We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I needed help.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118) to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118)
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   6415 Dan Bell Lane, Thornburg, VA 22565   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thornburg
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
“I needed help.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was meeting a client in Thornburg, VA. I knew there was a Holiday Inn there, but did not know anyone at the hotel. I walked in and told the manager, Richard Bowles, what I needed. I was just wondering if he had a space I could hook up my laptop and see a client for a few minutes. He showed me to their very clean cafe. My few minutes with the client turned into about an hour. Mr. Bowles could not have been more accommodating. I sent an e-mail to the owner of the hotel on behalf of Mr. Bowles, and got a very nice note back from him. If the rooms and the rest of the hotel are anything like how they treated a complete stranger, than I would highly recommend this property. Bobby Kelland

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    23
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
10
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

NO BUGS, I read a review of this hotel from 1/12 and was concerned because of the reviewer's complaining about seeing bugs and poor service. BUT we're long time travelers and have stayed in 100's of Holiday Inns and NEVER had a problem. We always look for Holiday Inns or Best Western which we feel are clean , nice and excellent service, and we're NOT wrong for this holiday was excellent. Staff very friendly, service good and even had pop corn in lobby at night for snacks, what more could you ask?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We appreciate you not only staying here but your loyalty to the Holiday Inn Brands. We added the popcorn machine in December and have gotten great feedback so that will be available every night for the guests :) Thank you again and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We found this hotel when we decided to stop driving on our way home to Pa from Florida. It was a Sunday night when we checked in and the manager on duty was great! he upgraded us to a suite and it was a great treat after travling for so long. In the morning they offer a free breakfast and it was great, so much to choose from and the lady who worked there is really nice too.

Overall if you are looking for a hotel with clean rooms and a great staff this is your hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to post a comment...we value your business and well as your input. I will pass on your nice words to the staff that you encountered. We hope to see you again soon and have a great New Year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed here on a recent road trip south. It's conveniently right off the highway. Easy off/easy back on. We only stayed one night, but the staff we met were friendly and buffett was what you'd expect. Would revisit if making a long trip down I95 again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Thank you so much for staying here at the Holiday Inn Express in Thornburg. We know you have many choices and we are honored to have you as a guest. We look forward to your next visit and hope to see you again soon. We know your time is valuable and appreciate you taking the time to put a comment here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

On our way back from Myrtle Beach to Pennsylvania we decided to take a break from the traffic and spend the night at the HIE. When booked a room through expedia as we were driving up to the hotel to save some money on the room. At check in there was nobody around the front desk and actually had to wait at least 5 minutes for someone to show up. And when they did finally show up, they did not seem very attentive - however they were not rude either. Our room was clean and spacious. There is a flat screen TV, refrigerator and small microwave. The hotel has a pool, a couple of exercise machines, and free breakfast which wasn't bad. In all, it was a good place to stay and would probably return if we were ever in the area again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review and stay with us, we know you have many choices and we appreciate your business. I apologize for the delay upon check in, I have instructed the desk to put a sign up indicating we are assisting another guest so you at least know we will return shortly. I hope your travels bring you back to the area and you stop and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, PA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were searching for a place to stop between North Carolina and PA to break up our trip and just randomly came across this Holiday Inn Express. We've come to expect a certain level of hospitality and comfort from the Holiday Inn Express franchise, and we were not disappointed. Patel, the desk clerk, was very friendly and accommodating to suit our needs. We were travelling with two bikes, and instead of putting them in our room, he took them into a locked area of the hotel. The elevator was broken that day, so he dropped our rate a bit and made the night very affordable. Holiday Inn Express has the same free breakfast, no matter which hotel you stay at, so you can expect it here as well. (We've never been a fan of the eggs/pancake machine, etc so we just had a bagel and some pastries.) The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. It was so great to have a high pressure shower as well after a week at the low-flow beach inn. Highly recommend stopping in for a stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! We know you have many options and we greatly appreciate your business. Also for taking the time to give us comments. We hope you have great travels and will come see us again soon when back in the Fredericksburg area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I travel for business and enjoy a reasonable priced hotel. This hotel made me very satisfied. The room is huge and very well kept. Clean, pleasantly painted and decorated. Heated salt water pool and jacuzzi, which I miss when I am away from home.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you so much for staying with us! We appreciate your business and taking the time to give us comments. We understand you have many choices when you travel and we are honored to have you as a guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118)

Address: 6415 Dan Bell Lane, Thornburg, VA 22565
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Thornburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Thornburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg-Fredericksburg, VA is conveniently located off I-95 at exit 118. Our hotel offers a 100% non-smoking environment & our famous Express Start Continental breakfast featuring the best tasting cinnamon rolls. Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites - Thornburg & enjoy our other offerings of the Simply Smart Bath & Bedding Programs, free local & toll calls, free HSIA, a complimentary business center, 24-hour guest laundry, a refreshing heated-indoor pool & whirlpool & a 24-hour fitness center to stay in shape while on the road. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (i-95 Exit 118) Hotel Thornburg
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Thornburg (i-95 Exit 118)
Holiday Inn Thornburg
Thornburg Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118) Virginia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express & Suites Thornburg (I-95 Exit 118), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.