heavy truck traffic. The reception we received was very pleasant and a "glad to see you" feeling. The price was an unexpected treat also. Very nice hotel at a very welcome price. Great breakfast selection of hot and cold foods. Good coffee. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Thomas thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. I am glad that we took such good care of you (as we do all of our guest) while you were here. We try and give our best southern hospitality. Glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. Hope you got to make one of the waffles for yourself, they are very good. Hope to see you again if you are traveling this way again. Until then my friend Happy Travels!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Everything about this Comfort Inn was perfect. The staff (front desk & breakfast attendant) were very friendly, the size of the room was great & had 2 queen beds, and breakfast was the best hotel breakfast we had on our 8 day trip in 4 different hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel. The staff here does it's very best to accomodate our guests in every way. I am glad to see that we hit the mark with you. I hope that if you are ever in our area again that you will stop by and see us. Happy travels to you. Again thank you from the entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was a very nice property, pleasant staff, comfortable, if small, room. But the smell of smoke permeated the entire non smoking floor and into our room as well, so I unfortunately cannot recommend this hotel to any non-smokers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We always appreciate comments. I will pass them along to my wonderful staff. We do try our best to keep down the smell of smoke in the hallways sometime we just have to work double duty on this. Once again thank you for your feedback. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed one night in early August 2013. Our online reservation did not get into system correctly but upon arrival, Monica took the extra time to sort it out and get us rooms we needed. She was incredibly fast, efficient and cordial. Rooms (300 and 303) were on top floor and looked almost new. They were very clean, comfortable, and quiet. Our dual queen suite was large and all fixtures operated perfectly. Bathroom was spotless. Microwave and fridge operated perfectly. Bedding was soft and comfortable. Bed mattresses were perfect for us. We lean towards a plusher rather than a firm mattress. Breakfast area while small, was well stocked and well maintained.

This Comfort Inn almost has the feel of a small boutique hotel from the design of its lobby and guest areas. This appears to be a deliberate (and welcome) move for the franchise. Highly recommend this small, very well managed hotel. We've also stayed at the Holiday Inn Express nearby and recommend it, though we find the Express beds a bit too firm for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor and away from elevator are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. I will be sure to pass it along to Monica as well. She is wonderful with the guest, always willing to do whatever she can to make their stay a more enjoyable one. I am glad that you found the rooms to be clean, comfortable and quiet. You actually hit the nail on the head with the rooms they are new, they were added when we did our renovation. I again thank you for your review and if you are ever in our area again please think of us. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

I was in charge of finding lodging for Shamrock Festival volleyball tournament back in March for one of our club teams. They give us a list of all the hotels who partner with the tournament and I was responsible for choosing and booking a block of rooms. I did a lot of research on hotels of all price ranges and was amazed at how good the reviews were for this hotel as it was just about the cheapest one on the list. Decided to take a chance on it and didn't regret it one bit. My dealing with Carmen in reserving a block of rooms was smooth and pleasant. Upon arriving I was greeted by some of the most pleasant front desk people ever. The rooms were nice and they were clean. Beds were comfortable and the bathroom was spotless. Loved the little rubber duck left in the bathroom for guests. If our volleyball club ever decides to go to Shamrock Festival to play again I would definitely book at this hotel without hesitation. It is easy to get to off of I81 and was convenient (within 15 min.) of the various venues we played at.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm413, General Manager at Comfort Inn Troutville, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review of our hotel. I will pass it along to the staff and to Carmen as well. She is very easy to work with. I am glad that my staff took very good care of you. We do have a wonderful staff here all the way around desk, housekeeping, breakfast, and maintenance. We are glad you liked the duck as well. I hope that you do decide to play in the Festival again or perhaps just a vacation, we will be here ready to take care of your needs. Happy Travels from our staff to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Troutville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Troutville

Address: 2545 Lee Highway, PO Box 37, Troutville, VA 24175
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Troutville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Troutville 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn Troutville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Troutville Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Troutville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.