We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1018 Centerbrooke Lane, Suffolk, VA 23434   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Suffolk
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have stayed at this property on several occasions, as we have family who lives in the area. The rooms are always clean, the breakfast is delicious and the staff goes above and beyond to make us comfortable. On our last trip there we needed a crib for our room for our infant, and I called that morning to tell them...they told us it was no problem and the crib was set up in our room when we arrived late that night (making it easy to put the little one down!). We also enjoy the fact that this hotel has a gym on site.

We will continue to stay at this property on our visits to suffolk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    18
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
25
16
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Great hotel experience. Would stay here again. Rooms were clean, staff very helpful. Enjoyed their breakfast. In a great area, close to everything we needed. Highly recommend staying here while in Suffolk.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I stayed here for one night to just get away and it was wonderful. The Front Desk was very polite and friendly. Check in and Check out went smooth. Breakfast was great as well. It was great to get away and be able to relax for a night

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
209 hotel reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
794 helpful votes 794 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I chose this property because of 3 factors: located where I needed to stay overnight, good reviews here and their web page said: "cedar Sauna for guest use". I am a big sauna fan, so I was looking forward to enjoying it after a long day as well as enjoying this property.
Check-in was friendly, although confused, the girl recognized me as a Platinum PC member and offered and upgrade to a king-suite, which I gladly accepted. I asked until when can I use the sauna and at first the girl reacted as if she didn't know they had one, after which she said "until 10 or so, I guess". So I went to the fitness center where the sauna was and there was a paper posted on its doors "out of order". Firstly it would be fair if they posted this information on their webpage (I doubt it went out of order that very same day) and secondly the front desk should know about the working condition about their amenities.
Disappointed I got to my upgraded king-suite and there came more disappointments: the suite was so dusty I can not recall ever getting such a dusty hotel room. All the furniture was visibly covered in dust! I suspect the suite is not occupied often, but this can not be an excuse to keep it unclean, especially since they offered it to me as an upgrade. Moreover the carpets were poorly vacuumed, the sitting pillows of the leather sofa were badly torn along the zip line and the paint was peeling off from the bathroom ceiling. There was a gas fire place in the suite, so I was looking forward to watching a movie with the fire burning, but guess what? It was "out of order".
I went out for some shopping and when getting back I couldn't find the hotel anymore in the dark. I thought I made the wrong turn somewhere, but actually the property was there in complete darkeness, no lights in the parking lot, even the HIE sign was not illuminated.
In the morning I wanted to have pancakes for breakfast, but gues what? The breakfast machine was "out of order".
I completely understand that things break down, wear and tear, but they should be promptly maintained, repaired, replaced. It is very sad to see an otherwise nice HIE property to start going down the path of negligence and poor management.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn Express and had a great stay. This hotel was clean, quiet, and had extremely comfortable beds. The decor in the lobby and rooms seemed fresh and up-to-date. We forgot toothpaste and the front desk was more then happy to provide us with a tube.

They provided a hot and cold free continental breakfast with an extensive spread. It was well maintained by hotel staff as well.


Nice stay and easy to find. There is a Ruby Tuesday attached to their parking lot if you need a restaurant.

I would return and recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, FL
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here 3 night while attending a high school reunion and found the property to be a nice stay. The exterior was well maintained and well landscaped and attractaive. There was plenty of parking and check-in was quick and efficient. The property was clean and attractive and the free breakfast area was clean and well provisioned. They had something for every one including fresh fruit, eggs, bacon and sausage biscuits. All of the staff we met were friendly and helpful. On the second day of our stay our room was not cleaned and when this was reported housekeeping had left. The manager personally came to our room and apologized and brought us fresh towels, soap, etc and emptied the trash. Apparently the housekeeper cleaning the room next door noticed our do not disturb hanger and went on to another room. Apparently she did not come back but the manager's quick attention to the problem was certainly appreciated. We really enjoyed our stay here. Also, there is a Ruby Tuesday right next door for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: Rooms located on the outer corners of the second and third floor are a little bit larger than the re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Late check in thorough and efficient. And the hotel..., So clean. Yes, no mold in bath, plenty of towels, fridge & micro in room.
Polite check out, well worth a return trip.
Newly resealed & line painted lot. Convenient to hwy.
Updated rooms. Lovely breakfast area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk

Address: 1018 Centerbrooke Lane, Suffolk, VA 23434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Suffolk
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Suffolk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suffolk, Virginia hotel is close to the home of Planter's Peanuts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Suffolk
Holiday Inn Suffolk
Suffolk Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Suffolk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.