We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Arnest Cafe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Java Jacks Coffee House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Java Jacks Coffee House
504 S Church Ln, Tappahannock, VA 22560
(804) 443-5225
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 32 Restaurants in Tappahannock
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Mclean VA
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Arnest Cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Hi, This cafe is in an old, smallish house which gives it some country atmosphere. The breakfast menu has many choices. My husband was happy with his vegetarian omelet. The yellow grits were good and the breakfast potatoes were wonderful. They were flavorful and not greasy at all. Good service. They seem to be running a successful cafe. I hope they are able to renovate the restroom. It's a large room and they only have one restroom so customers had to wait their turn. It looks like they could divide the space and have room for 2. Minor point.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Va
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Name Changed--" Arnest Seafood" Still very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Some time near the first of December 2012, the restaurant changed name to" Arnest Seafood. and Cafe"
My wife and I stop by for a luncheon sandwich and was very pleased with the service and quality of the food. We had a Turkey Rueben with two side dishes of sweet potatoe fries and Onion rings ( we shared because the portions were big) Other sadwiches items included oysters, wraps, soups and many more specials. Dinners are also served. Are server was very nice college / high school girl and attentive.
Definitely worth the the costs of lunch and we will return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“VERY NICE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

The food is great the one bad thing is not alot of room but nice little place to get a great breakfast.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice For Coffee or a Chat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Occasionally stop in for coffee - which is delicious. Meals have been very good. Nice, cute, cozy place to meet a friend, or stop for a coffee/tea and read a book or browse the web. Out of country friends enjoy going there for WiFi connection and the coffee.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cozy, Homey, Friendly & Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Located at 504 Church Lane in Tappahannock, VA, this establishment near the Rappahannock River is a must for travelers and locals alike. After a trip to visit his brother and his family in a even smaller town nearby, my guy Van and I enjoyed a Sunday breakfast in this adorable and homey restaurant. Located in the historic area of Tappahannock, it appears to have once been a home to a family. We didn't inquire, but the feel is cozy with the many little rooms and the indoor and outdoor dining areas.

For starters, the coffee is fresh and delicious, and you can get it with soy milk if you want. Van and I are black coffee drinkers, but having that option is great for those who avoid dairy. For our meal, we both had the #2 Java's Jumpin' Omelette ($7.99), requesting the three egg-white only option. You can pick three items from a wonderful variety of stuffings. While there were all kinds of breakfast meats to choose from, including backfin crab, I had onions, spinach & peppers in mine - to keep my girlish figure! They allow substitutions here, which is great, and I enjoyed the organic corn grits in place of the signature Jacks (sweet yummy baked bisquits) in order to avoid the calories. (A table beside ours ordered a basket of them, and were happily devouring them along with the fresh fruit garnish.)

Everything was delicious and reasonably priced for what you get - real food from people who put love into everything as an extra ingredient.

We will definitely come back here for breakfast, will eventually try the lunch, and maybe even the dinner that is served Friday and Saturday from 5 PM - 10 PM.

Tappahannock, itself, has not yet been explored by us yet, but I know it is on the Rappahannock River and part of the Chesapeake Bay. A good source for the area is from the website of a Bed & Breakfast called The Essex Inn. See http://www.EssexInnVA.com/

Should you be staying at the Inn, take the 8 - 10 minute walk to Java Jack's and enjoy lunch from 11 AM - 3 PM.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Java Jacks Coffee House also viewed

 

Been to Java Jacks Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Java Jacks Coffee House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.