We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vintage Tavern

Vintage Tavern
1900 Governors Pointe Dr, Suffolk, VA 23436-1138
757-238-8808
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vintage Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 128 Restaurants in Suffolk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $200
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Bridge Road / Route 17
Description: Now open since April, 2006, Vintage Tavern at Governor's Point is owned by Brian and Teresa Mullins. Located in the hunting and fishing community of Northern Suffolk, Virginia the restaurant features 'Seasonally Southern' fare. The menu highlights the best of local and regional Southern dishes and recreates them with authenticity and passion. We are committed to maintaining the food history and culture that makes our community so special. Other features include a dramatic open kitchen, two dining areas both with fireplaces, an outdoor fire pit, outdoor dining on the covered veranda and a 400 plus selection wine list. The perfect place to celebrate a birthday, anniversary or any special occasion. Voted #1 by Hampton Roads magazine 2012 Platinum Plate Awards. Recognized by Open Table as one of America's Top 50 Restaurants in 2009 and 2010, and by Sante magazine for Wine Hospitality in 2010.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Just Great !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Fantastic dinner, excellent service, great atmosphere, and brandy, coffee, and desert by the fire on the patio. It doesn't get any better than this...try it you'll love this place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    33
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have dined here several times! We reserve this for special occasions as it is a bit pricey but an outstanding meal! Meals in bar are slightly more reasonable and also outstanding! Top notch !!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“A unique twist on southern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a very nice place to have a romantic evening. The menu changes seasonally, but always has some old stand bys. It's a nice, elegant date night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Mills, North Carolina, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve, 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Went to this restaurant with friends for New Year's Eve. We were seated upstairs which was enjoyable. Atmosphere was very nice, not rushed. Servers were very attentive and personable which made dining experience even more enjoyable. Asked us at the beginning if we had anywhere else to be; if so, they would accommodate accordingly. Offered suggestions for entrees, sides, etc. Somehow, my meal got mixed up but then I ended up with the original entrée I ordered minus the side. Thoroughly enjoyed the evening and will definitely go back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“It's in Suffolk - - and it compares well to big-city restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I always look forward to an evening at the Tavern, and we're glad to have it just minutes from our door. It is not pretentious; the menu is not what most would consider to be adventurous. The atmosphere is pleasant in a "stone and timbers" hunting-lodge sort of way, the staff is at the very least well-trained and attentive, and the entrées are flavorful and satisfying. Many of the dishes are quite substantial. When you're in a meat mood, the Tavern is a great choice. There is usually a good salmon or trout item on the menu. Have vegans in your group? This is not the place for them. The atmosphere is comfortable in a dark and intimate way. Simply a good and well-run restaurant that stands out in the community it serves.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vintage Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Vintage Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vintage Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.