We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1648 Tappahannock Boulevard, Tappahannock, VA 22560   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tappahannock
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice and Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Passing through while going to some race tracks and got a room at this hotel. Nice rooms, clean and beds were comfy. Had a good breakfast. I would recommend this hotel. Also close to a lot of places to eat and a Walmart.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    24
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
9
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on two consecutive business trips, and I have only good things to say about the property.

Both weeks, I stayed in a king suite room, which was a great size, very clean, and very comfortable. In addition to the king sized bed, there was a pull-out sofa and a side chair. The HVAC was easy to control and kept the room at an acceptable temperature, the TV had a large selection of channels, and the wireless internet was fast and easy to connect to.

The bathroom had sufficient toiletries, and the water pressure and temperature was adequate.

Hotel employees were very friendly, and the daily breakfast offered a good variety of options.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express for one night on our way to Mathews, VA. The hotel was very clean and quite too. The buffet breakfast was great. You could choose from egg and cheese omletes, sausage, pancakes, cereals, yogart, etc. There is a small indoor pool and hot tub, which we did not get a chance to use. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Have stayed at this HI Exp numerous times for business. Very convenient to Applebee's and Walmart. Rooms always very clean and front desk staff very helpful. Breakfast is free and is typical Holiday Inn.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This is a typical HI Express, it is newer, and very predictable in a good, comfortable way. The cable provider was doing a huge overhaul of the TV services, so the channel guide in the room was not right at all. I called the front desk, because it looked to me like none of the channels were working. In fact, for example, channel 2 was now channel 88.11. The guy at the desk brought up to me a copy of the current correct channels, and he explained that the cable company was in the middle of doing a conversion. I appreciated the great service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night after dropping my son at by scout camp and were pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly and the hotel was well maintained and clean. The breakfast was fine - a typical free breakfast. My daughter said the bed was "heaven" which I thought was amusing coming from a 10 year old but we all did sleep well. I didn't notice any noise at all and the free wifi actually worked! Overall, a nice one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stopped here for an overnight and left within 45 minutes. I was told there was only one room left. The suite, for $163. I was exhausted, so took it. I went upstairs got ready for bed, was about to put my head on the pillow when I heard the windows rattling. I mean pound pound pound rattling. I put my hand on the window and could feel the vibration. I had no idea was was going on, so I called the front desk and up came a very young woman who also said she felt the vibration. She then discovered that is was coming from the VERY loud music in many cars gathered in the adjacent WalMart parking lot. I asked to be moved and she said she just gave the last room to two other ladies. Uh, I thought I got the last room. So, I said I would have to leave and drive on. For anyone not familiar with the area, there is nothing w/in 30 miles, minimum. When I went down to check out, I asked for the manager, but was told he was on vacation for two weeks, so I was given his card. The young woman was apparently the only person on the property. She offered me a 10% discount. The woman was short with me and treated me like I was a derelict trying to get something for nothing. I said I expected a call from the GM when he returned. No call. I wrote a letter. No response. So here is my recourse. I did not feel safe at this property and do not recommend it. If you read my other reviews, you will see I write fair ones. This place is not for me.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear askcloee,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock

Address: 1648 Tappahannock Boulevard, Tappahannock, VA 22560
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Tappahannock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Tappahannock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express hotel in Tappahannock, Virginia. Our hotel in Tappahannock provides thoughtful amenities and a comfortable environment that is perfect for families and business travelers. Located near the picturesque Rappahannock River, our Tappahannock, VA hotel provides a comfortable and relaxing environment for travelers. Various Essex County attractions are located near our hotel, including the Essex County Museum, Westmoreland State Park and Hobb's Hole Golf Course and Fort AP Hill. The hotel is also short distance away from Riverside Hospital, St. Margaret's School, Wal-Mart and Lowe's. The town of Tappahannock is known for its wide array of antique stores, and for the outdoor enthusiast, the Rappahannock River offers many outdoor activities, which include fishing, canoeing, kayaking and river cruises. Business travelers are encouraged to take advantage of our many business amenities. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel Tappahannock, Virginia offers a business center with copy, mail, and fax services and computer access. We offer free high-speed, wired/wireless Internet access throughout our entire hotel. Guests staying at our property will enjoy indoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center and we encourage our guests to take advantage of our complimentary, hot breakfast bar in the mornings. Book your reservations today for our great hotel deals in Tappahannock, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Tappahannock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.