We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Grand Historical B&B With Gracious Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Essex Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Essex Inn to your Saves list
Essex Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   203 Duke St, PO Box 2038, Tappahannock, VA 22560   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Tappahannock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A Grand Historical B&B With Gracious Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

This is a great historical facility with many appropriate room appointments. Every thing was clean and well appointed.The rooms were large and included a nice screened room for afternoon reading. The garden was well maintained with a magnificent old basswood tree.Best of all the hosts were great and so was the breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
55
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night while looking at schools with my daughter. Quaint old Inn with new Innkeepers that were exceptional. After asking for coffee in the evening, a fresh pot was brought up to me in a silver carafe on a tray along with homemade almond cookies. Yum! The chef also made sure to take my vegetarian palate into account for breakfast. We dined the next morning with the most incredible couple living in CA and NY. Great conversation. Nice spot!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a wonderful surprise to find a center hall colonial mansion right in Tappahannock. We used to own one in Camden, SC and loved its spaciousness. Great wide plank floors, huge windows even in the bathroom and 2 lounges to lounge in.
An extremely comfortable bed and great breakfasts too. We chose the blue room and there was room for me to do yoga in the am as the TV had a CD player. A GREAT stay!

Room Tip: We loved the Blue room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Ok so maybe there is not much competition in Tappahannock! In fact there is not much of anything in the area, BUT this Inn is beautiful! Lovingly and carefully restored several years ago you feel transported back to the grandeur of 1860's colonial (comfortable) living. The garden is really nicely done (and it was March!) I was the only "resident" and the hosts made me feel very regal and rather "Downton Abbey" especially breakfast for one which was divine home cooked lovely food served in the dining room with silver and the full works, coming up from "down stairs".
The bed was about 4 ft high and fit for a Prince. Spotless of course. So if you are travelling the area- look no further than the Essex Inn, it's a peach with real character and style. Pamper yourself.

Room Tip: Four colour themed rooms upstairs or there are 2 or 3 suites in the garden, which was the slaves qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob M, General Manager at Essex Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
It’s always a pleasure to welcome a guest from Great Britain and introduce them to our village on the Rappahannock. It was indeed unfortunate that you had such limited time here, arriving late afternoon and leaving early next morning. We have an historic walking tour with 13 homes and buildings dating back to the 1680’s, with a beautiful comprehensive museum just 1 block away. Tappahannock is the gateway to “The Pathway of the Patriots “ on the Northern Neck: George Washington’s birthplace and National Park, Robert E. Lee’s birthplace Stratford Hall, as well as the birthplace of 4 other presidents. In addition the area offers 17 museums, 14 wineries, nature preserves and parks, antiquing and exploring all the little historic towns, country roads and waterways. March is a very quiet month and restaurant possibilities are limited in the winter unfortunately, but the oysters and crabs abound here in season. If you are ever in this area again, please come and enjoy all the wonderful sites and foods that we have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I really enjoyed my weekend getaway here. We stayed in the red room, a beautifully done room with a very comfortable bed. The gas fireplace in the room was a nice accent, too. We enjoyed spending our afternoon on the screened in porch, having a glass of the complimentary wine. For breakfast, Janice cooked a wonderful meal and Bob served it gracefully. They were so nice! Tappahannock is a small, quaint town that was relaxing given how hectic life seems to have been lately. This Inn was right by the tiny historic district, with buildings dating back to the 1600s. I definitely recommend the Essex Inn! :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

A gorgeous Georgian house - light, well maintained and spacious. But what makes this inn is the hospitality and the food. The breakfasts are as advertised - 3 course gourmet breakfasts. Absolutely the best I have ever had at an inn.

The innkeepers were helpful without being smothering. There when needed, but not when you wanted some peace and quiet.

An absolutely perfect stay!

Room Tip: The website has good descriptions.....can choose your favorite color! The beds are great - custom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I went to stay at the Essex Inn for two nights when we planned the river cruise from Tappahannock to the Ingleside Winery on the Captain Thomas with our Parrothead group (this is also a wonderful day trip). We wanted to make a weekend stay and not have to drive home. What a great plan! We arrived around 6 p.m. on Friday and we were quickly shown our room- actually like an apartment with a full kitchen and living area. We were also told there was wine tasting and a great little shop "All About Wine" just a short walk away. We quickly went and met the friendly town folks and had dinner next door. Everything was so convenient and we walked down to the river and around the area which was beautiful. The two breakfasts we had were amazing! The innkeepers were so nice and helpful and the accommodations were great. We highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tappahannock
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Tappahannock
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Warsaw
4.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
24.3 mi away
Island Inn and Suites
Island Inn and Suites
#1 of 1 in Piney Point
4.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Southside Motel & Marina
Southside Motel & Marina
#3 of 4 in Tappahannock
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Tappahannock
Super 8 Tappahannock
#2 of 4 in Tappahannock
3.5 of 5 stars 83 reviews
1.2 mi away
Days Inn Tappahannock
Days Inn Tappahannock
#4 of 4 in Tappahannock
3.5 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Essex Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Essex Inn

Address: 203 Duke St, PO Box 2038, Tappahannock, VA 22560
Location: United States > Virginia > Tappahannock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Tappahannock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Essex Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four rooms and four suites all with en suite bathrooms, luxurious amenities and Wi-Fi. All have working fireplaces, cable TV, air conditioning, hair dryers, irons, luxurious linens and plenty of oversized soft towels. Guests have access to a refrigerator and microwave, a screened-in porch and a private brick courtyard for outdoor relaxation and smoking. Wi-Fi is available throughout the property. A full, three-course breakfast is included along with afternoon snacks, wine and beer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your Essex Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Essex Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.