We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who's down to explore the island?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tangier Island

Tangier Island
Tangier Island, VA
Improve this listing
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An island located in the Chesapeake where families make living by oystering; unpretentious and away-from-it-all.
Middletown, Delaware
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Who's down to explore the island?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We had a great time. From the cruise over with an oustanding number of interesting facts, to the golf cart ride around the island... we had a ball. Private beaches, fresh soft shell crab sandwiches at Lorraine's and homeade crab soup chalked full of fresh, local crab meat. It was well worth the trip over and we will be back ASAP.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    36
    15
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southern Tier NYS
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We took the small ferry from Onancock, VA. Beautiful boat ride and fine crew. We enjoyed the museum and rented a golf cart for an hour ($20 at Four Brothers Crabhouse). The beach is beautiful. People were friendly. A very religious and "dry" island, don't go to party, only to relax in quiet beauty.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, VA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Take a Day and Visit Tangier Island - Appreciate a Slower Pace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We visited Tangier Island this week, and took the Chesapeake Breeze over from Reedville. We thoroughly enjoyed the ride, and saw dolphins, herons, osprey, pelicans, etc. along the way. We were treated to seeing a fishing crew hard at work - like watching Deadliest Catch, but not so deadly. :) The pelicans were enjoying an easy meal! The day could not have been more beautiful for a cruise through the Chesapeake Bay. The crew was friendly and helpful, and we felt completely safe the whole time. Upon arrival to Tangier, you'll notice some disrepair of bldgs., but it isn't overwhelming. Once you understand the economy of the island, you'll overlook some of the rough edges to this diamond. We walked through the streets, and a very friendly local narrated as we made our way to Crockett's for the buffet lunch. I was not disappointed by the food, as we'd read a menu ahead of time, and expected a down-home experience. We certainly got one! The food is prepared by locals, served by locals, and enjoyed by appreciative visitors. It was delicious and hot, and served family style. You will be offered crabcakes, clam fritters, pickled beets, green beans, corn pudding, rolls, baked ham, cole slaw, and pound cake and fresh brewed unsweetened tea. If you leave hungry, that's your fault. If you've never had a grandmother or aunt who cooked great food, you might not know what you're missing. Tangier Island is not a fancy place. Come and enjoy a slower pace, and appreciate the way things used to be. The museum is very nice, and they offer free kayak use to visitors on a first-come-first-serve basis. I wish we'd had longer to use them. We saw LOTS of shorebirds, and I loved it. Didn't make it all around the island, but I'd go back!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Should have visited years ago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

If you haven't gone then you need to!! We decided against renting a bike or golf cart, choosing to walk made us feel closer to everything. Stopped and visited with several locals and had a bite to eat at Lorraine's!! The gift shops were fun to walk through. Sorry to see the burnt house on the way to the beach and hoping they can rebuild soon.
We will be back for sure!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Remote but worth the trip!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We travelled to Tangier Island via the Crisfield, MD ferry which was a larger boat that carries a couple of hundred. It was worth the hour trip each way and we had smooth waters. The island is unique and the people somewhat friendly. Disappointed in the food at Lorraine's. The golf cart 15 minute tours are worth the small fee. They provide a great summary of the island's history and culture. The museum was the most interesting spot and I wish I had had more time for this little gem on the island. After arrival we had less than two hours to spend. If you want to get a real feel for the island, it may be best to stay at one of their B&B's.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangier Island also viewed

 

Been to Tangier Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangier Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.