We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Horseback Riding Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of North Mountain Outfitter

North Mountain Outfitter
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Swoope
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
North Mountain Outfitter
Save
You added North Mountain Outfitter to your Saves list
709 North Mountain Road, Swoope, VA 24479   |  
Hotel amenities
Crozet, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful Horseback Riding Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We purchased a coupon through Living Social for my husband and daughter to go horseback riding. They were very accommodating on scheduling the ride and a pleasure to work with. My husband had promised to take my daughter riding years ago, but due to a series of injuries was unable to meet his promise until last month. There was a lot "riding" on this experience given how long it had been delayed. It ended up being a perfect experience and they wouldn't hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

I bought the Groupon last year and wasn't able to use it during its promotion period. Basically, it was $225 for a two-person overnight and half-day ride (1/2 price). Groupon, of course, retains the purchase value if not used before the expiration date. So my wife and I were quite offput when trying to book a similar package (on sale for November stays) and use the purchase price as partial payment. The price on the website is $350, so we (naturally) assumed we could present the expired groupon and add $125.

Nope...Dwight wanted us to give up the Groupon + $225 to book this trip. This led to a very unpleasant conversation. He looks at things backward...that the promotion amount (the discount) is what needs to be paid, not the difference between the credit and the current pricing.

The place may be great, but we'll never know. Groupon stood up for us and gave us our money back. If you buy a Groupon, use it during the promotion period or be prepared!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a great place to get away from it all and unwind. The ranch is lovely and well cared for by Dwight and his family. We stayed overnight in the bunkhouse which was decorated in keeping with the cowboy theme. Jason and Jennifer kept us well fed at each meal and we had a great time on the half day trail ride with Dwight the next morning. We would love to return with our kids next time. The nearby town of Staunton is cool if you have time to stop.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I had never been on a horseback trail ride before so i really didn't know what to think, but the bar has been set pretty high. Ride was a lot of fun. The horses seem very happy and well-taken care of. The owners seem to actually care about the horses. Sometimes you see where the horses are like zombies. This definitely was NOT the case. Each horse had a personality and they were match well with the rider's experience level. We were given a quick lesson on handling our horse and what to do to also keep in mind the health and happiness of our horse.The food is great and was more than enough. I couldn't finish it all.

The bed was super comfortable, but I was so exhausted that I hardly noticed.

We discovered this place through a Groupon and it is definitely worth paying full price. Another reviewer mentioned an issue with lack of communication. I will agree that it can be difficult to get a response for them via phone or email. But once you arrive, the service is so amazing, and everything is thought out until the last detail, it really isn't a factor.
Point of warning, you may want to check the directions on their website and not solely rely on your GPS.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

You really get away from everything with this authentic "western" weekend. At North Mountain Outfitters, the bunkhouse is set away from the road and the town enough that you don't hear anything but the wind in the trees and the sounds of the cattle on the hillside. Your cellphone will work, but there is no tv or wifi. A great place to sit by the fire and read or play board games. The main room of the bunkhouse is comfortable and roomy and the food is delicious and plentiful. The rooms themselves are clean and the beds cozy, but overall the space is modest and not very private. Depending on the room, you may share a bathroom. A great place to meet other friendly people or take the extended family for a group mini-vacation that's within an easy drive of the DC area.

My boyfriend and I soaked in the hot tub late at night after everyone else had gone to bed and enjoyed the stars and the full moon on a lovely quiet night. You might want to bring an extra towel along with your bathing suit because the one towel per person provided is for the shower, too. You'll need your own hair dryer and toiletries since a bar of soap is the only extra.

This place is truly a family ranch with daughter, Jennifer, and her husband, Jason, greeting and feeding you. They are friendly and helpful and then they get out of the way. Born on the place owned by his daddy, Dwight Wood lives in another house on the ranch and is Jennifer's dad and head horseman. He'll meet you at the horse arena before your ride to aquaint you with your mount. Dwight teaches you a few things about riding his horses, but no need to feel intimidated if you are a beginner or the once-every-ten-years-or-so rider like me. His steads are seasoned and they know the trail well.

Even if you are an experienced rider, you will enjoy this beautiful ride. It's a real trail (not just a paved or hardened dirt path) that weaves through trees and even crosses a small stream. It snowed during our adventure and I was a little cold, but it was still worth it. I imagine that the early summer and fall are even better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent one night in the bunk house and went riding on the half day trip. My wife and I absolutely loved our trip to north mountain outfitters. All the meals were very good and we had a great time horseback ridding. We would highly recommend you check this place out.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I can only repeat the great reviews below. We went as a family with 2 children (age 10 and 11) and had a fantastic time. The stay in the bunkhouse is great and the hosts are all super friendly. The whole outfit is perfect for first time riders. You have two options when you stay in the bunkhouse. a) arrive the day before and ride in the morning the day after or b) ride in the morning and spend the night and leave the next morning. I would recommend option b since that will give you more time to enjoy this great place. With option a you can only arrive after 4pm which gives you not that much time to really enjoy this place before dark sets in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to North Mountain Outfitter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Mountain Outfitter

Address: 709 North Mountain Road, Swoope, VA 24479
Location: United States > Virginia > Swoope
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Swoope
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage North Mountain Outfitter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.