We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Troutville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Inn Troutville to your Saves list
Quality Inn Troutville
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   3139 Lee Highway South, Troutville, VA 24175 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Roanoke Northeast Troutville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This had to be the worst Choice Hotels property I have been in ever. I paid $90.00 for one night. We were put in an annex building. We had to change the door keys because they did not work on the outside lock or the room lock. We encountered millipedes and spiders in the bathroom. The bed was so hard (I like a firm bed), I woke up with a backache. The continental breakfast was decent and the shower head was nice. It is not worth the money, try the Holiday Inn Express up the hill. It looked new.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    34
    10
    3
    3
See reviews for
28
31
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jefferson, GA
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We were redirected to this hotel when our reservation was dropped by another roadside inn and were pleasantly surprised by it. The room is the cleanest of our trip and the beds are comfortable. The room has a microwave, fridge, iron and hairdryer. Breakfast is typical, but there are healthy options like boiled eggs and plain oatmeal an grits. If it doesn't appeal, Cracker Barrel is next door. The staff are helpful and friendly and the breakfast attendant worked hard to satisfy a variety of special requests. The pool looked clean and attractive, but we did not have time to swim. Overall we were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We recently drove from Georgia to Upstate New York for a wedding and decided to stay overnight at this hotel on the first leg of the trip. It was a great choice! Right off the interstate, clean, and right next door to a Cracker Barrel - a good location for weary travelers. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Free breakfast choices were standard for this type of hotel, nothing spectacular - but good and fresh. Of special note: the coffee was GREAT - seriously, someone on staff really knows how to make a good pot of coffee! This is a rather basic hotel but clean and conveniently located with a caring staff. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main building. There was an adjacent building that looked a little older. I'm n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on our way back from Washington DC. It is right beside a Cracker Barrel. I don't usually stay in a Quality Inn but we were so tired of driving. To my delight, Everything was perfect. Staff very friendly. Rooms were very clean & tidy. Beds were nice & comfy. Slept Great! It was a lot more than expected. It comes with a complimentary breakfast & I would give the nice lady who prepares breakfast, 5 stars. She was awesome. It was a really good breakfast and the lady kept asking if we had everything we need & if she could get us anything. I was so impressed. There is a Fridge & Microwave in the room with a coffee maker. They provided Wireless & the Air Conditioning System works very well. The view is beautiful. They have also have an Ice machine for your drinks/cooler. I would recommend this hotel to all my family & friends. Would definitely stay here again. Good Job Choice Hotels!! :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tryon, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in this friendly hotel while riding with the Bike Virginia tour. We were pleased with the strong Internet signal, real high definition TV, full nourishing breakfast, and beautiful view from pool. We were impressed with the friendliness with all the hotel personnel, from the front desk, housekeeping, and breakfast attendant. This is not the newest hotel, but we find friendliness is more important.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, MN
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This Quality Inn is not that hard to find, since it is right off the exit, but our GPS tried to take us two miles further north! Also the hotel has an "annex" building - believe it used to be a Red Roof - but we stayed in the main building.
Service was pleasant, sleeping was fine, room was clean (although a bit shopworn). Breakfast was typical, but more than satisfactory. A lot easier to get to than Roanoke properties, at a much more reasonable price. We used it as a base for exploring the Blue Ridge Mountains, and will return again. Watch out for trucks at the exit ramps!

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs on the western side - was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNCANVILLE
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Excellent staff attitudes and service. Best hot breakfast of our 4-week long trip. Wish all our stops were like this. Better than most of the Comfort Inns and Comfort Suites at which we stayed! Up the street from traditionally about the cheapest gas on I-81.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Quality Inn Troutville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Troutville

Address: 3139 Lee Highway South, Troutville, VA 24175 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Roanoke Northeast Troutville)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Troutville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Troutville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Troutville 2.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Troutville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Troutville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn Troutville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.