We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depot Lounge was fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Strasburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Strasburg to your Saves list
Hotel Strasburg
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   213 S. Holliday Street, Strasburg, VA 22657   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
London
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Depot Lounge was fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Didn't stay at the Hotel Strasburg but popped into the Depot Lounge for dinner. Small, cosy bar with friendly customers and staff. Lance the barman is clearly a local legend, such a great fellow and manages the bar brilliantly.

Had the beef tips and horseradish to start with Shrimp 'n' Grits for a main course. No idea what grits or beef tips are but the food was good.

The foyer of the hotel is far to cluttered with Victoriana for my liking but the Depot Lounge has a very convivial feeling about and when compared to the alternative of Denny's, Arbies etc. the HS is fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    44
    12
    6
    7
See reviews for
13
73
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Goochland, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

First time there. It was a great stay. Everyone on staff was helpful and friendly. Nice old property with small but nicely appointed rooms. Perfect for a getaway weekend. We also had dinner there on Sat night and the meals were perfectly prepared. Good from the appetizer to the dessert and coffee. Modest wine selection.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

so I was not sure what to expect.We had never been to strasburg before.But let me tell you this place is great.the outside does not do the inside justice.WE had a light lunch in the bar. and it was good.prices fair.WE had dinner in restaurant which was fantastic.they have homemade bread.The rooms were all wallpapered.And keep with a very Victorian theme. All the beds had vintage blankets and quilts on them.and what is so cool is they keep all the doors open of the rooms guest are not staying.so you can look around,But by far i have to say Lola and Alex made our visit,they were so nice and informative about the hotel and the local surroundings.we will come again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

While this haunted hotel has been around for some time, I found my stay to be delightful. The staff were efficient, friendly and very helpful. This includes hotel and restaurant servers. The rooms were decorated with furniture that could be for sell, and if you are a lover of antiques, you could be in heaven. The only down side was that there was no elevator which made climbing the stairs a bit challenging since I was experiencing some back and leg pain at the time. However, the staff were so kind about volunteering to carry my luggage down to the next floor level from the third when I requested it the next morning. The food was delicious, whether it was breakfast or dinner. The background music was peaceful and soothing, which I appreciate. Again, the servers were attentive and friendly. I recommend Hotel Strasburg to anyone who is willing to take stairs to their room. I traveled Fall of 2012.

Room Tip: Some of the drainage problems in the shower need to be improved. Other than that, I was happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montclair
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

I saw the Hotel Strasburg during a Civil War tour of the Shenandoah Campaign. One look told me my wife would like it. We returned during that winter and she was enchanted.

This is not a modern hotel. The rooms are 19th century and have odd dimensions. Call it charming. The German restaurant/dining room is very good. Staff was helpful and the WiFi worked.

We walked around the town and enjoyed our visit a great deal. Make reservations early as the hotel can fill up.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Lane, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I spent Halloween night her as a layover. What a charming Victorian hotel. The bar was open for a light dinner along with live music when I arrived late evening. The visitors were friendly along with all staff. They're breakfast buffet was very tasty & homemade. Rooms were charming, very clean and all unoccupied rooms were open so that visitors could peek in. I would be pleased to stay in any of these rooms. Already have one picked out for my next stay. My dog was welcomed & also enjoyed his visit with everyone. We took an evening stroll through the neighborhood before retiring, enjoying the character of the town. I was very impressed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Not our first visit, won't be our last. Quaint, comfortable and welcoming. Like sleeping in an antique shop, great decor. Their restaurant is above average and for a change a classic breakfast to start the day. Believe me this is no interstate chain hotel. Stop and enjoy, cannot go wrong.

Room Tip: Make a reservation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Strasburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Strasburg

Address: 213 S. Holliday Street, Strasburg, VA 22657
Location: United States > Virginia > Strasburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Strasburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Strasburg 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Strasburg was originally built as a private hospital in 1902 run by Dr. M.R. Bruin. Later in the 1900's the Hotel became a well-known place of lodging and dining in the Shenandoah Valley. Restored to Victorian Age elegance in 1978, its guest register in the lobby reflects a truly cosmopolitan parade of visitors from across the nation and around the world. The property is located about 70 miles from Northern VA and Washington DC in the historic district of downtown Strasburg, VA. It features a fine dinning restaurant and a quaint Pub and friendly staff. Provides Weddings and Wedding receptions as well as Banquete; Catering Services, and customized special occasion events. For outdoor adventure, trek into the wilds of the Shenandoah National Forest, the Massanutten Mountains, and the breathtaking Skyline Drive. Enjoy the many hiking, canoeing, or horseback riding opportunities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Strasburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Strasburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.