We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely inn, beautiful room, wonderful breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grey Horse Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in The Plains
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Grey Horse Inn
Save
You added The Grey Horse Inn to your Saves list
4350 Fauquier Ave, The Plains, VA 20198   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 The Plains B&B and Inns
Santa Fe, New Mexico
1 review
“Lovely inn, beautiful room, wonderful breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

I had a business trip to The Plains in November and stayed in the Shenandoah room which has a lovely and comfortable four-poster bed. The inn is nicely decorated and very clean. John and Ellen are thoughtful and gracious hosts. Morning breakfast was wonderful - strong coffee, fresh canteloupe with yogurt, homemade scones and quiche. Yum!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    7
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
33
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new york
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

we've stayed at the grey horse 4 or 5 times over the last 2 yrs. each time has been great. we are not high maintenance people but certainly have reasonably high expectations. in terms of value for the area they can't be beat. so worth it. we really have no complaints.
having stayed in many b&b's over the years (some much pricier) the grey horse really stands out. clean, well-kept rooms. great breakfast (someone else posted about the scones. wow, deelish). welcoming vibe. perfect location for our needs. i hate cliche descriptions but this place is truly charming, as are the proprietors. knowledgeable, friendly, professional, attentive without being intrusive. good people and i'm glad to give them my business. they earn your loyalty. we've had to arrive in the wee hours of the morning and been accommodated without a problem - not even a grumble (try getting that anywhere these days). the grounds are lovely and if you have a room with a balcony overlooking the garden, it's very relaxing. some rooms don't have a tv, which is nice. the town is an easy walk with nice restaurants, so have that second glass of wine! don't forget to get a complimentary fresh-baked cookie (or 2) before bed.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed with friends at this cozy and quaint country Inn. John was a superb host and the breakfast was delicious. Can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins, West Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

Our trip to The Plains was delightful. We were pleased with our accomodations at The Grey Horse. The Hearty's went out of their way to assure our reservations at the wonderful restaurant, Girasole, were in place and they even made sure the hostess and staff provided great service. We plan to stay again at The Grey Horse Inn.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

I had to travel to The Plains, Virginia (forty miles west of Washington, DC) for two nights on business. The Grey Horse Inn was the perfect place to stay. It has all the plusses of a B&B (atmosphere, decor, peace and quiet, scenic views) plus all the amenities of a hotel, especially cable TV and wireless internet. It is conveniently located, only half a miles off Interstate I-66. I look forward to staying there again!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We we were a party of 10 looking to celebrate a special occasion. We contacted the inkeeper, John, who was very helpful. He not only offered us an early check-in, he assisted us with a little "surprise" for some of our friends! The inn was lovely and I would go back tomorrow just for Ellen's scones! We have already planned our next trip back to The Grey Horse!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tlevine984
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

The Grey Horse Inn sits on a charming property, rooms are clean and well porportioned and the house is filled old world charm.

What is lacking was a sense of warmth and level of service that was not close to or on par with service received at B&B's we have visted in the area over the years.

Having stayed in one of the nicer rooms to celebrate our wedding anniversary, in years past at other B&B's we received complementary little bottles of champage or some other little nicety to celebrate the occasion. There was nothing, which in and of itself wasn't the experience killer. The icing on the cake was the next morning after an early breakfast we were literally cast out of our room to make way for early Saturday check ins.

Net/net - a very disappointing thumbs down experience.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grey Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grey Horse Inn

Address: 4350 Fauquier Ave, The Plains, VA 20198
Location: United States > Virginia > The Plains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in The Plains
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grey Horse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.