We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essex Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tappahannock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Essex Inn
Save
You added Essex Inn to your Saves list
203 Duke St, PO Box 2038, Tappahannock, VA 22560   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Tappahannock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

My husband and I celebrated out 25th anniversary at the Essex Inn. We couldn't have asked for a better place! The innkeepers, Jeremy and Rick were fantastic. Rick was a phenomenal chef. Jeremy was a fantastic host. Charlie, their dog, made it feel like home. We loved the area and the inn was historic, but had all of the comforts anyone would want. They had wine available, coffee, chocolate, munchies, etc. at all times. They knew the area and were so helpful. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a king sized bed - quiet and comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
53
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We just completed a 160 mile bike trip on the Neck staying at four B&B's. There is no question the Essex Inn was the best. Jeremy and Rick are true professionals and very concerned about their guests. Food, accommodations, service, and everything else. The Essex Inn is the best.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Beautiful B&B ! Southern Hospitality at it's best! Great food, and wonderful atmosphere!! Definitely going again! One block from the water, lovely 1850s house with beautifully appointed rooms, and divine patio!! Thank you, Jeremy and Rick (the chef!!) Wonderful!

Room Tip: The "executive suites" in the back are wonderful - full kitchen, living room, and comfy be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a great historical facility with many appropriate room appointments. Every thing was clean and well appointed.The rooms were large and included a nice screened room for afternoon reading. The garden was well maintained with a magnificent old basswood tree.Best of all the hosts were great and so was the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night while looking at schools with my daughter. Quaint old Inn with new Innkeepers that were exceptional. After asking for coffee in the evening, a fresh pot was brought up to me in a silver carafe on a tray along with homemade almond cookies. Yum! The chef also made sure to take my vegetarian palate into account for breakfast. We dined the next morning with the most incredible couple living in CA and NY. Great conversation. Nice spot!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a wonderful surprise to find a center hall colonial mansion right in Tappahannock. We used to own one in Camden, SC and loved its spaciousness. Great wide plank floors, huge windows even in the bathroom and 2 lounges to lounge in.
An extremely comfortable bed and great breakfasts too. We chose the blue room and there was room for me to do yoga in the am as the TV had a CD player. A GREAT stay!

Room Tip: We loved the Blue room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Ok so maybe there is not much competition in Tappahannock! In fact there is not much of anything in the area, BUT this Inn is beautiful! Lovingly and carefully restored several years ago you feel transported back to the grandeur of 1860's colonial (comfortable) living. The garden is really nicely done (and it was March!) I was the only "resident" and the hosts made me feel very regal and rather "Downton Abbey" especially breakfast for one which was divine home cooked lovely food served in the dining room with silver and the full works, coming up from "down stairs".
The bed was about 4 ft high and fit for a Prince. Spotless of course. So if you are travelling the area- look no further than the Essex Inn, it's a peach with real character and style. Pamper yourself.

Room Tip: Four colour themed rooms upstairs or there are 2 or 3 suites in the garden, which was the slaves qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at Essex Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
It’s always a pleasure to welcome a guest from Great Britain and introduce them to our village on the Rappahannock. It was indeed unfortunate that you had such limited time here, arriving late afternoon and leaving early next morning. We have an historic walking tour with 13 homes and buildings dating back to the 1680’s, with a beautiful comprehensive museum just 1 block away. Tappahannock is the gateway to “The Pathway of the Patriots “ on the Northern Neck: George Washington’s birthplace and National Park, Robert E. Lee’s birthplace Stratford Hall, as well as the birthplace of 4 other presidents. In addition the area offers 17 museums, 14 wineries, nature preserves and parks, antiquing and exploring all the little historic towns, country roads and waterways. March is a very quiet month and restaurant possibilities are limited in the winter unfortunately, but the oysters and crabs abound here in season. If you are ever in this area again, please come and enjoy all the wonderful sites and foods that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tappahannock
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Warsaw
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
24.3 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Southside Motel & Marina
Southside Motel & Marina
#2 of 4 in Tappahannock
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Tappahannock
Super 8 Tappahannock
#3 of 4 in Tappahannock
3.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Tappahannock
Days Inn Tappahannock
#4 of 4 in Tappahannock
3.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Inn

Address: 203 Duke St, PO Box 2038, Tappahannock, VA 22560
Location: United States > Virginia > Tappahannock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tappahannock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four rooms and four suites all with en suite bathrooms, luxurious amenities and Wi-Fi. All have working fireplaces, cable TV, air conditioning, hair dryers, irons, luxurious linens and plenty of oversized soft towels. Guests have access to a refrigerator and microwave, a screened-in porch and a private brick courtyard for outdoor relaxation and smoking. Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. A full, three-course breakfast is included along with afternoon snacks, wine and beer. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.