We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, clean hotel...would highly recommend to others” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118)
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   6415 Dan Bell Lane, Thornburg, VA 22565   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thornburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charleston
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Excellent, clean hotel...would highly recommend to others”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We made reservations to stay here before we left home. When trying to set our GPS, unfortunately the address wouldn't come up...maybe the hotel & road it's on is new?? We called & was given a different city than the website reservations had given us, which worked.When we arrived, we were greeted by Barbara, who had already upgraded our room (we're Platinum Priority Club members). There's a popcorn machine in the lobby which we enjoyed the freshly popped treat. Our room was nice..large with comfortable beds, flat screen TV, and a separate living room area with a couch. Everyone on staff that we encountered were friendly. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and the Holiday Inn Family...we truly appreciate you being a "platinum" member. We know you have many choices and we are honored to have you as a guest and hope to see you soon. I will also pass on to Barbara the good mention of her. We love hearing those comments...Take Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
10
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was meeting a client in Thornburg, VA. I knew there was a Holiday Inn there, but did not know anyone at the hotel. I walked in and told the manager, Richard Bowles, what I needed. I was just wondering if he had a space I could hook up my laptop and see a client for a few minutes. He showed me to their very clean cafe. My few minutes with the client turned into about an hour. Mr. Bowles could not have been more accommodating. I sent an e-mail to the owner of the hotel on behalf of Mr. Bowles, and got a very nice note back from him. If the rooms and the rest of the hotel are anything like how they treated a complete stranger, than I would highly recommend this property. Bobby Kelland

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

NO BUGS, I read a review of this hotel from 1/12 and was concerned because of the reviewer's complaining about seeing bugs and poor service. BUT we're long time travelers and have stayed in 100's of Holiday Inns and NEVER had a problem. We always look for Holiday Inns or Best Western which we feel are clean , nice and excellent service, and we're NOT wrong for this holiday was excellent. Staff very friendly, service good and even had pop corn in lobby at night for snacks, what more could you ask?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We appreciate you not only staying here but your loyalty to the Holiday Inn Brands. We added the popcorn machine in December and have gotten great feedback so that will be available every night for the guests :) Thank you again and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We found this hotel when we decided to stop driving on our way home to Pa from Florida. It was a Sunday night when we checked in and the manager on duty was great! he upgraded us to a suite and it was a great treat after travling for so long. In the morning they offer a free breakfast and it was great, so much to choose from and the lady who worked there is really nice too.

Overall if you are looking for a hotel with clean rooms and a great staff this is your hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to post a comment...we value your business and well as your input. I will pass on your nice words to the staff that you encountered. We hope to see you again soon and have a great New Year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here on a recent road trip south. It's conveniently right off the highway. Easy off/easy back on. We only stayed one night, but the staff we met were friendly and buffett was what you'd expect. Would revisit if making a long trip down I95 again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for staying here at the Holiday Inn Express in Thornburg. We know you have many choices and we are honored to have you as a guest. We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you again soon. We know your time is valuable and appreciate you taking the time to put a comment here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

On our way back from Myrtle Beach to Pennsylvania we decided to take a break from the traffic and spend the night at the HIE. When booked a room through expedia as we were driving up to the hotel to save some money on the room. At check in there was nobody around the front desk and actually had to wait at least 5 minutes for someone to show up. And when they did finally show up, they did not seem very attentive - however they were not rude either. Our room was clean and spacious. There is a flat screen TV, refrigerator and small microwave. The hotel has a pool, a couple of exercise machines, and free breakfast which wasn't bad. In all, it was a good place to stay and would probably return if we were ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and stay with us, we know you have many choices and we appreciate your business. I apologize for the delay upon check in, I have instructed the desk to put a sign up indicating we are assisting another guest so you at least know we will return shortly. I hope your travels bring you back to the area and you stop and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were searching for a place to stop between North Carolina and PA to break up our trip and just randomly came across this Holiday Inn Express. We've come to expect a certain level of hospitality and comfort from the Holiday Inn Express franchise, and we were not disappointed. Patel, the desk clerk, was very friendly and accommodating to suit our needs. We were travelling with two bikes, and instead of putting them in our room, he took them into a locked area of the hotel. The elevator was broken that day, so he dropped our rate a bit and made the night very affordable. Holiday Inn Express has the same free breakfast, no matter which hotel you stay at, so you can expect it here as well. (We've never been a fan of the eggs/pancake machine, etc so we just had a bagel and some pastries.) The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. It was so great to have a high pressure shower as well after a week at the low-flow beach inn. Highly recommend stopping in for a stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! We know you have many options and we greatly appreciate your business. Also for taking the time to give us comments. We hope you have great travels and will come see us again soon when back in the Fredericksburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118)

Address: 6415 Dan Bell Lane, Thornburg, VA 22565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Thornburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thornburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg-Fredericksburg, VA is conveniently located off I-95 at exit 118. Our hotel offers a 100% non-smoking environment & our famous Express Start Continental breakfast featuring the best tasting cinnamon rolls. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Thornburg & enjoy our other offerings of the Simply Smart Bath & Bedding Programs, free local & toll calls, free HSIA, a complimentary business center, 24-hour guest laundry, a refreshing heated-indoor pool & whirlpool & a 24-hour fitness center to stay in shape while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Thornburg (i-95 Exit 118)
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (i-95 Exit 118) Hotel Thornburg
Holiday Inn Thornburg
Thornburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118) Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.