We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A famous family and beautiful estate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stratford Hall Plantation

Stratford Hall Plantation
485 Great House Road, Stratford, VA 22558
804-493-8038
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 attractions in Stratford
Type: Historic Sites
Activities: Group tours/walking tour, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The birthplace of Robert E. Lee.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A famous family and beautiful estate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We read about Stratford Hall in an article in the New York Times on the Northern Neck of Virginia. We found that there are also accommodations, which were excellent, very comfortable, attractive, and reasonable. We stayed there two nights. Visiting Stratford Hall itself was extremely interesting because it has a unique architecture. It was home to the Lees who were important in the American Revolution, two of whom signed the Declaration of Independence. It is also the birthplace of Gen. Robert E. Lee. The tour was very informative about the family and life in 18th century Virginia. The grounds and outbuildings are very well restored, and there is a museum in which you could spend far more time than we were able to do. We had an excellent lunch of rainbow trout, grilled vegetables, and an apple/blackberry pie in their restaurant, which we were told had a new chef. And finally, the grounds are very extensive with fields, forest, and a sandy beach on the Potomac below cliffs in which many fossils have been found. We had a wonderful time and would love to go back again.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Midlothian, Virginia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Must Visit for History Buffs.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Robert E. Lee's birthplace is a must visit while you are touring Virginia. Located in the Northern Neck of Eastern Virginia, Stratford Hall is a beautiful home and grounds to visit. The tours are every hour on the hour and the guides are very knowledgeable about the history, renovation, and restoration of this amazing house. The home has been restored with period antiques and two floors are open for visitation. The tour includes the barns and outbuildings. The property has 4 amazingly large chimneys. There are hikes to take on the property if you wish and cabins are available should you wish to spend a few days in this part of Virginia. You will enjoy the wonderful property. It should not be missed. There is a gift house and a restaurant that serves breakfast and lunch.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Virginia, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Day in the Country”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Loves the tour of Stratford Hall with knowledgeable tour escort Eleanor. The Plantation and grounds are impressive with amazing views. It was a beautiful spring day and outside the dining room when I arrived two large pileated woodpeckers were making a racket in the woods. The view of the cliffs, the beach on the Potomac with picnic tables, trails, gardens could entertain a nature lover/photographer the entire day. I was dismayed that the dining experience was not up to my expectations and encourage visitors to pack a picnic. Other nearby attractions include George Washington's birthplace and Westmoreland Park. Plan ahead and enjoy the history and natural beauty of Virginia's unique Northern Neck.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Much better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This stop was my wife's idea, and I was vaguely expecting something celebrating the Confederacy, loaded with current politics, and was very, very pleased to see that the entire presentation was historical, not a rehash of current politics.

Our guide -- there were only four of us on the tour; us and another couple -- was animated and occasionally funny. She was very well informed about the house and ground and about the historical context as well. She was excellent!!

On many house tours, the areas that are not open for viewing exceed those that are viewable, but this did not seem to be the case here. While the furnishings were not original, they were contemporary with the house, and very appropriate.

A lovely house, beautiful grounds, laden with history -- if you have any of these among your interests and you're in the area, don't miss it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boyds, Maryland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I recently went to Stratford Hall on a garden club trip and loved it. The house is so interesting with four huge chimneys, enabling all the rooms to have fireplaces except the main hall/ballroom. The furnishings are fabulous, giving you insight as to the way they lived. The grounds are not the elaborate gardens that you see on other huge estates, but simple and elegant for strolling and enjoying a walk, as they were prone to do in the 18th and 19th century. However, they do have an interesting "Health" garden with medicinal herbs for both cooking and healing. The views of the Potomac River are stunning and a flock of wild turkeys entertained us while we were touring. I would have liked more time to visit the museum which is very interesting and thorough of the Lee family. The Gift Shop has wonderful local items as well as the usual selection of historical and current books. The luncheon served to us was delicious and ample, typifying the type of food served on a large plantation in Virginia.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stratford Hall Plantation also viewed

 
Colonial Beach, VA

Been to Stratford Hall Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stratford Hall Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Stratford Hall Plantation to your Saves list