We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best we have ever stayed at!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essex Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tappahannock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essex Inn
Save Saved
You added Essex Inn to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Tappahannock B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best we have ever stayed at!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This property survived bombardment of Tappahannock by the British during the War of 1812. It is authentic and lovingly maintained by the caretakers Jeremy and Rick. Jeremy is a gracious and attentive host and Rick is a gourmet cook. We truly felt welcome and at home, not like the feeling of being intruders that overshadowed us at other B&B's that we stayed at. The property is like a little oasis in this small historic town, with a warm and cozy private patio garden and a 450 year old knurled Basswood tree. We were invited to help ourselves to wine and beer in the refrigerator and sit out on the patio to enjoy.
Rick started our breakfast with an appetizer of small pastry shells filled with melted brie and stewed, caramelized apple - a delight ! It was followed by a egg quiche omelet with all local and authentic ingredients (e.g. Virginia Ham) and other secret ingredients. mmmmmm-good. This included fresh made buttermilk biscuits and home-made plum jelly from the plum tree in the yard. They even encouraged us to pick some plums to take with us.
Unfortunately, we only stayed one night. That day we took the Rappahannock River Cruise and the following day we took the Tangier Island Cruise, so we just needed a place to stay between the cruises. If we had to do it all over again, we would have not taken the River Cruise and stayed an extra day at the Essex House. (Don't recommend the River Cruise but do recommend the Tangier Island Cruise - but that's for another review)
Van and Jan

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I celebrated out 25th anniversary at the Essex Inn. We couldn't have asked for a better place! The innkeepers, Jeremy and Rick were fantastic. Rick was a phenomenal chef. Jeremy was a fantastic host. Charlie, their dog, made it feel like home. We loved the area and the inn was historic, but had all of the comforts anyone would want. They had wine available, coffee, chocolate, munchies, etc. at all times. They knew the area and were so helpful. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a king sized bed - quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We just completed a 160 mile bike trip on the Neck staying at four B&B's. There is no question the Essex Inn was the best. Jeremy and Rick are true professionals and very concerned about their guests. Food, accommodations, service, and everything else. The Essex Inn is the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Beautiful B&B ! Southern Hospitality at it's best! Great food, and wonderful atmosphere!! Definitely going again! One block from the water, lovely 1850s house with beautifully appointed rooms, and divine patio!! Thank you, Jeremy and Rick (the chef!!) Wonderful!

Room Tip: The "executive suites" in the back are wonderful - full kitchen, living room, and comfy be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a great historical facility with many appropriate room appointments. Every thing was clean and well appointed.The rooms were large and included a nice screened room for afternoon reading. The garden was well maintained with a magnificent old basswood tree.Best of all the hosts were great and so was the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Stayed for 1 night while looking at schools with my daughter. Quaint old Inn with new Innkeepers that were exceptional. After asking for coffee in the evening, a fresh pot was brought up to me in a silver carafe on a tray along with homemade almond cookies. Yum! The chef also made sure to take my vegetarian palate into account for breakfast. We dined the next morning with the most incredible couple living in CA and NY. Great conversation. Nice spot!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a wonderful surprise to find a center hall colonial mansion right in Tappahannock. We used to own one in Camden, SC and loved its spaciousness. Great wide plank floors, huge windows even in the bathroom and 2 lounges to lounge in.
An extremely comfortable bed and great breakfasts too. We chose the blue room and there was room for me to do yoga in the am as the TV had a CD player. A GREAT stay!

Room Tip: We loved the Blue room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Inn

Address: 203 Duke St, PO Box 2038, Tappahannock, VA 22560
Location: United States > Virginia > Tappahannock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tappahannock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four rooms and four suites all with en suite bathrooms, luxurious amenities and Wi-Fi. All have working fireplaces, cable TV, air conditioning, hair dryers, irons, luxurious linens and plenty of oversized soft towels. Guests have access to a refrigerator and microwave, a screened-in porch and a private brick courtyard for outdoor relaxation and smoking. Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. A full, three-course breakfast is included along with afternoon snacks, wine and beer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.