We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think about staying somewhere else.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chesapeake House Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tangier Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chesapeake House Bed and Breakfast
16243 Main Street, Tangier Island, VA 23440   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Island Tours Available!
Northern Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Think about staying somewhere else.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I wish I had read the reviews about this place.There may be some confusion about the name of this B&B. Hilda Crockett's Chesapeake House and the Chesapeake Inn are the same operation, just 2 separate buildings.I invite you to read the reviews for both of them.I had a HUGH issue with having to share a bathroom with everyone on the second floor.As we scooted around the island in our golf carts, my sisters and I were looking for a different
place, if we come again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The island was wonderful, I road around it all day so relaxing & Ches house was great. Nice clean room , time to your self or sit in the front porch & chat with others. Dinner & breakfast was the Best !! Crab cakes , corn pudding all homemade. Next morning a nice selection if breakfast served hot & fresh. Plenty to eat. Nice relaxing getaway. I will go back next year highly recommend a visit

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here at the end of July and had a great time. We recommend room 1, which has its own bathroom. Some rooms do not. The room was clean and spacious. The eating area is next door. You get PLENTY to eat for lunch or dinner. Delicious crab cakes, baked ham, corn pudding (so good), green beans, etc. Breakfast was ok, it was basically bacon, bread, potatoes, and juice. Would have liked some pancakes or cereal. The B&B is on a main road and puts you right in the center of the action, not that there is a lot going on here. This is a great place to relax, read on the porch, and marvel at how nice it is to not hear a cell phone ringing. I would come again.

Room Tip: Room 1 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broken Arrow, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

The lodging was OK - no real door or ventilation for the restroom, however. For the price, the value was excellent considering that they include breakfast and supper, both of which were very good.

This island is very interesting unless someone comes for glitzy entertainment. There is much to see and observe for an interesting way of life and hardy people who inhabit this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We just came back from an overnight on Tangier Island. Loved the island life and the people. The Chesapeake house is not your usual B&B - at least not that I was used to but it was clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful and I really enjoyed my time with them. The food was amazing! What a fun place to be!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Lane, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I only spent about 28 hours on this island and fell in love with it and the people! I think the people that live here might be the friendliest people on the planet. The bed and breakfast is very clean and nice and along with breakfast, it also includes an amazing all-you-can eat dinner! Hope to be able to go back again very soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This hotel is definitely charming. The entire trip from start to finish was an adventure. The ladies at this hotel work harder than any place I've ever been to. Everything was so clean and the food was delicious. They are extremely organized and take care of setting up your carts, early breakfast, changing your ferry reservation, etc. The residents are fiercely proud of their island. It is like going back in time to a very different life style that will fascinate you. Because of shipping costs...expect things to be higher than the mainland. Our breakfast of eggs, homemade bread/toast, strawberry jam, bacon, homemade potatoes, orange juice and coffee was delicious! The people on the island touch your heart...a dying breed. Be prepared for massive mosquito attacks. We didn't realize that the hotel provided Off wipes at the front door. Make use of them during high tide when they attack. We took the 10:00 ferry over and explored the island until dark. We had plenty of time to see it all and caught the 7:30 a.m. ferry the next morning. Our favorite time on the island started at 3:30 when all the day visitors left. It was quiet, not pedestrian traffic, and so much fun to see the kids come out and play all over the island. The islanders were also free to visit with us then. If you don't stay there...you can't experience the island life and see it without tourists. Don't expect 4 or 5 star lodging or dining anywhere on the island. Do expect to experience something you'll never forget! Don't miss the free kayaks and sweet museum!

Room Tip: We had the family room with five beds. It was above the famous dining area but totally quiet. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Travelers also viewed these Tangier Island hotels
Bay View Inn 4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
View all 0 hotels in Tangier Island, ranked by popularity

Been to Chesapeake House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chesapeake House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 16243 Main Street, Tangier Island, VA 23440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Tangier Island
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Tangier Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chesapeake House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Chesapeake House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list